Institute of Reading Development Reading Teacher Reviews | Glassdoor

Institute of Reading Development Reading Teacher Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
40%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Institute of Reading Development CEO Doug Evans (no image)
Doug Evans
4 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Rewarding & Intense Summer Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Reading Teacher in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Personally, I loved working for IRD. Their employees were exceptionally friendly, and I found that all my answers and problems were solved quickly. This is extremely important as teaching days can be hectic. My summer flew by but I received many smiles, hugs, and fist bumps which made the stress worth it. If you have a passion for teaching and want experience in the classroom, this is a great job.

    Cons

    There may be a lot of driving involved, which can be stressful. I drove over an hour every teaching day; however, I was compensated after the 45 min. mark. I would have preferred to drive less and that was the worst part of the job for me.

    Advice to Management

    I really enjoyed my time with the Institute of Reading Development. In my experience, the management does a great job of caring for its teachers and therefore its students. I only wish I could have stayed on longer!

    Institute of Reading Development2019-10-24
  2. "A bit misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reading Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, lots of training, hotline to call for help

    Cons

    Expensive for parents, hundreds of pounds of materials are mailed to your house, the interview process was misleading as to what the position actually entails, they want you to drink the corporate koolaid

    Advice to Management

    Be more clear upfront about what the job entails. There is a lot of driving, extra hours for calling parents and inputting data, and a lot of things that students and parents need are not in the training. Spend one day talking about answering parent's questions and how to help special needs children, and this will be a much better experience. At least half of my kids in each class were special needs, if not more.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-10-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Position for College Students Looking to Make A Little Cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reading Teacher in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience with all age groups

    Cons

    This is only a position for college students who live at home. It won't pay your bills and doesn't leave you enough time for a 2nd job.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-07-26
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Great kids, Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Reading Teacher 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They advertise this (at least in my area) as a summer job where you can make 6 to 8k in 10 weeks with no experience and any degree...and it's really true. I had teaching experience plus two degrees directly related, but many of my colleagues didn't. And they really do pay you well, especially for a recent graduate or grad student. They reimburse you for everything and pay you for every little task. The money is one... of the best parts. On top of that, a lot of my struggling students really do improve and almost all the entering kindergartners leave the program reading. I actually teared up when my first set of students left. You make great bonds with the kids and really do help them. They seem to like the books and the format of the lessons, and parents do, too.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a seasonal full time job. Expect to teach 6 and 8 hour days carrying boxes and boxes of materials and then drive 45 minutes home and have to input data for like a half hour before reviewing your lesson plans for the next day... It's a lot. It makes sense that most of the teachers are in their young 20s because no one else has the time. They pretty much expect you to have no life in the summer and even on... your off days may call you in to sub. Their logistics team is also pretty disorganized, between getting you the right amount of materials, to having you park a mile away from your actual teaching site (remember, you have to drag boxes of materials to each classroom). Someone else said this in their review, too, that all the people that work there (supervisors and higher-ups) are creepily happy and enthusiastic all the time. It doesn't comes off as genuine and makes the company seem culty. Also, some of the books are outdated and have some racist/sexist elements.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There's got to be a better way to get materials to students than the current trading system. Update some of these older books to ones that don't include racial stereotypes and get some with girl main characters! Every book from 4K to 11th grade has a male main character! Even the books about animals are all male

    Institute of Reading Development2018-08-18
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Reading teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Reading Teacher in Fayetteville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development for less than a year

    Pros

    All training was paid and paychecks were delivered promptly.

    Cons

    This company is a scam. I accepted this job offer during the spring of my second year of graduate school. It was definitely strange that a teaching position was seeking applicants in December, and that I was already hired in February, but I was so excited to have a good teaching job lined up for the summer. Most institutions don't post teaching jobs until May or June, so already having a job lined up by February... made me very happy. I was even more excited when boxes full of novels and lesson plans, my training materials, arrived at my door. Months after taking the job, a supervisor let me know that I would not be teaching in the town I live in due to low enrollment; I had to teach an hour away from where I live, but I'd get reimbursed for travel. It sounded like a good gig. After one week of online training, I thought I was doing well. I received positive feedback from my trainer and my peers. Then, I was fired unexpectedly. As someone who taught for two years at a public university and received excellent evaluations, and as someone who's never been fired before, I was in shock. I politely asked my trainer why, but she failed to elaborate. I asked her if it was clear to her that I had been working hard, and she told me yes. Then, I learned that four other people in my group had also been let go. These people had shown up to meetings punctually, just as I had. Then, it dawned on me that the company was overhiring. They hire teachers in February months before they close enrollment for their summer classes, so they have no idea how many students they'll have when they hire their teachers. Then, they make cuts right before the teaching term starts. I thought it was suspicious that my training pay was only $8 an hour, and my teaching pay was going to be $15 per hour. That's because they overstaff, then cut from their training groups. I read reviews on Glassdoor from people who said the same thing happened to them,

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I had counted on making at least $6,000 this summer. Then, I was suddenly fired, with no warning or even negative criticism. This is a poor way to treat people who worked hard through training and depend on this income. Fix your system, and hire the amount of instructors you need.

    Institute of Reading Development2018-05-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Reading Instuctor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Reading Teacher 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training, reasonable hours, good pay for something temporary. The supervisors are likable and readily available to help you. Great for people who like working with kids

    Cons

    Work is very challenging. You need to be very comfortable working with kids and maintaining a high energy level all day

    Institute of Reading Development2017-06-17
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Job is great; Company sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Reading Teacher in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development for less than a year

    Pros

    Classes rewarding; kids are great; teaching experience; exhaustive and useful training

    Cons

    treat their employees badly, fire with no cause or notice, useless/no feedback

    Advice to Management

    When you make such serious demands on your employees, you will get better results and more applicants if you actually make them feel valuable.

    Institute of Reading Development2017-01-27
  8. Helpful (3)

    "The most intelligent and compassionate company I've ever had the privilege to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Reading Teacher in Riverside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Warm and direct guidance on becoming an effective teacher, excellent pay, high standards, great co-workers, thorough training, exemplary support, and ground-breaking curriculums and materials

    Cons

    Challenging both intellectually and logistically. Sometimes it's hard to know how to best support all students' accessing and excelling at various levels of reading development.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work you do!

    Institute of Reading Development2016-10-02
  9. "A Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Summer Reading Teacher 

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development

    Pros

    Training is excellent and support is always available when needed. This is an excellent company to work for!

    Cons

    I have nothing bad to say about this company.

    Institute of Reading Development2016-09-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A well-oiled, efficient staff and method"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Reading Teacher 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Timely issuance of paychecks, Open communication between all levels of employees, Effective teacher training videos, Excellent advice from former teachers, Perfect for graduate students during the summer, Excellent culture and values

    Cons

    There is the possibility to get fired during training, Not a long-term opportunity

    Institute of Reading Development2016-05-20
Found 35 reviews