Institute for Creative Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Institute for Creative Technologies Reviews

Updated Mar 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 27 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Randall Hill, Jr
10 Ratings
  1. "Nice place to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Los Angeles, CA

    I have been working at Institute for Creative Technologies part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work from scratch. You will be having meetings with Army people and get to gather the requirements from them.

    Cons

    Requirement specification document should be prepared before starting the development.

    Institute for Creative Technologies2019-03-02
  2. "Computer Vision Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute for Creative Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Lots of new cool research benefits and state of the art AI

    Cons

    H1-b non commercial visa provision for academia and hence need to take that into consideration

    Institute for Creative Technologies2019-01-12
  3. "Getting Left Behind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Project Manager in Playa Vista, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute for Creative Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, and if you're an academic, it's part of USC, so get that tenure! Free coffee, smart people, interesting work.

    Cons

    Lack of drive and initiative. Professional development is nonexistent for non-admin staff, so accountants get training, programmers have to beg for classes. Compensation isn't competitive. Management is aloof.

    Advice to Management

    Pull the wool off your eyes, we're being left behind.

    Institute for Creative Technologies2018-12-04
  4. "A place to learn."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Contractor (Audio Post-Production) in Playa Vista, CA

    I worked at Institute for Creative Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    A caveat: I only worked here as a contractor. That said, there are two things that make this work environment incredible. 1. These people are working at the cutting edge, developing technologies for graphics, interactivity and entertainment that are changing industries. So you'll be surrounded by people that prioritize discovering new things. It's an academic environment, but one focused on solving real technical problems...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes deadlines can be pretty soft, because pretty much every project at ICT is an attempt to do something that hasn't been done before. It's very hard to project a timeline under those circumstances, and that took some getting used to.

    Advice to Management

    Please work to preserve this incredible place. You've created something amazing here, and it changed the way I look at my own career.

    Institute for Creative Technologies2018-10-22
  5. "Best Time in ICT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Institute for Creative Technologies

    Pros

    Many interns here and really can have a good time

    Cons

    There're a lot food truck there and could really have a good time

    Institute for Creative Technologies2018-08-14
  6. "REU Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Institute for Creative Technologies

    Pros

    great location, fun coworkers, meaningful work

    Cons

    some potentially long days, sometimes hard to define scope of what needs to get done on the day-to-day

    Institute for Creative Technologies2018-05-06
  7. "Visiting Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Institute for Creative Technologies

    Pros

    The project I worked on was specific to my expertise which allow me a direct grow.

    Cons

    I wish I had more direct communication with my former boss, we met just a couple of times a month.

    Institute for Creative Technologies2018-02-25
  8. "Fun to work with great minds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Institute for Creative Technologies for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to get your hands dirty on technologies that are not in the market. Good pay for student researchers

    Cons

    Would have appreciated a structured program for the interns

    Institute for Creative Technologies2017-02-26
  9. "Good Research lab"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute for Creative Technologies part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Can learn more things about Natural Language Processing

    Cons

    nothing cons there. It's best place to work

    Institute for Creative Technologies2017-02-12
  10. "Loved my time as a student worker at ICT."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Worker in Playa Vista, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Institute for Creative Technologies part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I was a student worker, but still my teammates considered me part of their team. The project i was working on was more of a research project, so got to understand how a typical research project is handled. The people there are amazing, with lots of experience and I had a chance to learn a lot from them. The office is located in superb area of Playa Vista which was a plus for me.

    Cons

    This is not a major con, but coming from working in the industry, working on research projects sometime meant more of prototyping which meant a bit more slower but promising development of the projects.

    Institute for Creative Technologies2016-12-27
Found 27 reviews