Institute of Reading Development Enrolment Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Enrolment Coordinator

Institute of Reading Development Enrollment Coordinator Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
46%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Institute of Reading Development Vice President  Doug Evans (no image)
Doug Evans
55 Ratings
  1. "Everything to Gain"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Novato, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you never thought you could be successful in a sales position, this is the place for you! Work from home. Save time and money. Good pay. Wonderful training and ongoing coaching from professional, kind supervisors. The calls are fed to you. The callers are primarily parents calling to discuss their children. You have their attention! The product is top notch. You will feel proud to offer it. You will change... lives. Imagine how your school experience would have soared if you had strong reading and comprehension skills from the start. Or, a big boost in those skills along the way. You have the opportunity to give that gift to hundreds of children. IRD will teach you how!

    Show More

    Cons

    Can’t think of any. Love this job!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Institute of Reading Development2018-07-21
  2. Helpful (12)

    "Not worth the effort"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training program and support from the supervisors--they teach you exactly how to sell the program, how to use the application, how to answer questions, and mostly everything that you need to know about children's reading development for this job, flexible schedule, pay is on time, work from home, you get to have interesting conversations with lots of different people of all ages and backgrounds, and the... programs work and really do help children succeed in school which is the most rewarding part of the job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Pull up a chair. This is the most greedy company that I have ever worked for, the pay is ridiculously low for the amount of money that you're making the company and the amount of effort it takes to convince someone over the phone in 20 minutes to make a $400 commitment. These greedy people have designed the "commission structure" to make it seem like you're making an additional income based on each program that... you sell while guaranteeing an hourly minimum of $12-15 per hour. The catch is that it is nearly impossible to sell enough programs at a lousy 6.5-7% during a pay period to the point where your earned commission outweighs the hourly minimum rate. I worked full time and was successful at the job enrolling hundreds of families but only made additional income one pay period. So even if you're performing really well, you're still only getting paid around $12-13 per hour to do a difficult sales job, GREAT! That's what I made delivering pizza in high school! Most of the management could care less about the EC's, you are nothing but a number to them. They expect the world out of you while compensating you as if you're a low skilled McDonald's worker. You are never right and your opinion is rarely ever valued. They will threaten you with termination if your numbers drop even slightly or you have an off week. They blame the EC's for nearly everything--technical issues, customers hanging up as soon as they hear the price, disconnects, etc. there's a reason why they are an "at will" employer, so that they can drop you at the drop of a dime! They market to low income areas and still expect you to sell the program to parents in these areas somehow, they do have a scholarship program but are extremely stingy with giving out scholarships--they were all gone after the first month of the season so from April to June you're left in a situation where you have to explain to low income parents that there are no more scholarships available and there's nothing we can do to accommodate your child at this time, which made me feel horrible--not what I thought I was signing up for. They will work you like a dog if you're a successful EC--they had me working nearly all my available hours (40+), selling additional programs that included writing, and then would message me almost everyday after I had just worked an exhausting 8 hour shift taking nonstop back to back calls to stay an extra hour and take a few more calls, unbelievable! They lie and tell you that they are more busy on holidays to get you to schedule. They demand maximum effort for very low pay, it reminds me of a sweat shop. All they care about is $$$, they have no respect for you as a person. I would only recommend this job if you're desperate for income, you're disabled, or are a stay at home parent.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You invited me back for the next season because I was successful (over 80k in sales in 3 months) but I am happy to say that I WILL NOT BE RETURNING! I refuse to make anymore money for your greedy organization. Great company mission, but PAY your employees!

    Institute of Reading Development2018-07-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Enrollment Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home so no expenses except the headset you need. They do well to work within your schedule availability. Interesting conversations with parents. Guaranteed $11 / hour and they pay on time.

