Institute of International Education Reviews | Glassdoor

Institute of International Education Reviews

Updated Aug 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 239 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
27%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Institute of International Education CEO Allan Goodman
Allan Goodman
143 Ratings
Pros
  • "The people at IIE are its greatest asset(in 40 reviews)

  • "The mission is great, some truly wonderful coworkers, good benefits(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "past restructure didn’t work but I give IIE credit for taking a risk, especially since it’s so strong now(in 47 reviews)

  • "Recent Redesign that made everyone question CEO(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Institute of International Education full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Company with excellent benefits.

    Cons

    Recent Redesign that made everyone question CEO.

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-02-13
  2. "IIE is perfectly fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of International Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IIE has a ton of benefits. I don’t know why people are always trolling IIE on Glassdoor. It makes no sense at all. Pay is not the best when you compare apple to oranges, so stop comparing apple to oranges. IIE is non-for-profit company that works in the development sector and unfortunately have offices located in cities with higher cost of living standards. You are not going to be paid handsomely to do development work at a nonprofit. Do you want to make good money? I suggest getting out of the development sector and go back to school to be a doctor or something else. IIE benefits are one of the best across all industries. PTO, Two Days Remote Work, Health, Dental, Tuition, Retirement, and family/maternity leave that can be up to six months paid! You are not going to find these benefits anywhere.

    Cons

    IIE has been around for a century, but nothing ever seems set in stone yet. IIE is always trying to figure things out all the time. A company that’s been around for a century should not have to Redesign or even Redesign the Redesign. IIE should have gotten all of this down half of a century ago. Most companies that’s been around this long should be a well oiled machine by now. I think that’s the most unfortunate part that I’ve notice during my time at IIE. Why is IIE still trying to figure things out?

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-08-07
  3. "Shame to see so many disgruntled ex-employees roasting IIE on Glassdoor..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of International Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are the BEST part of working here. My co-workers are interesting. smart, passionate and hard-working. I've worked on several teams and under several supervisors, and 5/6 managers I've had were excellent. I've also worked in and visited almost all of the regional offices and found a strong sense of community across the board. Benefits are awesome--lots of vacation time and great student loan reimbursement policy. I also LOOOOVVVEEEE the flexible remote work option. So convenient. Most employees seem to have a really good work/life balance because of the benefits and remote work policy. Another important pro: the work adds value to the world!!! These programs truly change lives. I feel good about the work I do. I can't speak for everyone at IIE, but opportunities to move up have been plentiful in my experience. IIE does a lot of hiring internally, which makes it possible to take on new roles with increasing responsibility the longer you're here. I moved from intern to coordinator to officer to specialist in less than 3 years.

    Cons

    IIE underwent an ill-advised "Redesign" that didn't work out well, as you can see from the many negative reviews here. However, I think management has tried their best to course correct and had to make difficult decisions because of the less-than stellar financial position the company was in at the time. In my opinion, they made the best out of a bad situation. Pay is always going to be an issue at any non-profit. Yes, salaries are lower than in the private sector in cities like NYC, DC, and SF. But... duh! I'm a little shocked that people complain so much about salaries. But I think IIE's pay scale similar to what you'll find at other non-profits, particularly in the int'l ed/education world.

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-08-02
  4. "Great Experience Thus Far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of International Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, flexibility, professional environment, great family-work balance, great benefits and PTO, fully stocked cafeteria!

    Cons

    Salaries are not competitive and there is no room for negotiation.

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of International Education full-time

    Pros

    If you’re in the inner circle there’s plenty...

    Cons

    If you’re not in the inner circle you’ll be used and abused and tossed away like garbage when they’re through with you.

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-07-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting mission, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporting Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of International Education full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mission, caring co-workers, excellent benefits

    Cons

    No upward movement, small salaries

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-07-03
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Titanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of International Education full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Experiencing bliss after leaving this company.

    Cons

    Not realizing ahead of time how much bliss is available after leaving.

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-07-12
  8. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Support in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of International Education full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    no micromanaging; work-ability; weekly teem meetings

    Cons

    lack of communication between management

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-06-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Bad Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Event Manager in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of International Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful Mission with interesting people. Great State Dept. Sponsors

    Cons

    Levels and levels of bad management. Should invest more in training and supporting staff.

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-05-23
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Great organization for those who thrive in turmoil"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of International Education full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Generous maternity leave, PTO allotment, and work from home policy. Should the best part about a job be the amount time you don't have be there?

    Cons

    The mission of IIE is truly admirable. However, the never-ending internal chaos and dysfunction punishes staff who actually care about their jobs and the programs they manage. It's impossible to develop expertise because systems are implemented and discarded with each new program cycle and management shifts workloads from team to team without consideration for the long-term develop of employees, teams, or programs.

    Continue reading
    Institute of International Education2019-05-01
Found 239 reviews