Inspectorate Reviews | Glassdoor

Inspectorate Reviews

Updated Jul 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Inspectorate CEO Didier Michaud-Daniel (no image)
Didier Michaud-Daniel
12 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Shift Supervisor in Port Neches, TX

    I worked at Inspectorate

    Pros

    Great place to work and the people are really friendly.

    Cons

    Biggest problem is that there is no training program in place but that can be solved.

    Advice to Management

    If you offer someone a promotion follow through instead of holding over said employee.

    Inspectorate2016-02-05
  2. Helpful (1)

    "if you want family time don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Inspectorate

    Pros

    Lots of OT so you make a lot of money. Phone expensing y food expensing.

    Cons

    No life, hectic environment, you will be here more than in your own home. No days off

    Inspectorate2015-10-20
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Poorly Managed Laboratory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lab Technician in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Inspectorate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This laboratory is brand new, so you have room working in their spacious new facility. You will also obtain a ridiculous amount of overtime at this job. If you have no life, family, hobbies, or ambitions outside of work, than this is the place for you as you will spend every waking hour at this lab working even when you are not on call...you also get experience working on call 24-7.

    Cons

    After my first day I saw numerous red flags which caused me to contact another job I turned down earlier to accept their job offer, which they accepted and I am currently with thank GOODNESS. The first red flag I realized was that they had ZERO experienced employees. All their techs have all quit due to issues in the lab. The second red flag was the visiting lab techs from other corporate offices who helped us... move from the old lab to the new lab directly told me this particular lab was horribly managed and as a result a disaster. When I see no happy employees, lab turnover so high that they cannot keep even keep bodies in the lab, and a chain smoking manager who doesnt know when to just go home, I know that this is not a healthy place to work. This lab was the most poorly managed place I have ever seen.....Out of any company I have ever worked for....When you work on-call, or not, you will be expected to work 12-15 hours a day even when it is not necessary. Just remember when you go there for an interview...Look around in the lab..actually talk to the lab techs when the manager is not around and ask how long they have been there and how many hours a week they average when they are on call and not on call....that is if there are any lab techs left. When I left there was one tech left who already put in his notice to quit due to the ridiculous amount of stress and hours placed on him in the lab. Also, this lab needs 4-5 lab techs working on two shifts like every other Inspectorate lab in the United States, not 1 lab tech working 12-15 hours a day 7 days a week. My last day of work, after working 13 hours, the manager stated that she was missing her 7 year old sons birthday AGAIN due to the demands of work...That is horrible, and who would want to work in a lab where that sort of work ethic is expected.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire 5 techs all at once and train them all. There seems to be no sense of urgency to bring in people which blows my mind. Bring in 3-4 experienced techs from other labs and have them work there while the new employees are being trained to keep the stress low. Also have senior management interview the lab techs after they work in this lab to get their opinions on how well this lab is managed. For a multi-billion... dollar corporation this lab is an embarrassment.

    Show More
    Inspectorate2015-08-24
  4. "Petrochemical Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Inspectorate full-time

    Pros

    Real easy laid back job, takes a little while to catch on

    Cons

    lots of hours, 24 hours on call.

    Inspectorate2015-07-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Coworkers are great. But management needs work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Administrative Assistant in Corpus Christi, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inspectorate

    Pros

    Set hours. Great coworkers. Okay benefits. There are always other offices you can transfer to if you are willing to relocate.

    Cons

    Management needs lots of work. Issues are never resolved. HR needs to take discrimination complaints much more seriously.

    Advice to Management

    Same as cons

    Inspectorate2015-08-21
  6. "The Grass Isn't Always Greener"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Metals & Minerals Inspector in Marrero, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Inspectorate for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Guaranteed 40 hour work week

    Cons

    Guaranteed 40 hour work week. No Overtime. Poor Management. No C.O,L,A, No Yearly/Holiday bonuses. Uniforms. Poor Communication.

    Advice to Management

    Try to better appreciate work staff.

    Inspectorate2015-08-10
  7. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inspector in Port Arthur, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Inspectorate for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, nice people, good training, company provides plenty of equipment and uniforms, company listens to employees and keeps inspectors busy, plenty of yearly bonuses

    Cons

    Can be on-call and work back to back jobs pushing through more than 24 hours

    Advice to Management

    Get more trailers in more facilities to help inspectors

    Inspectorate2015-05-19
  8. "Day after Day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Inspectorate full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company stands behind their employees decisions.

    Cons

    Pay appears to be Below industry standards

    Advice to Management

    Notice the people that excel at their job. Promote from within

    Inspectorate2015-03-19
  9. "Non-ethical and extremely bias"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Inspectorate full-time

    Pros

    None since acquired by Bureau Veritas

    Cons

    Zero loyalty towards employees, low salary, extremely political - do not attempt to work for this company unless you are a good politician. President has his inner circle of incompetent VP's with low management and HR skills. Lots of back-stabbing and hidden agendas. Being a Brit is a definitive advantage.

    Advice to Management

    Get help - you need it. Stop lying to employees and pursuing/conducting business thru unethical approach.

    Inspectorate2014-10-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Fun and interesting work but grueling work hours and relatively low pay (somewhat compensated by the overtime)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Martinez, CA
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Inspectorate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The small offices within a large company allow for an interesting dynamic. Each office feels like a small entity that is close knit while still having the stability of an international corporation. The work was varied and a good experience builder.

    Cons

    The oil industry never sleeps, and neither do it's workers. Long shifts, on-call requirements and quick results all add to a the stress level.

    Inspectorate2012-09-19
Found 43 reviews