Interactive Brokers Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Software Engineer

Interactive Brokers Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jul 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Interactive Brokers CEO Thomas Peterffy
Thomas Peterffy
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (21)

    "Great place to work for some breed of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Opportunities to learn and to grow - Opportunities to use your brain and see the result. There are moments of a great intellectual satisfaction, which are important for me - No red tape. I hate meetings and there are almost none - Superb compensation - 100% free health insurance IB is for you if you like to work and to get well paid for it and do not need anything else. I well understand negative reviews... but there are many other opportunities around. Find what is working for you. I found IB. I was stunned to see how many people are mentioning free lunch as a pro. Seriously? Is this important for you?

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a soulless place for introverts. IB is a money making machine and we are part of this mechanism. It works well for me but it is definitely not for everybody.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up! Let's put our stock price to the sky.

    Interactive Brokers2018-07-26
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Anti social company where no one care's about your opinion."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to hop to another company. Meaningful projects which look good on your resume.

    Cons

    Horrible management that will give you unrealistic deadlines. Antisocial atmosphere which will make you lonely. No one actually cares about your opinion.

    Interactive Brokers2019-02-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Smart Managers, Intense"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Senior people are all very smart.

    Cons

    Intense, and at times combative work environment.

    Advice to Management

    No advice.

    Interactive Brokers2018-01-22
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fixed hours. No need to work on weekends. Free lunch at desk.

    Cons

    Pathetic place to work. There is no scope for growth. Most of people here are either divorced or enjoying their Christmas all alone.

    Advice to Management

    Close this miserable blood sucking company.

    Interactive Brokers2017-12-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Overall nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Secure job (layoff very rare); relaxing working env; very nice coworkers; almost no politics; good location; good benefit; regular nine to five hours

    Cons

    Hard to gain promotion because of flat structure; pay increase slow; innovation not very encouraged; long incentive stock vesting period

    Advice to Management

    Put good new hired people in management to look at firm from fresh viewpoint

    Interactive Brokers2017-04-09
  6. Helpful (16)

    "work hard, get paid, go home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great place to learn and grow for smart, motivated, self-driven individuals. No bureaucracy, unnecessary meetings or ridiculous 360 year-end review process. Growth and compensation is based on merit. Responsibility and ownership is given quickly to people that want it and have proven they can handle it. Flat reporting structure. Vacation and sick day policy improved recently. Most (if not all) managers have grown... into their position organically. In short, working hard and smart is recognized and rewarded.

    Show More

    Cons

    Whether the below points are pros or cons is subjective : - no mobility across teams - not a place for individuals that require hand-holding - no classes or formal off-site learning events - few social events

    Advice to Management

    sharing company news and achievements in a monthly email would motivate employees

    Interactive Brokers2016-05-16
  7. Helpful (12)

    "The grass wasn't greener!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Very-unique culture suited for programmers (the company is run by the programmers) - You can see the immediate impact of your work - You have a chance to work on the best brokerage platform - The CEO is interested in getting feedback from new employers - There are no unnecessary meetings or conference calls - Very good medical benefits and the premium paid 100% by the company - Free lunch delivered directly... to the kitchen for you (fine print: you eat in front of your computer :) - Free soda (not good if you want to loose weight!) - For those, who trade on the side - unlike other regulated financial companies (especially investment banks), IB doesn't force its employees to move investment accounts to some "approved" (and often expensive) brokers or prohibit frequent trading My story: Like the subject says "the grass wasn't greener" (on the other side). Long story short - I resigned and came back to work for IB again after working just a few days for another company. I had resigned from IB because I felt that I had found it difficult to innovate (by means of bringing new open source software). I moved to work for a large financial company (good benefits and modern technology stack). However, what I immediately started to dislike was a typical bureaucratic culture of a financial firm, where IT employees are treated as resources (not the drivers of the company), and where you have meetings upon meetings and status reports and endless work about work. Coming from IB culture that was a huge difference and I started having second thoughts about whether it was the right place for me and whether I had made the right decision to quit my job. I finally made my mind and contacted the Director of HR at IB and asked if it would be possible for me to come back. He then contacted the President of the company, who was very kind to allow me to return... IB like any other company has its pros and cons and it takes time to appreciate its specific culture. There are opportunities and rewards for those who want to work hard.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Difficult to bring new software onboard - Too few sick days - The HR department is understaffed - Many flavors of coffee in the kitchen but not so good quality

