Insurance Office of America Reviews | Glassdoor

Insurance Office of America Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 79 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Heath Ritenour
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "All the work is dumped on the Account Managers who have to handle everything(in 6 reviews)

  • "Do not enjoy Atlanta traffic, this has nothing to do with IOA, just my least favorite part of what I do(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer in Longwood, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture and contract. Best place to work for producers

    Cons

    Marketing materials could be better.

    Insurance Office of America2019-04-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "CSR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Longwood, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits. They provide free breakfast on Tuesday and want to have a fun culture

    Cons

    So many cliques (starting at the top) Managers have their favorites. Working at the corporate office, upper management is focused on attracting millennials more so than correcting the high school cattiness and team sabotage. Acct Mgrs are overworked and under supported.

    Advice to Management

    Having lunch with your staff will not change your culture. Managers don’t care what your talents are, they’re only interested in the work production.

    Insurance Office of America2019-06-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "If you’re a producer or in sales, you’re golden. Everyone else is a pee-on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Mary, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-Workers are great. They keep things lighthearted.

    Cons

    The Sales team in Lake Mary (all men) were told to “take the edge off” by doing something fun for 15 minutes an hour. They were told it makes them more productive and keeps the mood positive. On the other side of the office (all women) were disciplined for getting out of our seats or chit chatting as it’s “unprofessional to have humorous conversation in the work place. The workload is atrocious and some people are doing...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people. Your SBU staff is way over worked.

    Insurance Office of America2019-05-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Wild West"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Agent in Longwood, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Favoritism can be positive for some!

    Cons

    Dysfunctional business model lacking inclusion, diversity and consistency. It’s all about who you know .... hope you know someone good or you will be a #.

    Advice to Management

    The size of your organization warrants more women at the top ... big indicator of the “real culture” and not the social media version!

    Insurance Office of America2019-05-25
  5. Helpful (4)

    "It's about time for the truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    IOA used to be a great company to work for! The Ritenour's are stand up people and really care about their people

    Cons

    Unfortunately some of the management team in place does not tell the truth and only looks out for their people. I was a member of management and left on my own! I could no longer support such crap and got tired of how some were treated.

    Advice to Management

    There is no need to tell you who to get rid of because they have been told over and over again. IOA has lost a number of valuable employees that actually cared about IOA while the ones that really don't are still there.

    Insurance Office of America2019-05-10
  6. "Full Time for 1 yr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Assistant 

    I have been working at Insurance Office of America full-time

    Pros

    -flexible work schedule -office activities -time off

    Cons

    There really aren't that many cons. Management isn't very reliable.

    Insurance Office of America2019-02-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Account Manager in Longwood, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Employees are valued and respected. Many fun perks throughout the year. Upper management solicits and listens to employees comments and opinions and suggestions for improvement. Competitive salaries and great benefit package.

    Cons

    Heavy workloads can sometimes be overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to listen to your valued employees and provide assistance when workloads necessitate it. Provide appropriate staffing to support workload required.

    Insurance Office of America2019-01-24
  8. "Production is self discipline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Insurance Agent in Wall Township, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great support staff, upper management is there if you need them, they leave the producer’s alone to write business

    Cons

    So far there are none.

    Advice to Management

    No comments to management at present

    Insurance Office of America2019-01-18
  9. "Account Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Insurance Office of America full-time

      Pros

      Great people to work with.

      Cons

      The database they use is not very organized.

      Insurance Office of America2018-11-05
    • "Good company with a lot of growth opportunities."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Manager in Longwood, FL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Insurance Office of America full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great company! Always looking for better ways to do things. Listens to employees and seem to care.

      Cons

      I have no Cons at this time. Every company has improvements that they can make.

      Insurance Office of America2018-10-01
    Found 79 reviews