Instacart "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Instacart Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Instacart Founder Apoorva Mehta
Apoorva Mehta
973 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I wish my shoppers were paid a bit more(in 285 reviews)

  • "Too many batches fill the fridges(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews by divisions

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Good job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Very lenient! Love the flexible hours! Love the pay! I also love how absolutely easy the job is!

    Cons

    Not being able to get more breaks for the bathroom!

    Instacart2019-10-16
  2. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Full Service Shopper in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours and schedule

    Cons

    Their minimum pay for a batch she be more than $7.

    Instacart2019-11-13
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Freelancer - Full Service Shopper 

    I worked at Instacart

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great tips

    Cons

    Slow days, no orders

    Instacart2019-11-14
  4. "Do Not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - In-Shore Shopper in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    - Flexible hours and schedule - Pleasant customers and good work

    Cons

    - The company is really greedy. They pay so little and expect a lot from their in-store shoppers. They take the majority of the service fee and give very little back to the shopper. - No benefits for employees. - Pay was on average $12 an hour. You can do a lot better doing things like Amazon Flex. - Plastic waste from the bags.

    Advice to Management

    Have some social responsibility and a higher level of ethics.

    Instacart2019-11-19
  5. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Not too shabby"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Shopper 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to work whenever you want, flexible hours

    Cons

    Inconsistent tipping policies and tips overall

    Instacart2019-10-14
  6. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "I would recommend for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Shopper 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Instacart for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Can drop hours 24hrs in advance

    Cons

    Too much heavy lifting Company is always coming up with "new" ways to fix our issues but nothing gets resolved

    Instacart2019-10-16
  7. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Too much to deal with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Shopper in Riverside, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours Get paid every Friday 13.50 an hour

    Cons

    everything is based off of speed you have to be fast they will terminate you over stupid things

    Advice to Management

    Speed, everything is about speed, seems to me all they care about is money. They hate if you dont reach your speed then they hate if your not hitting your goal. I rather make a customer happy than base it off of speed. I hate it to be honest, speed shoudlnt be everything. On top of that the drivers are so rude, they think they have the hardest part to just driver and deliver, they dont have to get yelled at by 3... bosses in the store. I hate the fact that they expect you to do 5 items (12 units) in 5 mins.

    Show More
    Instacart2019-10-08
  8. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (1)

    "Not enough hours and little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Full Service Shopper in Chesterton, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours with a fun premise which encourages problem-solving skills. The job feels like you're helping people and it's possible to earn a lot on a shift.

    Cons

    Hours are very difficult to lock down, especially for someone part-time working another job. Batches are few and far-between, small, and extremely competitive, and most available hours are in a zone too far away to conveniently (and profitably) drive to. Furthermore the lack of a guaranteed hourly has led to a lot of waste time while sitting in a far-away zone and receiving zero batches for long shifts.

    Instacart2019-09-24
  9. "Amazing opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Full Time Shopper 

    I have been working at Instacart

    Pros

    I enjoy the flexible hours. The job itself is simple.

    Cons

    No cons, everything flows smoothly . Sometimes waiting for hours for the upcoming week

    Instacart2019-08-25
  10. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (2)

    "Probably one of the worst part time jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Full Service Shopper 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible hours is about all that's good about it. nothing else.

    Cons

    management doesn't care for you and sets unrealistic time goals for orders.... and when time goals aren't met, then they threaten you with termination and will just fire you out of nowhere. the pay is mediocre, there's no incentive to be fast, and they definitely uncut you on tips. the way they give orders doesn't make sense, there can be people who are on orders nonstop, while others with no orders at all. the... extra $1 or $2 in tips isn't worth being fast. then they won't give you hours for being "slow".

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    management is mediocre. I have yet to have anything good to say about any of the management I've dealt with. shift leads are lazy and do not offer any help. upper management doesn't entertain shoppers

    Instacart2019-08-11
Found 157 reviews