KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

InstaEDU

Part of Chegg
Is this your company?

InstaEDU

Add a Review

InstaEDU Employee Reviews about "tutors"

Updated Dec 13, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 of over 84 reviews

3.1
63%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
InstaEDU CEO Dan Rosensweig (no image)
Dan Rosensweig
15 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

468

64 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good pay and flexibile hours(in 20 reviews)
  • "Flexible hours(in 7 reviews)
  • "Set your own hours and work from home for decent hourly pay.(in 5 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "tutors"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee

    A convenient way to make some extra spending money from the convenience of a remote location

    May 19, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As long as you have a reliable internet connection, headphones, and (sometimes) a graphing calculator, working with InstaEDU is a great way to make some extra cash if you are in between jobs, or do not tutor full-time.

    Cons

    Perhaps the biggest downside is that sometimes students can be fickle and end a session in <5 minutes (which you only will receive $1.67 compensation for); however, if you are often online and are reliable, it's possible to gather a significant number of loyal students. The hourly pay is not very competitive for senior tutors (especially in major urban areas), and sometimes what work you contribute is ethically questionable, at best.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Tries to Hurt Tutors

    Aug 20, 2015 - Tutor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours-you can log on any time to work Decent pay without having to outbid other tutors and drop the price of sessions

    Cons

    Catered entirely to the student. Students can threaten bad reviews to try to get you to void the session (making it free). False bad reviews commonly negatively affect your ability to tutor. Students often ask for you to outright do their homework (against InstaEDU's rules). If you refuse, then they leave negative feedback, which eventually gets you banned from tutoring. InstaEDU never defends tutors, even when students are obviously abusing the system. PayPal only pay system has replaced their direct deposit, costing all tutors an extra 3% of their pay.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    Strong part-time (full-time?) gig for students

    May 25, 2015 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Flexible hours. - Since Chegg bought the company, the quantity of students available has gone way up. Once you have lots of positive reviews (and few or no negative ones), you can effectively work as often as you want. I'm regularly working 25-30 hours per week and could get up to 40 if I wanted to. - Pay is much better than anything else a current student is going to be able to get. - You can learn and retain material so much better when you're teaching it, so this will even act as an effective study tool for courses. - Stands behind their tutors. I don't know what the other employees who've commented here have experienced, but I've had two instances where I was left negative reviews for no reason. Both times I contacted Chegg support and the reviews were removed from my profile. I don't know if my experience is different because I'm one of the tutors churning out a large volume of lessons and they want to keep me around, but at least for me, Chegg has been supportive. - The no show policy is so much better than InstaEDU's old one. Now, if students don't show up, you wait 15 minutes and then get paid for the whole lesson. It's so much better to hold students accountable for missed lessons, and it prevents time from being wasted.

    Cons

    - Doesn't have direct deposit to a bank, only Paypal - The customers truly suck sometimes. I've had some real gems that I enjoyed teaching, but there are a large number of students that just want the answers. This isn't Chegg's fault and there's nothing they can really do about it, but it's still a problem. Be ready to have some of your time wasted by students who either don't want to pay or want you to blatantly cheat for them. - It's slow getting started. You can expect a few lessons per week (if even that) when you're first starting out, and they'll all be on-demand lessons, meaning you have very little control over when they are if you want to get started. You have to be on at peak times to start. Once you get going, though, students will start messaging you directly - both ones you've tutored before and those who just see you near the top of the list of tutors. I've tutored enough now that my name is #1 or #2 in all subjects I tutor in (and, annoyingly, some that I don't - there aren't enough subcategories in some fields). I get messages constantly, when I'm online or offline. You have to be in for the long haul if this is to be worth it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Tutor

    Jan 1, 2015 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Pay, flexibile times, laid back.

    Cons

    Little interaction with higher ups, many frustrating students, too many hiring of tutors.

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Just terrible for tutors who work for them.

    Nov 12, 2013 - Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There's a few bucks involved for the tutors that make it.

