Instacart "batches" Reviews | Glassdoor

Instacart Employee Reviews about "batches"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
53%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Instacart Founder Apoorva Mehta
Apoorva Mehta
974 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I wish my shoppers were paid a bit more(in 285 reviews)

  • "Too many batches fill the fridges(in 103 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "batches"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Pretty good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Shopper in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Calm schedule with lots of hours to pick up

    Cons

    Busy days are boring days. Too many batches fill the fridges

    Instacart2019-11-05
  2. "Great job (for me)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Shopper in Albany, NY

    I have been working at Instacart for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, having my car as my office, mobile platform works well, (local) travel, experiencing different stores and residences/parts of town, providing a service.

    Cons

    Wages can sometimes be silly low (have to watch for underpaying batches and reject them), not portable (can't work in other states/parts of the country without re-designating your location), many factors - vehicle maintenance, gas, etc. - negatively affecting wages

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-11-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Referral fee was never received"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper in Austin, TX

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible on-demand hours and locations

    Cons

    Customer service failure to follow-up with shopper complaints. Instacart currently offers a $500 bonus if you refer someone and they complete 65 deliveries within 30 days. I referred an excellent 5-star rating employee to Instacart, he completed 65 deliveries (within the 30-day timeframe) each address was documented through his mileage tracker and verified by Instacart’s customer service. There were several orders (batches) that were located out of his jurisdiction that paid out very little and offered no-tip, however, he accepted the batch to receive the credit towards the $500 referral bonus. When I contacted Instacart about not receiving the referral money they informed me that although he delivered to 65 different addresses that each one wasn’t counted as a batch. The referral incentive is supposed to find new valuable shoppers/employees and not a way to complete low pay orders that current shoppers won’t accept.

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-11-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worse than a sweat shop."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Full Service Shopper in Frisco, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for more than a year

    Pros

    You can take as much time off or free time as you please. (Due to over run number of shoppers in zones) . You technically don't have a boss.

    Cons

    1. Unfair and unreasonable pay. - I work 40+ hours a week as a full service shopper, and I might pull $450 a week. That's not deducting Gas and the fact that I put nearly 175 - 200 miles per day on my car. Plus insurance. Take home is closer to $300 for 40hrs. 2. Irrational demerit system. If you get reliability incidents which can come from simply not accepting 1 out of every 4 batches they send you, after your 5th you no longer can schedule hours. This is devastating because there are literally no next day shifts available and you usually will be on a wait list of 80 to 90 drivers ahead of you. Your only chance to work off the 30 days to remove a reliability incident is if extreme weather happens which most of the shoppers will not work in. So putting yourself in danger is the only remedy. 3. Customers can leave you negative feedback which you can't dispute. Such as "Poor substitution," or "wrong item", which is not always our fault, if the customer won't respond to requests for their preference of a substitution, or if you accept the sub the IC app shows you and the customer can still say WRONG ITEM when you followed the IC app steps to make the sub and have it updated correctly, but IC doesn't recognize that you made a substitute so obviously it was not the same item the customer wanted. And if you DONT make a substitution a customer can give you a poor rating for not choosing a sub. 1 bad review can drop you from a 5.0 to a 4.7 which is very poor service and affect the future orders you make. But we can't review or respond to IC to explain or give our side of the situation. 4. Poor tips or no tip at all from 4 out of 5 customers. We drive to the store, pull all the items on your grocery list with details pertaining to your notes, and do all the leg work. (A 35 item order can sometimes take up to an hour to locate, pay,.and load to deliver) but customers tip $2 or sometimes less than 5% when in actuality we do more work than a waiter and they average 15 to 20%. 5. (Too many to list but I'll stop here) CEO consistently finds ways to CUT more from our already meager wages, and basically treats us as slave labor when in all reality , WE are the backbone of the company. Without shoppers then there is no one to fulfill and deliver these orders.

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-11-09
  5. Helpful (5)

    "They do not appreciate or respect the shoppers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Service Shopper in Verona, PA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Changing environments. Some batches pay good but they are few and far between

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay. Unfair pay. Ridiculous payouts for items shopped and distance traveled. I arrived to a customers house for delivery on 10-21 and there was another shopper in the driveway delivering a separate batch. Ridiculous

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-10-22
  6. "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Full Service Shopper 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Pick your own hours, easy to learn to shop

    Cons

    Some batches are ridiculously large and you are offered maybe $10

    Instacart2019-10-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not enough hours and little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Full Service Shopper in Chesterton, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours with a fun premise which encourages problem-solving skills. The job feels like you're helping people and it's possible to earn a lot on a shift.

    Cons

    Hours are very difficult to lock down, especially for someone part-time working another job. Batches are few and far-between, small, and extremely competitive, and most available hours are in a zone too far away to conveniently (and profitably) drive to. Furthermore the lack of a guaranteed hourly has led to a lot of waste time while sitting in a far-away zone and receiving zero batches for long shifts.

    Instacart2019-09-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible, stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Full Service Shopper in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting some excercise walking

    Cons

    The pay and store locations. Routinely get batches to drive 30min to the store for a $7 order, when there is at least 5 supermarkets within 10min of me. Pay gets lower every quarter, and they are either stealing your tips or their fees are too high so customers don’t tip.

    Instacart2019-10-14
  9. "Not Fair on Distro of Batches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Personal Shopper 

    I have been working at Instacart

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, easy second job

    Cons

    -Sends bigger batches to men in my area, not the women -Sends the same batch order out to multiple shoppers at the same time, making it more competitive and not fun -No accountable customer support for the shoppers -The app sends batches to shoppers not even close or living in my county

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-09-19
  10. Helpful (2)

    "it's okay but they need to work on a few things to make things better for works."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    get to make my own work schedule

    Cons

    taking batches out while on lunch, Getting low scores for having to run out batches while in the middle of a batch,

    Continue reading
    Instacart2019-09-03
Found 112 reviews