InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews in Atlanta, GA | Glassdoor

InterContinental Hotels Group Atlanta Reviews

Updated October 10, 2017
159 reviews

Filter

Filter

Atlanta, GA

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Keith Barr
12 Ratings

159 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • None overall; consider work-life balance contingent on the position as some roles require extensive travel (in 23 reviews)

  • long hours and arguments with others (in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great culture, most people are very friendly and open - not sure if it is the industry, since working in hospitality and being successful in it requires certain type of personality. I loved the fact that my team consisted of people from all over the world, great for different cultures exposure. I really enjoyed the benefits - 401 K match, cheap employee rates on over 5000 hotels, really nice health insurance and great food being brought to the office almost daily. The company works hard on their employer brand and cares for the employees. Most managers strongly enforce work -life balance, while some teams may struggle a bit with it.

    Cons

    Due to the fact that it is a global company, midnight or very early morning meetings with other regions were not uncommon. The company constantly made changes in structure resulting some positions to be eliminated. Decision making transparency is area that needs improvement. Most departments do no not communicate efficiently between each other, although efforts are made to bridge that gap.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency is always appreciated.

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    Oct 12, 2017 – Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello

    Thanks for taking the time to review working with us.

    It's great to read that you enjoyed your time at IHG. We agree that it's a real strength to have people from different countries... More


  2. "Super fun work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    boss customers and the staff I cant complain

    Cons

    I cant find any cons

    Advice to Management

    They are awesome

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello

    Thanks for leaving this review.

    It's great to hear that you're enjoying working at IHG and with your colleagues here too. Having a great team around you really makes a positive... More

  3. "Key Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Incredible company culture & flexibility

    Cons

    The workload volume can be heavy due to the ways of working currently set up, but IHG is actively trying to improve

    Advice to Management

    Decrease number of accounts to allow for greater influence and strategic account penetration

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    Oct 12, 2017 – Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello there

    Thanks for reviewing working at IHG.

    It's great to read that you are feeling the benefit of a flexible approach to working. Work/life balance is important to us. We believe that... More


  4. "Great place yo work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - IT Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Contractor - IT Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group as a contractor (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    As a contractor, I was treated like I was a full time employee and received some of the benefits that came along with that. When you work hard, you can plan hard. Great environment for collaboration and innovative technologies.

    Cons

    Not being able to work from home more then one day a week. With traffic and has prices going up, employees spend more time on the road then actually working.

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to work from home more.


  5. "Major Hotel Brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Cross functional and Diverse Company

    Cons

    Tends to micro-manage employees work

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees with open door policy to manage upward

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hello

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

    You are right, we're a global and diverse company. This can mean that our people have lots of opportunity to grow and travel with us... More


  6. "Director Insights and Analytics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director Insights and Analytics in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Director Insights and Analytics in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    IHG's business model is profitable and more sustainable compared to other industries
    Excellent career opportunities - IHG is a global company and it has over 5,200 hotels over 100 countries and 4 different regions
    Great work environment and culture! IHG cares a lot about employees.
    Very flexible workplace - schedule and location
    Senior leaders are opened minded - creative ideas are always welcomed

    Cons

    Slightly less pay compared to other industries (a tradeoff to flexibility)
    Health care plan is not as good as other industries

    Advice to Management

    Less planning more action
    We can operate with less people if we have clearer accountability and more focused priorities
    Get more qualified people and pay them more

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    Sep 13, 2017 – Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hi there

    Thanks for reviewing working with us.

    It's great that you enjoy and recognise the benefits of a positive culture and environment here.

    It's important to us that our senior... More


  7. "Positive Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Friendly, respectful coworkers
    Flexible schedule and ability to work from home
    IHG prefers to promote from within
    Hospitality is a fun industry

    Cons

    Not particularly innovative, company seems to reward mediocrity, risk-averse

  8. "Not the people-focused company it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Coworkers and people in general are great
    Great benefits

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about employees like they used to a few years ago
    Constant org changes
    A lot of turnover of long-tenured employees in the last 18 months
    Current leadership is not accessible like past leaders have been
    No longer live their posted values of "do the right thing" or "celebrate difference"

    Advice to Management

    You are in the hospitality industry, take care of your people, they will take care of your hotel owners and shareholders.

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    Oct 5, 2017 – Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hi there

    Thanks for taking the time to write this review.

    It's great that you enjoy working with your colleagues, we agree that good people are key to a great place to work.

    It's also good... More


  9. "Disorganized Structure. Treated well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love the people I work with at IHG. We have a lot of flexbility and this is a very "mom-friendly" company. We have WFH days and summer Fridays which are the things that keep me around day in and day out.

    Cons

    The company is incredibly disorganized with "re-orgs" every year. There are too many stakeholders and brand team directors and managers with little to no marketing or agency experience. They let agencies man-handle them into their big budget plans despite results being less than stellar year over year.

    Advice to Management

    Out with the old structure and in with the new. Look at what other travel verticals are doing and don't wait around for the less than hard workers to stick around.


  10. "VP, Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President, Finance in Atlanta, GA
    Former Employee - Vice President, Finance in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There are lots of smart people there which makes the environment intellectually stimulating. There is also a true hospitality spirit in the office.

    Cons

    The matrix is challenging to manage. While consensus is great, it's overdone at IHG. There are lots of "meetings before the meeting," etc. The company also seems to stay in a constant state of reorg.

    Advice to Management

    Streamline the organization and create clear lines of responsibility.

    InterContinental Hotels Group Response

    Sep 21, 2017 – Employer Brand Coordinator

    Hi there

    Thanks for leaving this review.

    It's great that you enjoyed working with your colleagues, we agree that our people are key to a great place to work and success too.

    Thanks for... More


Showing 159 of 1,454 reviews
Reset Filters