    Interactive Brokers2015-08-29
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Challenging and Rewarding - Where Developers Are The MVPs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - once you proved yourself, you have utmost freedom, only your output matters - compensation grows fast after a few years to a _very_ competitive level - most importantly, the company is evolving, most of the critics here have been listened to and are already being addressed! - hard work is valued - IT team is not a service department, but the driver of the company -- developers get the attention they deserve -... only the most intelligent people (developers) are hired, creating an inspiring environment - you can use personal mobile internet anytime (it's up to you if your work suffers) - recently raised vacation days

    Show More

    Cons

    Culture: introverted people, you have to actively look for opportunities to socialize HR team: not helpful and lots of mistakes Being among selected smart people lowers your own ego :)

    Advice to Management

    Revise HR team - otherwise keep on ;)

    Interactive Brokers2015-02-04
  9. Helpful (19)

    "Horrible! Real devils in here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Greenwich, CT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is some really good engineering work being done

    Cons

    - No internet at all. Not even restricted/moderated internet. You cannot get a glimpse of what is happening in the outside world from morning 9am-6pm for a near 365 days a year. In today's world, this is like stringing up a person without allowing air to breathe. - Adding to the internet policy, the culture is one of the worst. The managers are horrible with absolutely no humane feelings. They expect you to be... like slaves, no question asked, no issue raised against your head. With the internet policy, I feel people who work for a few years will loose any sense of emotion and become extremely apathetic. People this will have very adverse affects on your personal lives. So please read this and do not take an offer at this company even though the money they give is somewhat above the average market value. - The head of the one of the departments even sometimes makes this explicit when hiring you: "Being social is not good in the company". So not take this lightly. The culture will drain any life from you. You work in the company for 10 years and not know anything about the guy sitting next to you. - H1B/Work visa permit holders... READ THIS!!: They only give 10 days of vacation for the whole year for the first 5 years! Yes just 10 days a year! So, you will have no time to prepare for interviews leave alone actually interviewing with companies to get out of the place if you don't like the culture. I have seen many people who are stuck there because of this situation. This will drive you crazy leading to many psychological problems.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees internet if they need. You can give them the tradeoff of reducing their salary for having their internet monitored if security is a concern. Get a life guys. Treat your employees like they are humans and remember they have feelings too. They need to get a life where they can smile once they get home and not think about why they ever got stuck at this company.

    Interactive Brokers2014-07-17
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Intense, originally challenging but later depressing and even debilitating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Brokers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - A few of efficient business processes, most well-automated - A handful of worthy technologies to learn and think of. - Fair-n-square business practices as far as I can say (not to confuse with "nice to clients") - Acceptable pay; almost-guaranteed "raises" for raising cost of living - Keep to the letter to their side of your contract (which does not include much good; but still) - Free lunch that you usually... eat at your desk (if you consider that a pro)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Self-righteous and rigid high management; initiatives and comments are effectively discourages - Antiquated and ineffective-to-stupidity software governance (do not confuse with 'inefficient'). - Non-existent work/life balance (total 16 days for vacation, personal and sick days; you are mostly treated and managed as a resource rather than human being) - Not only are free information and idea exchange not... promoted but in many ways strongly discouraged. As an example, you won't even have an Internet access at your desk unless your function needs it. As one of the results, the company is stagnating technologically. - No training/learning programs I am aware of. - People are discouraged from talking

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Not that I think they would take any, but: consider formally training yourself in ethical people management (maybe try reading Stephen Covey's books?). On a side note: I had to rank CEO "disapprove" for his failure to keep the management effective and adequate to the company''s scale. This is not at all intended to deny his technical and financial genius and ethical business practices that made this company... possible. I would have selected "both approve and disapprove" if the Web side provided this choice. (I did not want to select "No opinion" because I certainly had one)

    Show More
    Interactive Brokers2013-09-22
Found 22 reviews