Instacart Reviews | Glassdoor

Instacart Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
58%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Instacart CEO Apoorva Mehta
Apoorva Mehta
170 Ratings

Reviews by divisions

  1. "Don’t Do It -In Store Shopper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - In Store Shopper in Menlo Park, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Um. It’s an easy paycheck?

    Cons

    -Women who work as in store shoppers seemed to be targeted by creepy grocery store employees. We are constantly harassed, and because we believe in professionalism, we have to keep our cool. And, even in the era of Times Up and Me Too, reporting said harassment will likely result in absolutely nothing, so what’s the point of reporting sexual harassment? We feel unsafe, and have to put up with it. -Shift leads are... hit and miss. The one I work with is always telling inappropriate stories/jokes, as well as treating some of us poorly (eg. implying I have adhd because I left hand lotion at home, as well as telling racist jokes to shoppers who aren’t white). -demeaning work; customers are rude and expect us to be dumber than dirt.

    Show More
    Instacart2019-11-15
  2. Instacart - Corporate | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (1)

    "Instacart is a fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Lead in Barnstable, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Instacart has a youthful and fun energy. They’re diverse and inclusive. The encourage recognition

    Cons

    Insurance isn’t affordable for me still

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Instacart2019-10-01
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Instore in Sugar Hill, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Freedom to work alone and

    Cons

    working at different locations is a con

    Instacart2019-10-02
  5. Instacart - Corporate | Division of Instacart

    "If you enjoy being an in store shopper, don't become a shift lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Lead in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no one's really watching you (but that comes with the cons)

    Cons

    They are in such a state of growth that the ops team does not have time to support any new hires

    Advice to Management

    Get a real plan together

    Instacart2019-10-16
  6. Instacart - Corporate | Division of Instacart

    "Start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Support Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Instacart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, comfortable work environment, snacks, catered meals ever week, over all fun place to work.

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing.

    Instacart2019-10-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Don't work at Instacart if you value your self worth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shopper 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working here boosts your self esteem for a while.

    Cons

    If you cannot be a daytime worker, meaning this is yiur second job, you will eventually end up with very few hours even just 4 hours a week.

    Advice to Management

    Value your seasoned shoppers whether they are daytime or evening/weekend shoppers. When your seasoned shoppers are available for 20 hours and then are scheduled for 4 while the new shoppers get more hours, that's demoralizing.

    Instacart2019-11-01
  8. "Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Instacart

    Pros

    Great company with tons of growth opportunities.

    Cons

    It’s becoming something totally different. So many changes.

    Advice to Management

    Agents First

    Instacart2019-09-26
  9. Instacart - Corporate | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (4)

    "A young company with great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Lead in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Instacart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In theory, Instacart is the future. Offer a grocery delivery service in a society hooked on convenience. Genius.

    Cons

    Please see advice to management

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality rather than quantity. For what the agents face day to day, the office can't be run like any typical call center. Agents face complex issues that require complex resolution. Agents typically have to venture off the beaten path of conflict resolution to appease customers and shoppers. Also, pay shoppers more. Instacarts contacted shoppers are why the company exists.

    Instacart2019-10-01
  10. Instacart - Corporate | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (1)

    "Great part time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Lead in Mount Laurel, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule, weekly pay

    Cons

    I wish my shoppers were paid a bit more

    Instacart2019-09-18
  11. Helpful (4)

    "They do not appreciate or respect the shoppers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Service Shopper in Verona, PA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Changing environments. Some batches pay good but they are few and far between

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay. Unfair pay. Ridiculous payouts for items shopped and distance traveled. I arrived to a customers house for delivery on 10-21 and there was another shopper in the driveway delivering a separate batch. Ridiculous

    Advice to Management

    ITS OBVIOUS YOU ONLY APPRECIATE THE CUSTOMERS. WHAT ABOUT US WITH BOOTS ON THE GROUND DOING THE WORK!? Too many shoppers per area waters down batch availability.

    Instacart2019-10-22
Found 348 reviews