Insight Reviews | Glassdoor

Insight Reviews

Updated June 13, 2017
107 reviews

Filter

Filter


107 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • No long term vision from upper management (in 22 reviews)

  • There was no work life balance and although the word was thrown around sometimes, it was always lip service (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (3)

    "Manager of Programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Insight full-time

    Pros

    Insight is a fun place to work. Always having in office celebrations, blood drives, vendor sponsored activities. Great for millennials needing a "Safe" no blame environment. Good for training.

    Cons

    Inconsistent environment between offices. Office have cliques making it hard to work across them. No accountability or desire to increase quality or performance. While there is training in ITIL, PMP, and technology e.g. CISCO / NetApp etc. ITIL and PMP principles not implemented. Company go to market model is immature. While competing in a segment with Unisys, NTT (formerly Dell Services), and the former EDS Service groups, Insight does not have the cohesion to deliver global solutions. Insight is at best a multi-national entity with little synergy across US, EMEA, and APAC. No real presence from Panama down.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from the past. Even if the Insight model is not the traditional outsource model the service and delivery processes are the same. You must have a consistent global portfolio to be able to survive in the market your have entered.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor policies drive poor execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Team Lead
    Current Contractor - Team Lead
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Insight as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    * Reasonable pay for industry standard

    Cons

    * Poor hiring practices result in unqualified (technically or professionally) team members
    * Pressure for the bottom line results in attempts to do work cheaply rather than well
    * Lack of appreciation for "off-the-clock" time results in poor morale
    * Over-management is rampant, with each manager having an unclear scope of control
    * Contradictory guidance is routine (partially due to over-management)
    * Job roles and expectations differ heavily from information given during recruiting and interview process
    * Concerns and issues, when raised with management, are responded to with bullying techniques
    * Toxic leadership at lower levels is unapologetic about errors for which they are responsible

    Advice to Management

    * Spend more time considering the effect that policies are having on employees
    * Consider the net cost of recruiting unqualified people to roles.
    * Consider the value that good employees bring to the table, and allow that to drive other decisions.
    * Be prepared to take smaller profit margins in order to realize expectations set during hiring process.
    * Remove managers who suggest leaving the company as an alternative to behaving ethically.

    Insight Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Leader

    We're not sure this is the same company because we don’t have team leads that are contractors. These are pretty serious concerns and we haven't heard this type of feedback before. It doesn’t sound... More

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Management nightmare"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Services Technician in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Services Technician in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers who are very helpful. Opportunity to learn new technologies hands on.

    Cons

    Poor benefits, nearly non-existant 401k match - 2 percent with1 per cent service fee. Good managers don't last long if they give feedback to assignments - poor managers last forever if they don't dare to give feedback to superiors. If a Dept meets their quota, a horrible manager will be defended to the bitter end. Cronies thrive despite lack of talent. Highly talented people are overlooked if they don't play the game.

    Advice to Management

    Be open to feedback and don't brush off employee concerns with sound bites. Be aware teammates are often pressured by supervisors to give high marks on employee satisfaction surveys although they actually feel otherwise. I gave low marks on the satisfaction survey and was subject to retaliation.

    Insight Response

    Nov 8, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Leader

    This is serious feedback and we do not foster this kind of environment. We would appreciate it if you can share more details and please email us at glassdoorfeedback@insight.com. Your review has been... More


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Technical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomingdale, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bloomingdale, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Lots of perks free lunches,Christmas party etc....

    Cons

    If you like politics, and those good old boys ways of management.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people with more respect and fairness.

    Insight Response

    Sep 14, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Leader

    We have built our team on our values and are surprised about the comments. In fact our leadership has consistently ranked high on our teammate surveys. If there is something specific we can help... More


  5. Helpful (5)

    "Transitory place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Insight full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Insight is a great place to get trained on IT.

    Cons

    The pay is very low. Well below average.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more competent employees and pay them more.

    Insight Response

    Jul 28, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Leader

    We put a lot of effort in our training and are happy to hear that you received the full benefits of our program. Regarding pay, we do review and adjust our compensation depending on the role and... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Insight full-time

    Pros

    Good place to start learning. The workers outside of management are amazing and a great team.

    Cons

    Management has a known habit of taking a vision and trying to cut corners to do it the cheapest way possible

    Advice to Management

    listen to your staff more and follow their ideas. Work more collaboratively

    Insight Response

    Aug 11, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Leader

    Thank you for recognizing our great training programs and amazing teammates. Recently we implemented a new approach to the performance review. This allows a deeper level of collaboration with your... More


  7. Helpful (7)

    "Must like to play the "game" with management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Tempe, AZ
    Former Employee - Sales in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great place to work when I started. Great group of teammates, and everyone worked very well together.

    The support staff (contract and SOW's) were amazing.

    Cons

    No loyalty to employees.

