Institute of Reading Development Reviews | Glassdoor

Institute of Reading Development Reviews

Updated Oct 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Institute of Reading Development CEO Doug Evans (no image)
Doug Evans
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "IRD offers work from home phone jobs concerning sales that don't make me feel like a shark(in 115 reviews)

  • "You might also be able to continue on to work for IRD in the fall in other capacities(in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • "IRD is upfront about that---they will make that clear throughout the process(in 24 reviews)

  • "The script you had to use was a book(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Great company to work for--demanding but rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher in New York, NY

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You receive excellent training (for which you are paid) and you have superior support and guidance throughout your 10 weeks of summer work. You might also be able to continue on to work for IRD in the fall in other capacities. The pay rate if decent, and you can make a lot of money over the summer (and there's overtime pay, since the hours in a week are often longer than 40). It's excellent experience for... teaching at any level, including college. Great work not only for graduating seniors but for graduate students as well. You also get to work independently for those 10 weeks--so you both have strong supervision but also a sense of freedom and independence.

    Show More

    Cons

    I wouldn't consider these "cons"--just things of which to be aware. The training is online and it's full time for about 3+ weeks. The summer work is tough---as in, it requires discipline and commitment. And to be sure, working with young folks at all age levels has its challenges at times (keeping them in their seats! e.g.) and it can be exhausting. IRD is upfront about that---they will make that clear... throughout the process. You have to be prepared to give up your summer to this work. You get paid for your prep time as well as in-class time. So the hard work is compensated---that doesn't make it less exhausting though. You also have to have a vehicle---the sites require vehicle travel since you're hauling a lot of books back and forth. You have to be disciplined with time on the days you teach--and organized. Some travel time can be long---you are compensated for anything above 45 mins one-way--aka your commute (and all other travel expenses like tolls and parking fees are covered by IRD).

    Show More
    Institute of Reading Development2019-02-01
  2. "Great Summer Job if you love reading and Kids"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Fresno, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, opportunity for travel, fulfilling work

    Cons

    Mostly weekend work, non consecutive days off sometimes

    Institute of Reading Development2019-08-28

    Institute of Reading Development Response

    September 11, 2019Institute of Reading Development

    Thank you for leaving a review. I’m glad you found your work teaching kids reading skills to be fulfilling. I appreciate your contributions our teaching staff this summer. - John Boyd, Director of Instruction

  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Really great seasonal sales position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Novato, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Making a difference for students and parents Good money Part-time hours for full-time pay

    Cons

    Seasonal Commission only with a guarantee, but no base plus commission structure which is preferred

    Advice to Management

    Go back to hourly plus commission for higher morale

    Institute of Reading Development2019-10-11
  5. "A bit misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reading Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, lots of training, hotline to call for help

    Cons

    Expensive for parents, hundreds of pounds of materials are mailed to your house, the interview process was misleading as to what the position actually entails, they want you to drink the corporate koolaid

    Advice to Management

    Be more clear upfront about what the job entails. There is a lot of driving, extra hours for calling parents and inputting data, and a lot of things that students and parents need are not in the training. Spend one day talking about answering parent's questions and how to help special needs children, and this will be a much better experience. At least half of my kids in each class were special needs, if not more.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-10-15
  6. "There's better straight commish jobs than this one."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good product and lots of leads. Although the lead is generated under the idea it's as a free service.

    Cons

    I had my best week in sales and they fired me...err..."laid me off". I went on to become a top producer at another straight commission job where I'm consistently top 10 out of 140 reps. They don't know how to judge or keep their talent.

