Interactions Reviews | Glassdoor

Interactions Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 198 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Interactions CEO Mike Iacobucci (no image)
Mike Iacobucci
102 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Once great but lost their soul"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Interactions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The software solution they provide once had so much potential. I really believed in the company before the negative business practices began . Some really good people still work there. At one point they rewarded innovation, promoted from within, and let performance speak for itself. It was a very rewarding place to work and I loved it there.

    Cons

    Beginning in 2013 they started going the wrong direction. Hiring mid to upper management from outside sources, shipping jobs overseas, and cutting every corner possible to save a buck. Anyone who cared about the quality of the product was gotten rid of or silenced. The quality and features that were being promised to clients was no longer possible due to outsourcing to non English native speaking countries.... Everyone who knew how to make this product work began leaving. At some point it became more about creating an illusion of a quality solution for the clients while they were watching than actually making the product good. Customers are routinely given manipulated data, doctored calls made to sound better than they are, and masterful sales pitches promising that the system will be tuned to be better over time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I am not sure if it is too late for you or not but here goes. Stop shipping jobs overseas. Provide a real quality product like you once did. Get rid of the Directors brought in from outside companies who ruined the call quality to begin with and do whatever it takes to get back the people you once had who cared and made the company great. It may be painful short term, but if you want long term success you need... to remember who you were and what you could have been.

    Show More
    Interactions2019-01-11
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Current Disgruntled employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Franklin, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I get a paycheck and I don't work that hard.

    Cons

    We are trying to hire a bunch of people right now, which explains the recent obviously fake positive Glassdoor reviews. Management is trying desperately to explain it away as disgruntled former employees. No! People are not happy and they know this. They refuse to do anything about it. Technology is lagging, sales cycle is ridiculously long. Culture is toxic. Chief People Officer is cancerous. Her team seem... nice enough but lacks a spine. Either they are afraid to share the voices of the people or they do and she ignores it. Either way, they are ineffective. Sales leadership is a close second. Suddenly the GD ratings have skyrocketed. Don't believe the hype. Nothing has improved.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advice to the board-disrupt the executive team. Talk to employees and listen to their feedback. Stop trying to act like this is typical start up growing pains and face the reality. Don't insult employees but brushing their concerns under the carpet. You look foolish with the GlassDoor PR stunt. Fix the problems and the result will be genuine positive reviews. "A leadership team who refuses to listen will... end up with people who have nothing to say."

    Show More
    Interactions2019-01-25
  3. Helpful (11)

    "High turnover happens for a good reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Franklin, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good healthcare, coffee, snack, and friendly receptionist

    Cons

    Very cliquey, at times racist and sexist. Very little processes. Management has little useful experience and does not tolerate descents or criticisms. If you decide to accept a position, inspite of the explicit warns, trust your instincts. Do not stay at this job thinking it will get better. It will not!!!! Read the years if bad reviews. They have been treating employees badly for a long time I wish I had taken... this adivce, but I have seen the light and have started a job search. Wish me luck...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The shareholders should replace the CEO with the intent of replacing the entire management staff. All the directors and up. You invested inthis company maybe you should keep an eye on the people runming it.

    Interactions2019-01-23
  4. Helpful (10)

    "Obsolete Tech and Toxic Culture. Don't believe the HR posts and "featured review"."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interactions full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Casual dress code and sometimes they buy food (but not enough) for employees?

    Cons

    A once innovative tech start-up back in 2004 that has devolved into a sales organization backed by venture capital that attempts to catch clients with long contracts. The technology is dated and going obsolete, and the company is unable to compete with Google, Microsoft, and Amazon as they enter the customer service IVR market. Stock options offered are worthless as the company has done nothing with them, while... employees are being drawn in by promises that they will "get rich quick" at some point in the future. Management is clueless and only worries about clients noticing the company cannot deliver what they promise. Turnover is astronomical and was attempted to be fixed by international outsourcing and contracting, while pay and benefits are not competitive. Burnout is common, the company is always hiring, and there is no company culture other than being thankful another day ended. Avoid this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The only option is to sell before the company goes obsolete. The re-inventing, re-branding, and acquisitions like clockwork cannot save the company.

    Interactions2019-01-21
  5. "Good Company with Some Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactions full-time

    Pros

    Good employee benefits packages and vacation policy. Interactions presents a unique opportunity to be part of the technology industry without having to move to the big tech cities which often affords employees a better work/life balance.