    Management tends to only support those who they liked (regardless of performance). If you were not one of those employees, good luck.

    Expect to be on the list for a company "reduction if force" every 8-10 months (most recent one in April of this year) if they decide to acquire another company or miss their number on wall street (or you manager dislikes you, even though you are making your numbers).

    You need to play the "game" in order to succeed.

    Advice to Management

    Start really looking at your mid level managers and the way they support (or don't) their teams.
    Quit changing the compensation plan mid year.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Field Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Mission Viejo, CA
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive in Mission Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insight (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good salary, benefits. Work from home. Fortune 500 company.

    Cons

    Got a new manager with no experience and very unethical.

    Advice to Management

    Check on your managers

    Insight Response

    Jul 28, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Leader

    We are happy that you found good benefits and compensation with Insight. Regarding management, we would like to hear how we can help the team improve. Please email us at... More


  9. "Beware, contractors!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Engineer in Tampa, FL
    Former Contractor - Senior Engineer in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insight as a contractor (Less than a year)

    Pros

    * Short term contracts that can pay market value (but you will need to be a good negotiator)
    * Long hours, but no over-time (labor law actually exempts medical and IT professionals from overtime pay in Florida)
    * Contracts are often extended past the initial term. However, I never witnessed an offer to permanent hire to any of the contractors, even if that was initially promised.
    * Lots of travel, much more than stated during the interview (I was told 50 to 75% and it ended up being an average of 85% and I was rarely ever home).
    * Per diem during the travel
    * Insight pays during travel from the moment you leave your house until you arrive at your destination or end your day working on premises. This includes flight time and layovers.

    Cons

    Insight uses contractors to fill immediate needs for new projects, rather than hire permanent full-time employees, with the promise of a 3-month contract to permanent job status. I never witnessed any contractor ever get hired to permanent status. I don't believe there is ever the intent to do so. It is an empty promise.

    No guidance, mentorship or on-boarding is performed for new contractors. Thus there is a slow learning curve for new contractors who are often dumped on the customer's premises at the start of a project without direction or time table. Often the projects begin without enough resources to complete the tasks on time.

    I observed Insight management periodically use contractors as sacrificial lambs on projects, dismissing them without notice and without cause, as a way to appease a difficult and demanding customer. Insight management would provide a false reason for the dismissal as "performance," though no performance evaluation is shared with the contractor and no warning is given. The contractor would be performing their duties with skill and professionalism and then be suddenly dismissed. That contractor would then be the scapegoat for any problems named by the customer, even if that contractor had no hand in the matter. This would go on until a new problem was brought up by the customer and a new contractor would be sacrificed in the same way. I personally witnessed this revolving door on many occasions before I finally left. My contract had been extended past 5 months and I knew my time to be sacrificed would soon come.

    Advice to Management

    The transience of the Insight work force (dismissal of contractors without cause or due process) has several effects:
    * The customer views Insight as flaky and unstable, and view management as dishonest and untrustworthy;
    * Skilled engineers, who could bring value to the business, opt for another employers with a more positive culture and deserving of their skills.

    Re-branding your name and changing your logo (performed in 2015) will not fix Insight's reputation. Only changing your culture and your actions will fix Insight's reputation. Good luck!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Hard to place to work as a woman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quote Desk Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Former Employee - Quote Desk Representative in Tempe, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insight full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits from the partners, theu offer free catering and cool prizes. Fun place when they do things like bingo

    Cons

    Was given no training for a position that was new to the company. Hired alone and expected tonhabenmy manager and other employees train me who barely took the time of day to talk to me. If you're an attractive female, beware, sexual, inappropriate comments will be made. Unprofessional coworkers more.concerned with porn sites and starting and women as rheubwalk by than working. Literally would go into a "trance" as I was asking a question. My bèst advice of you are an attractive women, dress down, baggier clothes, little makeup, hair up, glasses instead of contacts if you have them. To prove a point one day, I dressed professionally and by noon a good friend sent a picture to me if me that had been circulating. I can't get info more detail as I have a pending sexusk lawsuit against them or a certain employee.

    Advice to Management

    Don't believe everything said because a man said it, don't blindside your employees with reprimands when they were following direct orders. Find out what am employee has going on in their perosnal life like 2 loved ones dying before discipline, maybe suggest short-term disability for stress before a write up make sure there is some manager an employee is comfortable taking to instead of the only female who yells at everyone and women aren't comfortable going to men aboit sexual harassment when they've seen them take the harassers side. Make sure they know how to reach out to HR and are guaranteed retaliation against anyone involved. J

    Insight Response

    Feb 22, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Leader

    Some of the allegations in your description of your experience at Insight are deeply troubling since we take any form of discrimination in the workplace very seriously. Insight is an equal... More


Showing 107 of 617 reviews
Reset Filters