Intercept Pharmaceuticals Reviews | Glassdoor

Intercept Pharmaceuticals Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Intercept Pharmaceuticals CEO Mark Pruzanski
Mark Pruzanski
20 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Nice place to work with promising future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful office space. Coworkers are talented, fun, and hard working. It's a start up environment so it's fast paced and exciting, if you like to roll up your sleeves.

    Cons

    Sometimes teams work in silos resulting in duplicate efforts. I've see this being addressed so hopefully this will start to occur less and less.

    Continue reading
    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2019-06-26
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, generous paid time off

    Cons

    Very low pay compared to industry standard. It takes moving mountains to get promoted. They pay far too low and then you are told it doesn’t matter how much you do for the company because there’s a promotion freeze and then they turn around and promote 3 people in your department.

    Continue reading
    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2019-07-22

    Intercept Pharmaceuticals Response

    August 1, 2019Talent Acquisition Operations Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from having worked for Intercept. Thank for your also acknowledging our great PTO bank and the flexible working options available to some of our staff. Your feedback is very valuable and I only hope that before you made the decision to leave, you voiced your concerns to your HR Business Partner. Please know that HR has taken pivotal steps at addressing compensation fairness compared to the market. Thanks, again for your valuable comments.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (15)

    "STAY AWAY, FAR FAR AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Business Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Absolutely not one pro to working for this company.

    Cons

    Sales Leadership over promises and under delivers. They also lead by fear. They lie, refuse to accept responsibility for flat sales. Executive Leadership is clueless and they all hate each other. What was once a promising company has turned into a complete mess ran by big pharma rejects who have no real clue on how to market, sell and retain an orphan drug.

    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2019-04-15
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Challenging Political Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Intercept Pharmaceuticals

    Pros

    Great office in NY, fun and interesting products

    Cons

    very challenging environment with overall poor leadership

    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2018-11-27
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Nice office, nice people, exciting environment, culture isn’t bad, many leaders are competent

    Cons

    CEO is a meek and weak leader. Doesn’t know what he’s doing and has hired some newer leaders that also don’t seem to know what they are doing. Biggest con is this company completely underpays. Pay is horrible. HR gives horrible offers. Bigger and smaller pharma companies pay much more. We all talk about it. You’ll see lots of turnover soon. Pay is way below standard. Stop spending money on happy hours and extravagant lunches and give your employees a fair wage.

    Continue reading
    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2018-11-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Biotech Startup"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Location and benefits were good.

    Cons

    Long Hours and too much work in my department.

    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2018-10-16
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    None. Thought I could point to something positive. Not happening

    Cons

    Management clueless. Not rewarded based on hard work. C level managers completely clueless. Politics at its best

    Continue reading
    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2018-10-16
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to learn; great people who have the same mission in mind"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are interested in rolling your sleeves up and diving right in, Intercept is a great place to learn. When I was looking for a new role before joining, I wanted a place where I could gain exposure to different areas of the business and Intercept has done that for me and then some; there are always opportunities to work cross-functionally which I really appreciate. Senior management is regularly visible and I also enjoying working with a lot of the people here, there is a sense of camaraderie that is unique as compared to my previous work experiences.

    Cons

    Not a negative thing for everyone, but you need to be willing to take the reins and create process where it's lacking. In my mind that's a natural evolution any small company will go through as they grow.

    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2018-08-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Intercept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time

    Pros

    Ability to be a part of a fast-paced, enterpreneurial environment where you will be exposed to a diverse set of responsibilities and have constant interaction with senior leadership.

    Cons

    Growing pains of a company transitioning from small to medium sized in terms of process and decision-making.

    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2018-08-13
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intercept Pharmaceuticals full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Experienced colleagues hired at launch.

    Cons

    Leadership through fear and intimidation. Micromanagement. Lack of awareness of nuances in rare disease. Non patient centric.

    Continue reading
    Intercept Pharmaceuticals2018-08-08
Found 34 reviews