Institute of Reading Development Enrolment Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Institute of Reading Development Enrollment Coordinator Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Institute of Reading Development CEO Doug Evans (no image)
Doug Evans
55 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I have been employed for 10 years straight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I'm reading these reviews and thinking... hmm these people did not get the concept of discovering the real issue behind the child's needs and knowing how to apply what we really do to help them. I read one review that said the script was 5 pages long. Wrong. Every script is 1 page. But guess what? I never use a script anymore because I have attended several of the classes with my little granddaughter and I can... describe what happens there. And it is magic. My 8-year-old granddaughter is in a gifted program and is reading James Patterson's books meant for 15-year-olds because of our program. The pros: work from your home office, very flexible schedule, helping frustrated parents and struggling children, feeling great about your work. Also, I have many health problems and they have worked with me above and beyond. As far as seasonal work goes, if you are great at your job and listened to their critiques, you can work from February to October. The people who think $370 is a lot of money for an excellent reading program are often hesitant, lack confidence, or the sales ability to make it happen and are laid off first. This is a wonderful job with really caring people.

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest con I can think of is you do get excellent PAID training, but you have to be a self-starter, login on time, take breaks on time and reach out to your supervisor if you feel overwhelmed or like you are on an island on your own. They will make time for you and will listen to your calls and give feedback. No benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Change the repetitive yearly training for veterans. It's so boring!

    Institute of Reading Development2019-07-18
  2. "Really great seasonal sales position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Novato, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Making a difference for students and parents Good money Part-time hours for full-time pay

    Cons

    Seasonal Commission only with a guarantee, but no base plus commission structure which is preferred

    Advice to Management

    Go back to hourly plus commission for higher morale

    Institute of Reading Development2019-10-11
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Decent work from home position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training is thorough, paid, and you are given plenty of feedback, The schedule is pretty flexible and you can make decent money if you are good at closing.

    Cons

    Back to back phone calls all day, everyday. It can be grueling. Metrics can be hard to achieve, but this is to be expected going in.

    Advice to Management

    Anyone on the sales team should be regularly participating in taking calls. At least once a week a full shift should be dedicated to being in the queue so you can demonstrate current ability and keep any street credibility.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-05-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Very demanding and fake supervisors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Enrollment Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development for less than a year

    Pros

    You can work from home.

    Cons

    Supervisors are not that friendly or responsive. Even though I work from home I feel pressured to not move from my seat until the allotted 10 minute break even to use the bathroom. It's seasonal but I do not recommend. I should've looked harder.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-04-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Beware of predatory practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Convenient location Work from home

    Cons

    Guilt tripping parents to buy overpriced reading programs

    Advice to Management

    Lower the cost of your reading programs

    Institute of Reading Development2019-05-17
  7. "It is a good work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator 

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a really great job. It was easy to learn and training was helpful.

    Cons

    The training was long and boring. It is only a seasonal position. They act like it's helping families by selling these products.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-04-02
  8. "Enrollment Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator 

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time

    Pros

    -Work from home -Job Flexibility -Easy to make money -All necessary tools to be successful given, free of cost

    Cons

    -Seasonal -Calls are assigned by rank -Training long and boring

    Institute of Reading Development2019-03-18
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible place to work - should advertises as minimum wage call center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Novato, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home Good Sales training (Tiffany)

    Cons

    False promises of commission Rude management

    Advice to Management

    Listen in on the management calls to ECs Provide better software tools

    Institute of Reading Development2019-03-23
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Helping Families Get Reading Assistance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Sumter, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff was a great group of people Great way to help families find solid academic support in reading

    Cons

    At times the training felt insufficient

    Institute of Reading Development2018-10-12
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Good temporary work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Akron, OH

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home decent pay

    Cons

    Too many problems with thier servers job is only temporary.

    Advice to Management

    You don't take advice

    Institute of Reading Development2018-08-03
Found 142 reviews