InterContinental Hotels Group Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
InterContinental Hotels Group CEO Keith Barr
Keith Barr
449 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "strenuous, long hours, vertical organisational structure(in 50 reviews)

  • "At this time, I have no cons to share(in 40 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Great culture with a leadership team committed to people and driving great business results!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Clear business strategy; IHG Board and Executive Committee committed and invested in employee development and engagement; great people/ culture; exciting to work for a truly global organization; ambitious company with innovative projects underway and in the pipeline

    Cons

    With a lot of priorities, important to effectively manage personal balance; and ensure clarity around ways of working and decision rights.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2019-08-21
  2. "Awesome people to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservation Sales Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You gonna enjoy the culture in ihg. There's life work balance and they have great benefits too.

    Cons

    I can't think of cons here but maybe the pay is low here.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-05-12
  3. "High standards, learned a lot at this job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Director 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits, management team was driven

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance, 60-80 hour weeks sometimes, challenging dynamics between many departments.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-06-01
  4. "Great company to work for"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance, great benefit, and good pay.

    Cons

    Very little room for growth.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-05-27
  5. "good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Company to work for.

    Cons

    not a lot of process documentation

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-05-22
  6. "A great company to work for long term or as a starting point"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent in Dickson City, PA

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is an improving brand that is starting to match the popularity of other big name hotel chains. They have a very organized brand system and an online training course for all staff.

    Cons

    Front desk job is long hours spent standing still. Sometimes the rewards points system was confusing or not well executed.

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-05-21
  7. "Easy job for the income"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Agent in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay - Complete control over personal tasks - Employee discounts

    Cons

    - Long night shift - Tricky system to learn

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-05-20
  8. "Horrible management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Fort Smith, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked to be off alone getting my tasks done for the day.

    Cons

    Too much drama, favoritism, inappropriate manager

    Continue reading
    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-06-02
  9. "Amazing company."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Clerk 
    Recommends

    I have been working at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - great company to start with if you're focused on career growth in the hospitality industry

    Cons

    - low salary for such a big amount of workload

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-05-15
  10. "Staffing Issues"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Overnight Manager in Austin, TX

    I worked at InterContinental Hotels Group full-time

    Pros

    Worked with good people, good benefits

    Cons

    We had staffing issues so on the overnight I was the only one but was still having to do the work of the front desk day staff along with audit

    InterContinental Hotels Group2020-05-19
Found 2106 reviews