Intermountain Healthcare Reviews | Glassdoor

Intermountain Healthcare Reviews

Updated June 20, 2018
846 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
A. Marc Harrison
231 Ratings

846 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to competition" (in 34 reviews)

  • "New CEO, Marc Harrison is now "DISRUPTING" Intermountain" (in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Orderly Senior in Provo, UT
    Former Employee - Orderly Senior in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intermountain Healthcare full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good benefits, decent hours, well-run hosptials

    Cons

    None that i encountered

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thanks for the review!


  2. "Decent enough company but going through a painful outsourcing period."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Open Systems Administrator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Senior Open Systems Administrator in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intermountain Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The team leads and lower level management made a great effort to ensure their staff work/life balance was good. They were very reasonable about allowing flexible hours when someone needed it.

    Cons

    A little bit management top heavy. Not sure that senior management is entirely aware of the complexities of the systems currently being outsourced.

    Advice to Management

    There were a lot of talented technical staff who sometimes felt that senior management were making technical decisions without listening to them.

  3. "Physician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intermountain Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Good to be employed by the medical group.

    Cons

    Needs new payment model for physicians.

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 19, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for the review!


  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Murray, UT
    Former Employee - Patient Care Technician in Murray, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Intermountain Healthcare full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Large company, varying shifts, benefits

    Cons

    Pay, teamwork, under staffed, over worked

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! If you wish to share more with us, please email comms@imail.org.


  5. "Care Transformation - The future is now"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intermountain Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    An organization focused on eliminating multiple levels of bureaucracy, consolidating talents and skills across the group, and ultimately creating an environment of innovation and agility where teams are quickly assembled to tackle problems.

    Organized as a holocracy resulting in reduced levels of management enabling improved speed and quality of communication between groups with fewer middle managers, and more direct decision making

    Cons

    While still in organizational change transition, some team members are vocally resistant to inevitable change.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to move forward with the vision, Dr Vivek Reddy and David Gardiner are leading an effort that involves changes that are radical and generate a lot of "noise". This organization is responding in a positive way to the inevitable changes that are coming to healthcare. The focus on patient care as well as caregiver care is going to end up being the model that other organizations will follow.
    Thanks to Dr. Reddy and David Gardiner's vision, planning, and organization, the multiple levels of bureaucracy have been replaced with a collaborative culture of innovation and genuine care.

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We truly appreciate it!


  6. "Charge Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Charge Nurse in Riverton, UT
    Current Employee - Charge Nurse in Riverton, UT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Intermountain Healthcare part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, caring staff, non-profit organization

    Cons

    Too far from my home

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your service and hope to have you as an employee for many years!


  7. Helpful (9)

    "Not an employee focused company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murray, UT
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murray, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intermountain Healthcare full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    If you love patient care and want to work at a place that is always evolving and has new and innovative practices this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    IHC is not focused on keeping their employees happy and it does not have good management. Problems and issues are brushed under the rug to make it look like everything is right. They are more focused on saving money and spreading their employees too thin so patient care can’t be up to par.

    Advice to Management

    Rework your financials. The effects are being felt by your employees which is leading to a high turn over rate. Be more aware of what is going on in each individual department. A lot of things are being covered up that could be major issues for this company.

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your candid feedback. We truly appreciate your comments and your service to Intermountain. If you wish to share more with us, please email comms@imail.org.

  8. Helpful (6)

    "It was a GREAT place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intermountain Healthcare full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers, Mission, Community awareness, various locations

    Cons

    Pay, Job Security and Advancement Opportunity

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 12, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your candid feedback. We truly appreciate your comments and service to Intermountain. If you wish to share more with us, please email comms@imail.org.


  9. Helpful (7)

    "Wild expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Solutions Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intermountain Healthcare full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Stable company. Great mission. Good benefits. A good culture in most departments. I like how most are really trying to improve healthcare. Good vision.

    Cons

    No path to progress with changes to the Care Transformation Services department. No reward for jobs well done. Very unachievable work expectations - the large group of people over me who all say they're my boss don't talk to each other, and all think they own all of my time, and I can't do everything they all want. Instruction that comes from leadership frequently conflicts with other leader. Lots of people quitting over un real expectations in Care Transformation Services.

    Management (partners of the CTS) has no time to listen to problems. They make a demand and even though it is not a good demand and can not be done by any person, they do not allow you to voice your concern. They do not answer hard questions that everyone wants an answer on. Much contrary unfriendly environment now with lots of frustration.

    Advice to Management

    IHC has been a good company to work for. I have been here long time. I am sad I am leave or looking to leave, but I need to find a job where i can achieve what they want me to achieve. But thank you for the mostly good career I've had in IHC - it is mostly a nice company to be in.

    Please survey CTS department sometimes and ask how they are doing and listen.

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 7, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your candid feedback. We truly appreciate your comments and your service to Intermountain. If you wish to share more with us, please email comms@imail.org.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "IT Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - IT Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intermountain Healthcare full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The work environment is nice, good benefits. Get along with staff and management.

    Cons

    Outsourcing, contracting, reasonable for IT because it is a healthcare company, not a tech company.

    Advice to Management

    Loyal employees are an asset and know the company and workflow.

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Jun 1, 2018 – Employer Marketing Specialist

    Thank you for your review!


Showing 846 of 889 reviews
Reset Filters