    Cons

    Their Marketing Materials to parents does not prepare them for the tuition so you spend a lot of time trying to overcome the cost for 5 classes. The cost is actually very good for what it is, but since the caller has no idea it is hard to overcome their surprise. Metrics are hard to meet. You find a LOT of sketchy things going on by other ECs because they're trying to meet the numbers. There isn't any recourse to... them. All of your supervisors are overworked and wearing too many hats so there's not near as much support as they claim unless you're in the top of the sales team. Season ends early, so don't count on the date they give you. You pay back commissions for refunds so chances are by the end of the season, you made less than $11/hr. Hard to ever get missing pay stub or commission payment paper. Never feel valuable or appreciated even when you're doing a decent job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Actually have a punishment for the ECs who are creating multiple students under the FID or even creating a new FID for a family so they get the base commission. Work closer with your people. I essentially worked second shift and never got any additional training except for 2 phone calls in 8 weeks. Instead of hiring waves and waves of new ECs, focus on strengthening the ones you have so you don't have quite as many... layoffs to do.

    Show More
    Institute of Reading Development2018-07-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Humane, flexible, commission job that doesn't make you feel like a shark."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Enrollment Coordinator in Deltona, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IRD offers work from home phone jobs concerning sales that don't make me feel like a shark. This company offers education as its product, which is something I believe in and passionately offer to all of my callers. It works, as I've seen for myself, and has been around for over 40 years so it's an honest product. Best yet, the calls come to me and I don't have to bother anyone with random cold calls. It's... commission-based, with a guaranteed supplement of $12/hr (which in FL is not bad) but only because the sales you'll make when you follow instructions will bypass that and in my experience, has always reached well within the 20's during peak times. When the things you can control meet reasonable expectation (answer most incoming calls, work your scheduled hours, etc.) your commission percentage increases as a reward. You earn a free program for yourself after 200 hours, and a free program for a family member after another 200 hours of taking calls. I've always reached both goals, even though I've only worked the minimum 25hr/week shifts. The more time you put in, the more you'll make, which allows you to spend more time with your family because most, if not all of your essential bills will be paid. On that note, the staff is family oriented and works with you during times of need. I have never been made to feel guilty or ashamed if I had to call out for my family, technical issues, or an illness, and everyone is very friendly. Training and meetings are done through Webex with optional webcams so that we can see each other from all over the nation and feel more connected. When we're not too busy with calls, we get weekly/bi-weekly training sessions as needed, particularly if you need help or coaching to boost your confidence and succeed. The program itself is simple to learn about, understand, and relay to the caller. A guideline is provided for you to follow during your phone calls.

    Show More

    Cons

    No insurance or benefits. Seasonal programs equals seasonal work. There's not enough positions for everyone to transition to other work or programs during the rest of the year, so only the last few standing with the best numbers are offered a position to continue.

    Institute of Reading Development2018-06-04
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Holiday, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've worked for the Institute for 6 years, working full time for 4-6 months per year, with increased earnings each year. First year was the hardest. The training is intensive and ongoing throughout the season. The trainers and team supervisors are strictly business. If we succeed, they succeed. I've read some negative reviews from other employees - every one I read were first year employees. They haven't been with... the Institute long enough to know what they are talking about. They were told from the start this is a seasonal position. They were also told that they would be offered longer positions possibly leading to full time as their skills improved. Every one of the supervisors started out as seasonal as Enrollment Coordinators or Customer Service, now full time. The Institute is in its 48th year for a reason. Dedication to teaching reading, professional, honest, highest standards. Can I say more?

    Show More

    Cons

    Seasonal. If you are looking for a full time position from the start, this is not for you. If you are looking for a high salary this is not for you.

    Advice to Management

    Do more to filter out EC's that misrepresent and do not adhere to training.

    Institute of Reading Development2018-05-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Enrollment Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great ongoing training and support

    Cons

    Very low pay for a sales position of this caliber

    Advice to Management

    Suggest to upper management to restructure commission. Your company is losing a lot of great sales professionals, this equates to BIG time revenue loss especially for a seasonal company such as yours.

