Instacart "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor

Instacart Employee Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Instacart CEO Apoorva Mehta
Apoorva Mehta
973 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I wish my shoppers were paid a bit more(in 285 reviews)

  • "Too many batches fill the fridges(in 104 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews by divisions

Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Instacart for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Flexible schedule and easy to modify. *Great team and store partners

    Cons

    *Always changing metrics , complicated to understand sometimes

    Instacart2019-06-19
  2. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Great part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper in Oldsmar, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Do not have to drive / deliver Flexible schedule Hourly wage

    Cons

    Poor management Drunk co workers App issues

    Advice to Management

    Stop chastising the team for one players default. Happy hours of the people who are not functioning not the dedicated people

    Instacart2019-11-22
  3. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (1)

    "Priorities are not straight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Consistent schedule Decent pay Helpful staff

    Cons

    Management doesn't listen to employees

    Advice to Management

    Management need to stop worrying about numbers on a screen and actually listen to their workers, my store in particular has been dubbed the hardest in the area and even knowing that, we have tons of issues, full service almost never knows what their doing if they are brand new, they dont respect the shift leads in the store but always beg for help and expect everything to be handed to them, in store customers are... rude and delay our process, we have only 1 register that we are allowed to use all shift and it is always being used as the register to train new cashiers and once those cashier got the hang of the system they are pulled and we get left waiting even after we make it known that we need to check out due to being timed. Shoppers voice their issues everyday to higher management about our constant struggles and they always claim their going to do something and never do. All they care about is what their screens say and that isn't going to help anyone improve all it does it add additional pressure and cause us to start basically running through our store, annoy customers that don't want to be contacted with spam messages, and constant app issues and lack of decent internet connection ruins the entire experience, management need to listen to their workers, nothing ruins a company more then bad management. I love working for Instacart but management alone makes me want to leave, we want our voices heard thats all we ask.

    Show More
    Instacart2019-12-04
  4. "Flexible, but always changeing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Instore Shopper in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Semi-flexible schedule. You must be open alternating sundays/weekends, and schedule 3 days to always work. Minimum 15 hours. You work primarily by yourself, but coworkers are willing to help. Fast pace work environment. Laid back work enviornment.

    Cons

    30 hours per week max. No benefits. Little to no movement in the company. Revolving door for new hires. Income is constantly in flux, and trends down. NO TIPS! New base pay model to start Jan. 2020 that removes batch bonuses, so the only pay recieved is the hourly pay, which starts at $11.25 per hour, and will be capped at $13.25 per hour. Raises are based on tenure (time worked), not work ethic. The app is... very buggy.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your workers! Allow the customers to tip their drivers and shoppers separately. Acknowledge that different stores/zones/pods have different completion rates. Busier stores, the ones that generate the most revenue, and move the most product thus accept more batches, should be compensated appropriately. Offer benefits, or bonuses, or some sort of incentive to workers that consistently perform well. Train your... Full Service workers (aside from the app introduction)! Many issues stem from FS not knowing what to do; Lost/wrong bags & damaged items, etc. Offer pay transparency that is simple to understand. Train the call center. Most times, they don't know how to help resolve a problem.

    Show More
    Instacart2019-11-11
  5. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Easy money, poor communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Instacart for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible schedule -Super easy money These are literally the only reasons I drag myself to work everyday.

    Cons

    -Management (shift leads, site managers) feel entitled and like to talk down to you. There's no open door policy so whenever I email upper management, they CC my direct supervisor, leading to further issues -Rules constantly change. There's always a new rule and/or metric to be judged by . Don't expect any leeway to meet these new requirements either. You either get it right away or they threaten to terminate you.... -Poor communication between management and shoppers. Also, their help center is trash. -Literally no work benefits. We don't even get a discount for using the platform as a customer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Allow your employees to communicate frustrations without fear of retaliation. Have some sort of system in place so that we can hold our supervisors accountable for the way they talk down to us.

    Instacart2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (4)

    "They do not appreciate or respect the shoppers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Service Shopper in Verona, PA
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Changing environments. Some batches pay good but they are few and far between

    Cons

    Inconsistent pay. Unfair pay. Ridiculous payouts for items shopped and distance traveled. I arrived to a customers house for delivery on 10-21 and there was another shopper in the driveway delivering a separate batch. Ridiculous

    Advice to Management

    ITS OBVIOUS YOU ONLY APPRECIATE THE CUSTOMERS. WHAT ABOUT US WITH BOOTS ON THE GROUND DOING THE WORK!? Too many shoppers per area waters down batch availability.

    Instacart2019-10-22
  7. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Beginner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - In Store Shopper 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Instacart

    Pros

    I was told that they give good pay, based on time and dedication. And of course they give a very flexible schedule

    Cons

    I heard they do not provide PTO which is a problem for employees who simply want to go on vacation and still be able to pay bills.

    Advice to Management

    The PTO is my only concern. If there is a way to help fulltime shoppers to be able to pay bills and rent when they come back home from vacation, then that would be awsome

    Instacart2019-10-02
  8. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Not Fair on Distro of Batches"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Freelancer - Personal Shopper 

    I have been working at Instacart

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, easy second job

    Cons

    -Sends bigger batches to men in my area, not the women -Sends the same batch order out to multiple shoppers at the same time, making it more competitive and not fun -No accountable customer support for the shoppers -The app sends batches to shoppers not even close or living in my county

    Advice to Management

    Make this more fair so shoppers, good shoppers will stay, please.

    Instacart2019-09-19
  9. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart

    "Shopper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Full Service Shopper in Newnan, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is fair and the flexible schedule is great!

    Cons

    Hours are not always available.

    Instacart2019-09-03
  10. Instacart - Shopper | Division of Instacart
    Helpful (2)

    "Occasionally worth the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Personal Shopper in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Instacart for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, no reprimanding if you do something wrong, can take breaks, able to complete trips on your time

    Cons

    Bad pay, larger amounts of work for little reward, picky customers, poor tips, slow shopping days, shopper app issues and glitches, poor IT support when having problems

    Advice to Management

    Pay your shoppers more than $7 per FULL service shopping trips. A full delivery often takes an hour or more between driving and shopping. Only being guaranteed $7 is pretty measly.

    Instacart2019-09-07
Found 172 reviews