    Cons

    Everything else. I worked as a tutor for them and can say that they treat their tutors like trash and underpay them (they pay $20/hr while most senior tutors can make $40-50/hr, especially if they live in high-income areas), but worst of all they only care about your tutor ratings and don't give a crap about the true quality of tutoring you provide, and while fire tutors if they receive more than about 4 or 5 'unhelpful' ratings on their records and without giving tutors a chance to work out th e reason for negative feedback with their students (and have it removed, like can be done on eBay, since most of the time the bad feedback is probably due to a misunderstanding and not a lack of knowledge from the tutor) or with their management people of all they only care about your tutor ratings and don't give a crap about the true quality of tutoring you provide, and while fire tutors if they receive more than about 4 or 5 'unhelpful' ratings on their records and without giving tutors a chance to work out th e reason for negative feedback with their students (and have it removed, like can be done on eBay, since most of the time the bad feedback is probably due to a misunderstanding and not a lack of knowledge from the tutor) or with their management people of all they only care about your tutor ratings and don't give a crap about the true quality of tutoring you provide, and while fire tutors if they receive more than about 4 or 5 'unhelpful' ratings on their records and without giving tutors a chance to work out th e reason for negative feedback with their students (and have it removed, like can be done on eBay, since most of the time the bad feedback is probably due to a misunderstanding and not a lack of knowledge from the tutor) or with their management people (once they fire you they'll just ignore all your e-mails). This is problematic since most students on InstaEdu just want tutors to give them the answers or do their homework, and aren't interested in tutors contributing to their genuine learning. Tutors who do the latter are more likely receive the 'unhelpful' ratings since they didn't provide the answers to the students right away. Their pay-by-the-minute model is also not conducive to learning or tutoring since it forces the student to rush the tutor for the answers while giving tutors the incentive to prolong a session just so they can make a few extra bucks. They also don't provide bonus incentives to their tutors like many competitors do, yet still expect them to have maintain near perfect ratings from their students, don't compensate more senior tutors (so they end up with mostly poor quality undergrads looking to make a quick buck rather the more serious and experienced graduate or professional students or students with advanced degrees that could be doing the tutoring instead) Bottom line, stay away from them whether you are potential tutor or student.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not able to contact corporate

    Dec 13, 2016 - Online Tutor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They do pay a fair wage to tutors for their services.

    Cons

    However, they will notify you of an issue by simply letting you know your application is no longer valid. I am concerned about getting paid for the time I put in this week, and I cannot reach anybody that has knowledge or information for that type of issue. The corporate numbers are no longer in service.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee

    InstaEDU is amazing!

    Nov 30, 2013 - Online Tutor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    InstaEDU is designed in a manner such that it is really easy for students to find tutors, and for tutors to get students. The system of public reviews by students is great to keep the tutors on their feet. Also, some executive from the company is almost always online which is great if tutors need help regarding any issues they may have faced.

    Cons

    The lesson environment can get buggy sometimes.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Tutor at InstaEDU. This tutoring company's incredible!!

    Jan 31, 2014 - Online Tutor in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Convenience of tutoring on your own time at home or elsewhere, computer logs time so you get paid for every second you spend tutoring, easy to use interface that allows to draw diagrams and edit essays (I think there's even a coding interface for the computer science folks out there). Payment is consistent and transferred to bank account within 3-4 days so this is just an INCREDIBLY convenient tutoring company for tutors who don't like to travel to student's homes or have a unpredictable schedule.

    Cons

    Sometimes I can have the website open for hours but have no one request me for a tutoring session. Also, sometimes kids just want to you answer homework questions without paying (they don't have a credit card); you can choose not to tutor them though, which is great. Very few complaints. This company/tutoring opportunity is unique and convenient for both the students and the tutor.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 9 of 9 English Reviews

Work at InstaEDU? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Online Tutor(28)
  • Tutor(9)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

InstaEDU Job Seekers Also Viewed

Tutor.com Logo
Tutor.com

3.2

639 Reviews
Compare