Institute for Creative Technologies Reviews

Updated Feb 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
65%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Institute for Creative Technologies Executive Director Randall Hill, Jr (no image)
Randall Hill, Jr
11 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nice place to work at.

    Mar 2, 2019 - Software Developer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work from scratch. You will be having meetings with Army people and get to gather the requirements from them.

    Cons

    Requirement specification document should be prepared before starting the development.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    good work life balance

    Jan 22, 2021 - Programmer in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    very good work life balance

    Cons

    low pay and irrelevant tech

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Research at ICT

    Dec 29, 2020 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -access to state-of-the art toolkits and technologies -good work/life balance -some nice social events for employees

    Cons

    Highly dependent on who your manager is, little exposure beyond who you directly report to. Can be less collegial (most of funding comes from one pot and senior people more concerned with protecting their slice of the pie as opposed to collaborating).

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    No growth opportunities-Serious nepotism issues

    Jun 29, 2020 - Researcher 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They try to make it a nice place to work. The facility is nice with a small gym, game room , and library. There is also a private park across the street with basketball, and volleyball courts. They have monthly birthday/new hire celebrations, holiday party, Independence day bar-b-que (family included). Monthly trainer consultation (not my favorite)

    Cons

    If you can get hired without knowing someone you are part of the lucky few. Don't look to be promoted. This is a small office so there isn't much room for growth and I didn't see many promotions (I don't know of any). I didn't see anyone move up through the ranks. Diversity in management is non existent so if that matters to you keep searching.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Computer Vision Engineer

    Jan 12, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of new cool research benefits and state of the art AI

    Cons

    H1-b non commercial visa provision for academia and hence need to take that into consideration

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Getting Left Behind

    Dec 4, 2018 - Technical Project Manager in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, and if you're an academic, it's part of USC, so get that tenure! Free coffee, smart people, interesting work.

    Cons

    Lack of drive and initiative. Professional development is nonexistent for non-admin staff, so accountants get training, programmers have to beg for classes. Compensation isn't competitive. Management is aloof.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A place to learn.

    Oct 22, 2018 - Contractor (Audio Post-Production) in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A caveat: I only worked here as a contractor. That said, there are two things that make this work environment incredible. 1. These people are working at the cutting edge, developing technologies for graphics, interactivity and entertainment that are changing industries. So you'll be surrounded by people that prioritize discovering new things. It's an academic environment, but one focused on solving real technical problems in creative industries. It's a super inspiring combination to participate in. 2. As a result of this, it is a bizarrely supportive workplace. These people understand trying 10 solutions that don't work and finding an answer on the 11th try, because that's how you develop new things. They get that so deeply. I've never worked at a place that was more tolerant of "learning curve", and as a result both my knowledge and my confidence in my abilities increased massively while I was there, even though I was there as a technical laborer and not an academic.

    Cons

    Sometimes deadlines can be pretty soft, because pretty much every project at ICT is an attempt to do something that hasn't been done before. It's very hard to project a timeline under those circumstances, and that took some getting used to.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good Research lab

    Feb 11, 2017 - Programmer Analyst in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Can learn more things about Natural Language Processing

    Cons

    nothing cons there. It's best place to work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Loved my time as a student worker at ICT.

    Dec 26, 2016 - Student Worker in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was a student worker, but still my teammates considered me part of their team. The project i was working on was more of a research project, so got to understand how a typical research project is handled. The people there are amazing, with lots of experience and I had a chance to learn a lot from them. The office is located in superb area of Playa Vista which was a plus for me.

    Cons

    This is not a major con, but coming from working in the industry, working on research projects sometime meant more of prototyping which meant a bit more slower but promising development of the projects.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Summer Research Intern

    Oct 7, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Got to work on fascinating Virtual Reality research, friendly PhD students!

    Cons

    Internship was very unstructured, sometimes struggled to find things to do

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 English Reviews

Work at Institute for Creative Technologies? Share Your Experiences

Institute for Creative Technologies logo
or