Intelligent Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Intelligent Energy Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Intelligent Energy Chief Executive Officer David Woolhouse (no image)
David Woolhouse
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Due Dilligence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Intelligent Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very good work life balance

    Cons

    Terrible strategy, poor management, no urgency

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2016-05-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great technology, poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Intelligent Energy full-time

    Pros

    - Great team of people - Good base salary - Opportunity to be involved with emerging technology - Technology on the brink of commercialisation - Some great products based on this technology

    Cons

    - Minimal benefits - 40 hour week - Leadership unable to land commercially viable business deals - Poor/inappropriate business processes leading to significant waste - Culture of pushing people out of the business who try to drive positive change

    Intelligent Energy2016-05-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "New direction needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Intelligent Energy full-time

    Pros

    Talented employees Challenging and interesting environment Clever technology Plenty of potential

    Cons

    Poor or wrong direction from the top Lack of consistent strategy Crazy complex organisation

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2016-05-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lost the vision along the path"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Intelligent Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance Good culture Competitive salary and benefits

    Cons

    Management lost sight of the overall vision and believe must have looked at short term profits than longer term investment! Too many internal restructuring during my period and too many unfocused activities within engineering.

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2016-04-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, great technology, great company culture... poor executive leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Trainee in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intelligent Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The working atmosphere and culture is great, lots of smart, passionate people. The company is diverse and has a large proportion of young people. The social opportunities are great. The technology really is interesting to work on. The applications are diverse and ethically rewarding. There is lots of opportunity for pursuing your own ideas and taking initiative is supported and rewarded. This ultimately made the job a good one as the work was engaging and dynamic.

    Cons

    The company thinks it is bigger and more mature than it really is. There is a lot of money, effort, resources and focus put into implementing processes and systems that are unnecessary. Training is significantly under delivered. As a graduate trainee, the expectation is that training should be even more if a focus, yet very little training was delivered over my scheme and the schemes of my colleagues. If I am not trained to do my job, then I can't do it effectively. Ultimately this comes down to lack of budget. The salary for the graduate program is not competitive compared to others, and within the company the roles given to graduates are representative of a higher pay grade. Being a r&d company funded by investors, there is a culture of 'spend whatever you want, it's not our money' which translates in real life to 'spend more money than we have or can afford'. Unfortunately this has gone unchecked and the employees have been the ones to pay the price in the form of redundancies.

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2016-04-05
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ambitious growth that often lacks clear direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Intelligent Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing rapidly and after recent overhauls there is growing realisation that people are valuable assets with responsibility being given when desired. Exciting growth industry with huge potential if the technology works properly and is sold correctly

    Cons

    Confusing direction from management, often contradicting strategy just a couple of months old. Poor benefits compared to industry peers. Internal politics are rife.

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2015-12-14
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Delivery Challenged Organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intelligent Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the most intelligent researchers and engineers in the alternative energy industry can be found here.

    Cons

    Woefully incapable leadership; not able to focus and execute. Much more interested in "show" rather than "delivery". Appear to be going through another severe restructuring exercise. Integrity not as high as it should be.

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2015-11-24
  8. "Good technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Design Engineer II in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intelligent Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company for anybody who whant to work in new and clea energy. You will work with passionnated peoples which is good for young people.

    Cons

    The organization is sometime unclear and everything become suddenly a priority which cause mistakes.

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2015-09-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "It's ok, poor upper management though."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Loughborough, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intelligent Energy full-time

    Pros

    Collegiate atmosphere, good community for the younger staff, projects can be exciting in research. Management is pretty relaxed, don't work you with a whip.

    Cons

    Direction is poor, projects lack a true path to a profitable product. Horizontal communication is poor, often don't know what others are doing or how my work fits in with everyone else.

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2015-08-22
  10. Helpful (6)

    "So much potential, needs new leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Loughborough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intelligent Energy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people. Smart people. Good atmosphere among staff. Flexible working hours so you can make up time Monday to Thursday and leave earlier on Friday. Home working for people not located close to the office.

    Cons

    Terrible leadership. Constantly changing direction and strategy (if they actually come up with one). Senior management and board don't take on feedback from people below who have valid reasoning for their suggestions. I think the CEO needs replacing because the company needs a fresh start, fresh vision and direction. The CEO thinks he is Steve Jobs and whilst he is enthusiastic he isn't inspirational anymore and needs to stop drinking his own Kool Aid. The company has potential but needs new leadership to drive it forward. Morale is declining fast.

    Continue reading
    Intelligent Energy2015-07-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 34 reviews