Ingram Micro Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Ingram Micro Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
97%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Ingram Micro CEO Alain Monie
Alain Monie
21 Ratings
  1. "SDR sales job is great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Development Representative in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great time, great culture, great hours, great people

    Cons

    old school corporate, stuck in ways, political.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Ingram Micro2019-10-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good Starting Point but behind industry standards for pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Representative 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent work environment if on the right team

    Cons

    Pay is inadequate for the work that you do They promise "unlimited growth potential" but it is far from that Very old sales force that is out of touch with new age technology and services

    Ingram Micro2019-09-04
  3. "Ingram Micro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Support Representative in Williamsville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ingram Micro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large company to network within Coworkers are friendly Benefits are good

    Cons

    Slow mobility Uneven work distribution

    Ingram Micro2019-08-26
  4. "Great Intro Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Awesome people to work with!

    Cons

    Working remote is not an option

    Ingram Micro2019-07-05
  5. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Representative in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment.

    Cons

    Tough customers. Hard to get out of the Late night program.

    Ingram Micro2019-05-29
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Williamsville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are a lot of fun events during and outside of the workday and the people who work there are amazing. Almost everyone is super friendly and helpful. Ingram has a great culture. There are a lot of opportunities to advance and tons of resources to help your career. If you work hard, you can succeed here.

    Cons

    No flexibility with schedule. Pay and goals can be inconsistent. Navigating the company can be difficult. Takes 6 - 8 months to be fully competent in each role. The work can be very high stress.

    Ingram Micro2019-05-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Sr Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Excellent culture. I personally have been here for over 8 years and I’ve had a great experience. It’s a wonderful company to work for, however the experience you have does depend on the team you’re on and the manager you have. You have vast potential to move up the ladder if you pay your dues and perform well. There are a lot of opportunities to do a lot of different things here. In sales, there is no cold calling -... you have a managed account base and mostly reasonable goals. Sales is faced pace environment and very busy. Roles like Market Development are typically more slow depending on the vendor you cover. In sales we do have the ability to earn spiffs and win contests and trips.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pay is less than industry average and we have a lot of turn over. Commissions are somewhat capped, once you hit a certain percentage, the payout level flattens. People with the same job title can have very different responsibilities based on the specific team you are on or vendor you support. It’s such a large organization that sometimes it’s hard for your voice to be heard. The only constant here is change.

    Advice to Management

    Do a better job of compensating your associates and you will have better retention. In sales jobs, commissions should not be capped- we bust our butts earning this company a lot of profit and if we exceed our goals we should be paid accordingly. The payout factor should increase for drastic over achievement, not level out flat. Spend the time and investment in the people who serve you and you will see far better... performance and keep people happy to stay employed here.

    Show More
    Ingram Micro2018-11-29
  8. "Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Williamsville, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very competitive pay, benefits, and terrific perks. Fun work atmosphere.

    Cons

    Can be stressful due to high volume and challenging customers.

    Ingram Micro2018-09-10
  9. "Sales Support Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Representative in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful Office Amazing management HR is very helpful Good work/life balance

    Cons

    I havent encountered a con to working here yet.

    Ingram Micro2017-10-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Representative 2"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative II in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ingram Micro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of exposure to different OEMs and customer Types. Great people who are very passionate about their jobs.

    Cons

    The past few years, there is essentially no formal training given to new hires. New associates are often baptized by fire without being ready to do their jobs. I have seen several employees quit within a year of joining the organization out of frustration at their lack of training. Also, a poor Work-Life balance is common. Ingram supports West Coast customers so associates on West Coast teams are expected to work... until 8:00PM with no increase in salary over the folks that leave at 5:30PM.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring back the formal training to equip new hires with the tool they need for the job.

    Ingram Micro2017-08-27
Found 40 reviews