    Institute of Reading Development2018-04-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Call Center Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Fresno, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working remotely and being at home.

    Cons

    With understanding that these reviews must be fair, this system should also be fair in that when employees are asked their opinion, their opinions should be weighed against those that are in opposition. Companies write reviews to overshadow, either positive or negative, the reviews written by people who have had both types of experiences. That being said, without the intent to pulverize the reputation of this... company, this is just to bring some information forward that will enable job seekers to see all sides. This company is a great company because the program helps students read more efficiently, building comprehension along the way. Great! But, this is a CALL CENTER JOB. Work is remote, so troubleshooting IT problems is up to the EC most of the time. Bonuses are not easy to get. EC's must receive a large minimum amount of phone calls in a week to qualify and most of the time this qualifier is not met. So promises of $20 to $30 an hour is very difficult to achieve. Events outside your control, i.e. dropped calls or hangups , customers refusing to give personal information , short calls , ready hours and other metrics again cannot be met without making the basic call minimum. Meetings with supervisors occurs about once a month, so there is no performance feedback. Hours are less than 40 hours, and then emails are sent out almost requiring that employees fill in their time on days off. Marketing materials make the program seem a free, but it isn't. Parents find out the cost when they call in making sales nearly impossible to achieve.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve your marketing materials and sales approach.

    Institute of Reading Development2018-04-20
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not What it's cracked up to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home and pay was on time.

    Cons

    You are basically lying to parents trying to get them to purchase an average reading program for $300 to $350 bucks. There is no price on the flyer, so parents call in thinking that the program is free. You then have to try and convince the parent, by reading this long, mundane script, that this program is for their child. Even if the parent wants to speak with his/her spouse first, you are then required to probe... the parent with WHY they want to discuss spending over $300 for a reading program. They offer the opportunity to work a split shift, but when you request it, they NEVER honor your request. So you are left working 7.5 hours straight reading that long script. By the end of the day, you are beyond burnt out. The trainers were blunt and did not come to help. They were there to teach you to sale and that't it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None

    Institute of Reading Development2018-05-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Don't waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Lafayette, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home Can work in your underwear

    Cons

    Very little assistance when you ask for help.

    Advice to Management

    Listen when someone reaches out with specific questions; don't just fire them.

    Institute of Reading Development2018-04-27
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Unprofessional Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Vancouver, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work from home.

    Cons

    This company has rigid trainers who are cold, uncaring, and unsupportive. My very first day, the trainer was already calling people out while we were in a group meeting with everyone (and everyone could hear). As an example: because it was our first day, one of my fellow employees accidentally sent a message to the wrong place. Their response was "Don't let it happen again." This type of response was all too... common. A couple of days later, I was role playing with one of my fellow trainees. She was struggling with the (crappy) software, and one of the trainers was listening in. She cut in and in a very unhelpful manner said "I don't understand why you are using a laptop that very clearly does not support this software. IF you are to continue with us, you are going to have to get this fixed..." At that point, I could hear how the other trainee was getting stressed. I offered to drop off the call so they could talk in private, but the trainer insisted I stay. Finally the last day, I had my own set of technical issues. The woman who called was so rude to me, I finally told her "I don't appreciate your tone of voice, nor have I ever been treated this way during a training. You call people out in front of others, put them to shame, and have unprofessional inappropriate training practices." Not long after that she dropped off the call. I quit the job after this, because I was so stressed from that point on I realized I wasn't retaining anything in the training. I would compare the managers and trainers to "mean girls". Very crappy attitude, not positive or helpful, and ready to drop you at a moments notice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try to imagine caring about the people you are training for this position. Don't put people in the position of training others if they can't show patience, and be courteous to people. I've never been talked down to as a new employee like this before and it's not worth it.

    Institute of Reading Development2018-04-06
Found 142 reviews