Interactive Intelligence Reviews | Glassdoor

Interactive Intelligence Reviews

Updated June 21, 2017
654 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

654 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is sometimes an issue (in 20 reviews)

  • The upper management don't care about the lower level employees (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (8)

    "good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer
    Former Employee - Software Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Intelligence (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Some really smart C++ engineers
    - Many out-of-the-box ideas

    Cons

    - Average leadership. I always feel the company potential was held back due to lack great leadership. They are too conservative
    - Very very poor compensation compared to the industry


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Camaraderie, Long hours, so so benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Interactive Intelligence full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    onsite cafeteria is very convenient.
    Medium-sized gym in the basement of HQ1
    great friendly coworkers who are on the younger side so the work environment is very lively and outgoing.
    As a software engineer you will learn very much and will gain new skill sets if you work hard and get your hands dirty implementing code around the main sdks and systems that the company deploys. I was there before the company's cloud push so I worked with mainly onsite systems.

    Cons

    Be prepared for long hours usually. You need to keep your head straight to get around certain coworkers who will try keeping you at work for 10+ hours.
    Project managers call you on the weekend and after hours. Also most PMs are remote so it is hard to get to know them on the personal level.
    they recognize people who billed the most hours against the biggest projects at the yearly kickoff

    Advice to Management

    Worldwide services division is heavily overworked and the salaries and benefits are not rewarding

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Intelligence full-time

    Pros

    flexibility to work from home, nice work/life balance, good co-workers, fun environment if you make it fun

    Cons

    not sure if/how the culture will change with the acquisition


  4. Helpful (16)

    "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Intelligence full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The environment was casual and inviting. Excellent pay. Home/work balance was optimal. Ability to work from home was awesome. I was great working for a company that felt like they were keeping up with the changes in technology.

    Cons

    When they layoffs started in the fall of 2015, the atmosphere became very tense. We were told that the changes were to help the company grow. After all is said and done, found out CEO was shopping the company to be sold.

    Interactive Intelligence Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Sourcing and Social Media Strategist

    As Interactive Intelligence continues to grow and evolve as a company there are times that we have to re-evaluate our direction and adapt to the the swift growth in the technology sector. Our... More


  5. "Great life to work balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Interactive Intelligence full-time

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance is excellent
    Salaries appear to be competitive
    Working remotely from home is allowed

    Cons

    There are some antiquated SDLC practices need updating
    Product Management needs to be more informative and have greater input as to the direction of features

    Advice to Management

    If the company would match 401K contributions, it would make the company more competitive as far as benefits are concerned.

    Interactive Intelligence Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Sourcing and Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to ensure our Team Members are challenged and enjoy the Interactive culture. We offer top technology to our clients and give Team Members an opportunity to... More


  6. Helpful (4)

    "Fun place to work in spite of management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Benefits plan is robust with good health insurance and 401k options. Reimbursement for educational advancement is amazing. Coworkers are generally likable with few issues.

    Cons

    Hours can be excessive at times with. Upper management (VP and up) can seem disconnected from workforce and have more of a "get it done no matter what" attitude that causes burn-out. Feels like we are considered easily replaceable so they don't try to have higher retention rates

    Advice to Management

    Need to reconnect with workforce and strive to be leaders and not just bosses.

    Interactive Intelligence Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Sourcing and Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to ensure our Team Members are challenged and enjoy the Interactive culture. At Interactive Intelligence we are dedicated to supporting our staff to expand... More


  7. "SES"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Noblesville, IN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Noblesville, IN
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Intelligence full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Company, Good People, Great Culture

    Cons

    none i can think at this time.

    Interactive Intelligence Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Sourcing and Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to ensure our Team Members are challenged and enjoy the Interactive culture. We offer top technology to our clients and give Team Members an opportunity to... More

  8. Helpful (16)

    "Meh. No really, meh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Role in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Technical Role in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interactive Intelligence (More than a year)

    Pros

    No accountability, wonderful benefits, and Interactive absolutely pays to play.

    Cons

    No accountability, no professional development, and middle management - well is A LOT worse than the cliché.

    Advice to Management

    To mangers: Grow up and seek a level of maturity beyond the emotional quotient (EQ) of high school. To Upper management: Put managers in place whom are team builders, leaders, developer of professionals; or, maybe just put managers in place who are qualified.

    Interactive Intelligence Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Sourcing and Social Media Strategist

    At Interactive Intelligence, we hire innovative and forward thinking individuals who have the gravitas to work positively with their colleagues and managers in ensuring goals are reached whether that... More


  9. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Intelligence part-time

    Pros

    Great people, wonderful personality
    They have a work hard play hard mentality and it shows
    The Testing department has many people who care about a quality product and about people in and of themselves

    Cons

    The company is larger, and at times suffers from its rapid growth and has some teams that are less organized than others
    Most of the management is super solid and great to work with, but asking some lower level people questions and communicating across teams can be difficult.

    Advice to Management

    I don't have much to give as advice. Maybe just that they would continue to hire people that care about both the people they work with and the product they work on.

    Interactive Intelligence Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Sourcing and Social Media Strategist

    Thank you for your feedback. We work hard to ensure our Team Members are challenged and enjoy the Interactive culture. We offer top technology to our clients and give Team Members an opportunity to... More


  10. Helpful (7)

    "No longer one of the best places to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Solutions Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Current Employee - Sales Solutions Engineer in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Interactive Intelligence full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It's a positive atmosphere and that goes a long way. Your empowered as much as you wish. Some managers respect you. You can succeed as much as you want... or fail. Opinions are respect just in US and innovation is expected.

    Cons

    - too many middle managers (team leads, managers, sr manager, etc);
    - Is the Company being Sold or not. Hell if anyone knows. The uncertainly is very distracting!!
    -Old Company is in Decline, moral is low
    -Leadership is not ready for prime time
    -Many enjoy a cushy job while others pick up the slack.
    Too many inefficient layers of middle management (Team Leads, Team Managers, Service Delivery Managers, Project Managers, Directors). All bicker over who carries the biggest stick which employees pay the price. Inefficient policies and procedures result. I have to get multiple Global approvals for changes specific to LATAM.
    Promotions often given to good ole boys…

    Advice to Management

    Stay close with your team as changes are made. Keeping everyone informed is a much better way to incorporate changes. Don't ask someone to do something you wouldn't be willing to do yourself.

    Interactive Intelligence Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Sourcing and Social Media Strategist

    At Interactive Intelligence, we hire innovative and forward thinking individuals who have the gravitas to work positively with their colleagues and managers in ensuring goals are reached whether that... More


Showing 654 of 686 reviews
Reset Filters