Insitu Reviews | Glassdoor

Insitu Reviews

Updated March 15, 2017
90 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.6
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Insitu President and CEO Ryan Hartman
Ryan Hartman
36 Ratings

90 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Good quality of life and work/life balance for employees based in WA (in 6 reviews)

  • Great people, great work environment (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Poor upper management made poorer by the utter men chosen to do their bidding (in 5 reviews)

  • Cost of living in the Bingen, White Salmon, Hood River area is very painful (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Better than imagined!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Solid colleagues here-everyone is so kind and supportive. The culture is one of success and caring. They have four pillars to the culture and they walk the talk when it comes to culture. When I joined I could never have predicted how happy I am today. It takes a leap of faith to join a company like this that isn't a big consumer name but I love that I'm part of something with a great mission.

    Cons

    Lots of acronyms. Get the app and it gets easier. Snow and ice in the gorge can be a bummer.

    Advice to Management

    Keep focus on transparency. Have high expectations of employees.

    Insitu Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    I’m so pleased to hear you are having a positive experience at Insitu and appreciate your feedback! Our caring and transparent culture is very important to all our leaders and we will continue to ... More


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Insitu Moving Forward"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Service Representative
    Current Employee - Financial Service Representative
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fully Immersive Work Experience, Friendly and Engaging Co-workers, Fulfilling Work Objectives, Small-Company-Feel with Large-Company-Benefits and Opportunities. Exciting Future for this Industry Leader as we Move into the Commercial Sector. Company Adapts Well to its Progressive Development.

    Cons

    Currently some slight disconnects between management and different departments, ambiguous expectations cause uncertain performance goals both day to day and aggregate.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to your employees.

    Insitu Response

    Feb 20, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    We appreciate your encouraging feedback – I'm pleased to hear about your positive experience with Insitu! As our company continues to grow, we strive to keep departments connected with one another ... More


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, great mission, great product"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Hood River, OR
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Hood River, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The area is amazing, the company treats employees very well, the product is industry leading and the senior leaders have a solid vision.

    Cons

    The Gorge is a little tricky to find housing. If you need to live next to a mall, this won't work...if you Ski/Bike/Hunt/Fish/Kiteboard, this is where you want to me.

    Insitu Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    We strive to provide a compelling vision so each employee knows where we are going as a team – thank you for providing this feedback! We know that housing can be challenging in the Gorge and we are ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pioneering Aerospace Company in Breathtaking Location"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingen, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingen, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Market standard pay with the potential for strong bonuses based on company performance, fulfilling work towards a common Mission/Goal, work from home options depending on your role, passionate upper management.

    Cons

    Long commute with limited housing in the Columbia River Gorge, business somewhat dependent on Defense budgets.

    Advice to Management

    Continue attacking new business opportunities outside of Defense as well as the seek opportunities for remote/off-site work across different departments or commute assistance programs.

    Insitu Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    We appreciate the positive feedback! I’m glad to hear about your positive experience at Insitu. As you know, we continue to expand our Commercial division while also continuing to support the ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership makes or breaks a company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time

    Pros

    people working at Insitu to make it successful are some of the brightest and best.

    Cons

    Leaders at Insitu up to and including the CEO are selfish, self-centered egomaniacs who cannot abide anyone who dares to disagree with them. The Executive team is going down a path that will eventually break the backbone of the company unless the overseers at Boeing take action on ethics complaints and turn it around.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the madness

    Insitu Response

    Mar 20, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    While I appreciate your feedback, I can assure you that the Executive team makes decisions based on what will have the most positive long-term impact for our customers and the entire company; we are ... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Administrative"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time

    Pros

    Great company with a very progressive culture. Fun and exciting place to work, especially considering Insitu has a very cool product!

    Cons

    It is an hour drive into the gorge from Portland/Vancouver area.

    Insitu Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    We appreciate your positive feedback! And I agree, our product is very cool and our company has an amazing mission.


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Growing company! Expanding opportunities!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingen, WA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bingen, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    High growth company
    Great benefits (every other Friday off, investment in Active Fridays - where Insitu employees get together in off hours - Bike Tours, Jet Boat Tours, Brew Tastings, etc., etc.)
    Beautiful location
    Ability to work remote (for appropriate roles)
    Opportunity for career growth
    If you like change/growth this is the place to be

    Cons

    High growth = possibility that processes or support technologies won't keep up. There's work happening to solve for this - in the interim...many manual processes to get things done
    Work/org/business moves quickly - if you don't want a flexible/dynamic (sometimes crazy) environment, this isn't for you
    Housing can be tough to find in the gorge

    Advice to Management

    Keep on the path of evolution
    Don't give up
    Invest in the core - to free up people from manual tasks/processes

    Insitu Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your positive feedback and we are on the path of building great infrastructure to support our growth. We are happy to have you on the Insitu team as we continue our pioneering!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sr Software Engineer"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior, Software Engineer in Bingen, WA
    Former Employee - Senior, Software Engineer in Bingen, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Insitu full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Exciting working on unmanned air vehicles

    Cons

    sometimes the pace was slow due to the burden of customer documentation and requirements reviews

    Advice to Management

    branch out into the commercial market if one can be found

    Insitu Response

    Jan 5, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your positive feedback. You’ll be pleased to know that last year Insitu announced the addition of our new Commercial division to pursue commercial opportunities around the world and ... More


  10. Helpful (7)

    "Good old boys who are too reliant on big-dollar govt. contracts"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insitu full-time

    Pros

    There were definitely some smart people here, really smart people, but they kept their heads down unfortunately. It was nice being so close to Mt. Hood.

    Cons

    Most of the good, original employees left during the last lay-offs. That's the counter-intuitive aspect of layoffs. The company won't be able to grow beyond big government contracting dollars and with so much lighter and more agile competition in their market now, the future is dim.

    Advice to Management

    Read up on the demise of Kodak. Lots of lessons to learn there from a company that got too comfortable with their perception of their market.

    Insitu Response

    Feb 14, 2017 – Chief People Officer

    While I appreciate your feedback, I must say I disagree. The company has grown extensively in the past year, and continues to grow not only within the defense and government sectors, but also in the ... More


  11. Helpful (3)

    "Pilot Instructor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot Instructor in White Salmon, WA
    Current Employee - Pilot Instructor in White Salmon, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insitu full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great growth and potential to move around and up within the company. Company has started some great perks to complement the area it is based in like free gear rentals for summer and winter sporting activities.

    Cons

    Managers never get to know the aspirations of their workers and as a result do nothing to help them along in their careers. It's a bit of an "every man for themselves" mentality.

    Advice to Management

    You don't succeed unless you're helping your people succeed.

    Insitu Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – Communications Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we appreciate your positive outlook and are glad to hear you are taking advantage of the Insitu Gear Shed program!



Showing 90 of 101 reviews
Reset Filters