    Cons

    The typical pains that come with an ever evolving and growing company.

    Interactions2018-12-10
  6. Helpful (12)

    "Not enough characters allowed on Glassdoor to spell out the issues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Franklin, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactions full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    It is a great place to be if you want to hide and not have to do much. Also, at one point they had cool tech, but that time has come and gone. If you dont like change, this is the place for you. The company is exactly the same as they were 4 1/2 years ago.

    Cons

    The leadership team doesn't have experience in the AI space, so they don't understand what they are doing. The company has made two acquisitions in recent years, both have bombed and basically died out because of poor planning or lack of strategy. They simply don't understand the market. Amazon, Google, and others are killing them slowly. But they don't know it yet. This might be the only place I know that has... rock bottom employee engagement, but after trying to fix it actually made it worse. If you are considering joining in a Sr, position, don't bother unless you are friends with the board or the CEO. Even then your chances are survival are slim if you disagree or cross the exec team. This is not a tech company. This is a sales company that doesn't understand technology. Please know what you are getting into. If you are an engineer and looking to work on something innovative, be careful. Reach out to current and former employees on LinkedIn. It is well documented on here and other places that the best employees here leave pretty quickly, most leave within 2 years. The ones that don't cant because of golden handcuffs from acquisitions. Don't expect your superior to receive any leadership coaching or be accountable for poor leadership. They are mostly in position because they are friends with the CEO. You have a much higher chance of giving up and leaving before they will be held accountable for poor results or performance. If you care about the next 5 years of your career, go somewhere that embraces personal growth. If you are close to retirement and want to "hang out" somewhere, Interactions is the place. Caution: if you have longer than 5 years to retirement stay clear. My guess is that they won't outlast you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get acquired as soon as possible before the technology is completely antiquated. That way the employees at least get something out of it and have a chance of surviving at another company.

    Interactions2018-12-12
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Embedded Quality Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interactions part-time

    Pros

    Sometimes you can work on your own

    Cons

    Everything about this job is bad, location, work involved, workspace, the duties themselves. It is probably only slightly okay if you are a manager.

    Advice to Management

    Soon these jobs will be replaced with Machine learning, find a real job before then.

    Interactions2018-11-12
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Discriminatory & PURE EVIL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interactions full-time

    Pros

    They haven't been taken down by a lawsuit yet.

    Cons

    If I could write an essay, I would. But I don't have time for that. All I can say is that you must be super hard up for a job and cannot be hired anywhere else on this planet in order to land a job at Interactions. Your life will be sad and miserable.

    Advice to Management

    Hey, how about those legal things I brought up but you got away with? Think you're pretty crafty and above the law, huh?

    Interactions2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Company has potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interactions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was initially drawn to the start up culture, but through my tenure at Interactions the culture took a deep nose dive as the company grew. It ended with politics worse than some of my previous (large) employers, but none of the benefits. The people I immediately worked with were great - smart, diligent, and fun to be around. The product is very interesting and relevant. If upper management gets out of its own... way, it could be hugely successful.

    Show More

    Cons

    Mediocre benefits Worst communication from top down I've ever seen Very cliquey upper management, if you're not "in" with them, you're not relevant. Politics get in the way of good decisions Unclear promotion path, seems to be based on seniority at company and visibility to upper management Company goals are purely sales driven and not motivating to employees outside of the sales team

    Advice to Management

    Don't just talk about transparency, be transparent with employees. Align goals with all employees, if your bonus depends on it how can your role help? Get rid of the politics.

    Interactions2018-09-06
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Lack of desire to scale and improve from the top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Franklin, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many really In an old building that isn't anything special with a tight parking lot Do get coffee, soda, and seltzer (oh and free pretzels and animal crackers and some candy)

    Cons

    Very dysfunctional cross groups across the whole company. Upper management is very content to keep things the way they are and even laugh at the company survey change suggestions. Instead of changing process and making real change, they just want to slightly speed up the current process, even though they worked for a $10M company, they won't work for a $100M especially trying to get strong growth.

    Advice to Management

    Actually, do some real change, not just bringing in new execs. Empower the new execs to make real substation change in the company and break the tenured upper management out of their habbits. Bring back options, any new employees in the last year or so have zero desire to help company grow. I guess the execs didn't want to dilute their shares at all!

    Interactions2018-08-28
Found 198 reviews