Cover image for Instructure
Logo

Instructure

Is this your company?

Instructure

Add a Review

Instructure Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Jul 25, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 340 of over 664 reviews
3.4
63% Recommend to a Friend
Instructure CEO Steve Daly
63% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 664 reviews

3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Instructure CEO Steve Daly
Steve Daly
69 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

560

77 Comments

Tech

634.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Instructure~582803
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Instructure? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Instructure employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great benefits and unlimited approved time off(in 92 reviews)
  • "Great people working on a strong product(in 81 reviews)
  • "The culture is great!(in 67 reviews)
  • "A fun place to work, great leadership, a product that is easy to be passionate about(in 24 reviews)
  • "The Benefits and all the free food(in 22 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management(in 22 reviews)
  • "Upper management is aggressive about numbers and tight statistics(in 12 reviews)
  • "Major layoffs after TB purchase.(in 9 reviews)
  • "I had 5 managers in a period of 18 months(in 9 reviews)
  • "In the year and 5 months that I worked in the position I had 4 different supervisors none of which, except the last one I had actually had a real idea of how to take the reigns of the position and be a true leader.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Instructure and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Good benefits, but they are restructuring in a way that I did not like.

    Jan 17, 2021 - Customer Service in Layton, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The benefits are good. Co workers are super cool

    Cons

    Upper management is changing things that are causing problems for those below them.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Starts out great, ends with alot of unfulfilled promises.

    Sep 16, 2020 - L1 Customer Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, Coworkers are good people.

    Cons

    Mangers and upper management is a disaster.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Instructure team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    It was great. Until it wasn't.

    Mar 11, 2020 - Software Engineer in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've never worked with a more talented and caring group of people. Team leads were deeply invested in the success and growth of their reports. Great work-life balance. Hard to beat the benefits.

    Cons

    Lots of opaqueness in upper management. Inexplicable decision-making around org structure (and restructure...) and process. Feedback was asked for, but never listened to. It seems like weird office politics started filling gaps left by changing leadership and process. The culture that used to dominate is quickly evaporating. What used to be one of the best places to work in Utah is devolving into something unrecognizable.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Not what is used to be

    Jul 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Cottonwood Heights, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's still a great culture and I enjoy the people I work with. Canvas is still a great product.

    Cons

    Once the buyout happened the quality tanked. Raises are terrible. Upper management has ruined what used to be great about Instructure. It's all about making money for our masters. I used to take pride in my job and being part of something great. Instructure was the best job I've had. I now dread every single day and wish I could love it again. I miss loving my job and being excited to go to work everyday.

    6 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Not What It Once Was

    Feb 25, 2021 - Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote, Decent Support Pay, Some Benefits

    Cons

    Changes in ownership and upper management have different standards and priorities than Instructure of old. Have become nothing more than a number.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Software Engineer

    Jul 7, 2014 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The culture is great! Its an eduction company that focus on all levels of education, I learned a ton while working here.

    Cons

    Some of the upper management is not what I would call high quality. The CEO is openly offensive and sexist. A few of the HR take for ever to get back to you on stuff.

    7 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Doesn't recognize Individuals

    Aug 26, 2020 - L1 Technical Support Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Had a great culture and environment for the first half of my time there. Coworkers are actually good people, more than work friends. Someone always has an answer to your question and rarely do you feel belittled by asking.

    Cons

    Feels like everything is always in Freefall. Scheduling and shift bids were a joke, the platform of Canvas itself had so many issues working with other schools API's that many times we just had to apologize to the user and say 'call your school'. No transparency. If you're not a supervisor or higher (or friends with one), you have no idea whats going on. Suddenly everything is going to change. Then it wont for 6 months. Then it will change out of nowhere and with so many bugs. Employees who shine are not recognized. I saw it with myself and with at least 7 other employees. They are not recognized for their work, they are not compensated well enough, they are overlooked for promotions. This is because they would rather have those good workers, in their current position, because they perform so well. They will hire and promote from the outside when upper management has been telling employees they will be the next to be promoted for years.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Overworked, Underappreciated and Underpaid

    Jul 25, 2021 - Overworked, Underappreciated and Underpaid in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of your coworkers will rock and the good ones will leave (Which they should, lots of talent is ditching this dud of a company) The remaining benefits are decent, however nothing worth joining this company for. Look else where. Your pay will suck.

    Cons

    Benefits are being stripped. The company is getting sold again soon. Upper management wont care and never will.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee

    “Management” is aggressive and hostile

    Aug 9, 2022 - Tier I Technical Support 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits (plenty of jobs offer benefits though) Occasional downtime Multiple shifts to pick from

    Cons

    Management will invade your privacy. The culture is toxic and the turn over rate is high. Diversity and inclusion only exists in text on their marketing materials. Management creates an overly competitive atmosphere by trying to pit employees against each other. Training is trial by fire. Mental health is not a priority (for employees or management). They conduct numerous surveys but not for the purpose of improvement (for blacklisting and targeting “problem employees”). Slack etiquette is a forgotten policy. HR doesn’t investigate reported issues, they exacerbate them. There is little to no transparency. Passive aggressive and belittling management style. There is a virtual Peep and Tom somewhere in the IT department. If you value your privacy as a woman don’t work here. The behavior is encouraged by upper management. This is actually the worst job I’ve ever had. I heard good things about this company but I haven’t seen them yet. I don’t think this is a good company to invest your time in at all.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  11. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Fun for the first 6 months

    Mar 29, 2022 - L1 Support Technician 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fun culture if you can get to know people there and have a good supervisor

    Cons

    Hard to get time off Upper management is aggressive about numbers and tight statistics Supervisors are not held accountable Culture makes you feel babysat Growing pains: they have acquired lots more schools without adding enough agents to handle it all

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 16 of 16 English Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Instructure Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Instructure? Share Your Experiences

Instructure logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Instructure Photos

+ Add Photo
Instructure photo of: Workspace
Instructure photo of: Reception
Instructure photo of: Workplace
Instructure photo of: Workplace
Instructure photo of: Our Chicago views at night! Unreal.
Instructure photo of: Summer Activity with our Chicago team
Instructure photo of: Our view from our Chicago office!
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Instructure Job Seekers Also Viewed

Pluralsight Logo
Pluralsight

3.5

778 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 664 Instructure reviews submitted anonymously by Instructure employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Instructure is right for you.