    Advice to Management

    Judging people by their data entry skills over sales skill is bad mistake.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-10-16
  7. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time

    Pros

    The work with the kids is very rewarding

    Cons

    You will likely work on the weekends

    Institute of Reading Development2019-09-07

    Institute of Reading Development Response

    September 11, 2019Institute of Reading Development

    Thank you for the work you did with students this summer. We appreciate you leaving a review. - John Boyd, Director of Instruction

  8. Helpful (1)

    "I have been employed for 10 years straight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enrollment Coordinator in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I'm reading these reviews and thinking... hmm these people did not get the concept of discovering the real issue behind the child's needs and knowing how to apply what we really do to help them. I read one review that said the script was 5 pages long. Wrong. Every script is 1 page. But guess what? I never use a script anymore because I have attended several of the classes with my little granddaughter and I can... describe what happens there. And it is magic. My 8-year-old granddaughter is in a gifted program and is reading James Patterson's books meant for 15-year-olds because of our program. The pros: work from your home office, very flexible schedule, helping frustrated parents and struggling children, feeling great about your work. Also, I have many health problems and they have worked with me above and beyond. As far as seasonal work goes, if you are great at your job and listened to their critiques, you can work from February to October. The people who think $370 is a lot of money for an excellent reading program are often hesitant, lack confidence, or the sales ability to make it happen and are laid off first. This is a wonderful job with really caring people.

    Show More

    Cons

    The biggest con I can think of is you do get excellent PAID training, but you have to be a self-starter, login on time, take breaks on time and reach out to your supervisor if you feel overwhelmed or like you are on an island on your own. They will make time for you and will listen to your calls and give feedback. No benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Change the repetitive yearly training for veterans. It's so boring!

    Institute of Reading Development2019-07-18

    Institute of Reading Development Response

    July 24, 2019Executive Assistant to the VP

    Thank you very much for your honest and overwhelmingly positive review. It sounds like you really understand the approach that I want all of our coordinators to take with their sales. I know that our coordinators help a lot of parents and make a difference for a lot of students every year. I appreciate you returning to work for us for so many years look forward to having you back. - Tiffany Gilbert, Sales Manager

    Show Less
  9. "Was not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Phone Sales in Remote, OR
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home and you could use a Mac computer.

    Cons

    Too much talking. The script you had to use was a book.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-07-18

    Institute of Reading Development Response

    July 24, 2019Executive Assistant to the VP

    A big part of our sales job is talking to parents about their children's reading challenges and helping them select a program that meets their needs. It sounds like this was not a good fit for you. I wish you the best of luck in your future. - Tiffany Gilbert, Sales Manager

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Position for College Students Looking to Make A Little Cash"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reading Teacher in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Experience with all age groups

    Cons

    This is only a position for college students who live at home. It won't pay your bills and doesn't leave you enough time for a 2nd job.

    Institute of Reading Development2019-07-26

    Institute of Reading Development Response

    August 27, 2019Institute of Reading Development

    We require all of our teachers to have a completed undergraduate degree prior to teaching for us. Many of our instructors have or are working toward graduate degrees. Our teaching positions are a full-time summer commitment and we compensate teachers accordingly. - John Boyd, Director of Instruction

    Show Less
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Creepy and cultish"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Institute of Reading Development full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free books as part of training

    Cons

    The staff and supervisors here are all extremely rigid and creepy. They expect you to agree with every single aspect of the curriculum and do not accept any independent thinking or new insights. Training (online video chats where trainees have to roleplay teaching and are critiqued in front of their colleagues) is cringe-inducing and overly strict. This company is not looking to develop or grow. It is stuck in... its cultish ways and is just looking for new recruits to bully into submission. Employees are completely disposable to them. If you genuinely want to teach or help children, seek out a nonprofit or school program. This company only cares about profit.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop

    Institute of Reading Development2019-06-28

    Institute of Reading Development Response

    July 2, 2019Executive Assistant to the VP

    It is disheartening that you write off the sincere enthusiasm, pride, and teamwork exhibited by Institute employees as ‘cultish’. We all care a great deal about helping students develop into stronger readers. We give all new teachers a preview of the training process, including modeling lessons, in an orientation which allows them to confirm that the job is a good fit well in advance. It seems like the responsibilities of the job aren’t sitting well with you. I encourage you to give me a call so that we can discuss your concerns. I'd like to understand your experience and offer any help I can. - John Boyd, Director of Instruction

    Show Less
Found 308 reviews