InterSystems "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

InterSystems Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 24, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
InterSystems CEO Terry Ragon (no image)
Terry Ragon
122 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "not as many benefits as other tech companies, dress code if it's not your thing(in 10 reviews)

  • "The worst department is what they call Edition , no one is allowed to say a clear opinion or raise a complain(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at InterSystems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company culture where relationships matter. Brilliant ideas and people. Management understands having a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Not a lot to put here. Don't work here if you want to be the smartest person in the room.

    Continue reading
    InterSystems2016-09-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great Pay, Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterSystems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - InterSystems paid extremely well and had great benefits - They started to do more fun events at work to retain employees. I was able to have good work life balance when I worked there.

    Cons

    -The office environment at InterSystems is extremely formal and cold. As a tech company, they should consider relaxing their dress code to foster a more relaxed environment. - For being in the HealthCare space, it felt more like a traditional IT company stuck in the 90's. A lot of my co-workers didn't have much knowledge about the healthcare field, and it didn't feel like patient care was at the heart of the company - My manager had a temper and was extremely hostile. This made for an uncomfortable environment for even high performing staff. I was uncomfortable delivering any feedback for fear of retaliation.

    Continue reading
    InterSystems2020-01-24
  3. "nice company if planning to stay for long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) in Cambridge, MA

    I have been working at InterSystems for less than a year

    Pros

    good work-life balance, nice people

    Cons

    proprietary technology, products in maintenance mode

    InterSystems2019-08-06
  4. Helpful (5)

    "It's not what it appears to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Writer in Cambridge, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterSystems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent pay and bonus structure, good benefits, beautiful offices in Cambridge, good work/life balance

    Cons

    Open office environment for everyone but managers, dress code (NOT casual), pressure to attend after work get togethers & parties, odd cult-like environment, absolutely no jeans (not even jean material)

    Continue reading
    InterSystems2019-03-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company stuck in the 90s"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at InterSystems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a company that absolutely cares about its employees. It's not a job where people come and go regularly and it has excellent work life balance. They hire smart people and know that their engineers are the lifeblood of the company.

    Cons

    The technology that backs their core products is very dated. I found it very hard to ever get into a good workflow rhythm because most of the quality of life tools that developers are used to do not exist.

    Continue reading
    InterSystems2016-10-20
  6. "Pretty good firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterSystems

    Pros

    A good open door policy with a very supportive environment for development. Exciting projects to work with and a pretty good work life balance

    Cons

    The company is a bit old school and they need to be less strict about dress code and stuff especially for developers

    Continue reading
    InterSystems2016-09-09
  7. "Product Support Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at InterSystems

    Pros

    Great summer internship, worked with a class of about 20 other students. The company culture is fantastic and they make you feel very welcomed. Great work-life balance

    Cons

    Don't have any it was a great internship

    InterSystems2016-02-25
  8. "ISC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at InterSystems full-time

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    Parking at the building is very expensive. I would recommend public transportation.

    InterSystems2016-01-26
  9. "Exceeding every expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at InterSystems

    Pros

    Best possible work/life balance. Interesting intern projects. Good compensation.

    Cons

    Not able to wear jeans and shorts. Other than that, the best workplace I've ever had.

    InterSystems2015-09-21
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Great benefits, smart employees, good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at InterSystems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Great work life balance - there are standard working hours with generally no expectations of working outside of business hours. -PTO is generous and there are roughly 14 paid holidays each year also. -A detailed recruitment process ensures intelligent individuals are hired. I've noticed that smart people are an integral part of the company, and my colleagues are a pleasure to work with as they are collaborative, forward-thinking problem-solvers. -Strong benefits. The company offers generous medical and dental plans and provides various life and disability benefits to full-time employees (among other benefits). -The Cambridge office is very spacious, the decor is attractive, and the location is great (right by the Kendall Square T stop on the Charles River).

    Cons

    -Flexible working hours and working from home are not common. -The culture is a bit more conventional and formal compared to some tech companies (including dress code and social culture) which is fine with me but can be a drawback for some people since they expect something else from a software company.

    InterSystems2015-04-15

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 24 reviews