Intermountain Healthcare Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Intermountain Healthcare President and CEO A. Marc Harrison
A. Marc Harrison
551 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and overall great place to work(in 136 reviews)

  • "They care about you and it’s got good benefits(in 89 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Extremely low pay for such a hard job(in 45 reviews)

  • "Upper management has changed a lot within the company(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Intermountain Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years
      Featured Review

      Great place to work!

      Aug 31, 2020 - Administrative Assistant in Provo, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I´ve worked at Intermountain Healthcare for 5 years. I started out as a PCT and HUC for 4 years and moved up to administrative assistant a year ago. I love that they always find small ways to show employees that they are appreciated. They pay for my positions has always been good and they increase it every year. I hope that once I finish my degree, I can keep moving up in the company.

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of at this time.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Apr 19, 2021 - Security Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with

      Cons

      Some hospitals can be slow at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great People, Great Place, Poor Staffing Ratios

      May 10, 2021 - Patient Care Technician in Provo, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers were so friendly, good experience for nursing school, managers really care about their employees, yearly raises, good environment

      Cons

      Poor staffing ratios, upper management always making changes that don't improve care and make things harder for floor managers and employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      May 11, 2021 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company does the right thing for the right reason. Helping people live the healthiest lives possible.

      Cons

      Change is slow moving and needs lots of approvals to happen.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Employees are taken for granted

      Apr 24, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Murray, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You will have amazing coworkers and patients.

      Cons

      Staff is overworked and underappreciated. The hospital organization is continually asking for more and more hours of work. They are trying to resolve worker burnout by telling us to care for ourselves better, while at the same time asking us to pick up two extra shifts. During covid the need for nurses has increased, but the hospital has stopped contributing to 401k funds and has decided to no longer give a yearly bonus. They have instituted another means of bonuses, but it is unlikely that the return will be the same. I feel it is not safe for a nurse to have such high patient ratios. It puts our licenses at risk where we to make an error due to the fact that we simply are unable to be in every patient room. There are many physicians that still are reasonably critical of nursing staff and rude. It is an exhausting job to be a fronted on nearly every side when you're so overwhelmed trying to care for and keep patients alive.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Love the executive leadership and mission, trouble translating and operationalizing it to central offices

      Mar 3, 2021 - Data Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Intermountain is truly a mission driven organization. Executive leadership does a great job communicating the mission and genuinely cares about improving healthcare for all.

      Cons

      My impression is that things deteriorate relatively quickly under the c-suite. Lots of bureaucracy, political maneuvering, and not executing the mission, vision, and values espoused by c-suite leaders. The last few years saw a steady stream of reorganization with many colleagues throwing their hands up in frustration just trying to figure out how things are supposed to work this year, knowing it will change again next year. Huge gap between how managers are treated compared to individual contributors as far as total comp and benefits. Managers will take advantage of individual contributors for their own personal gain. Too much selfish, short-term thinking among middle management. IHC has the most unprofessional HR / recruiters I have ever worked with in my career. I was laughed at during my offer conversation for several questions and requests I had. To the point the recruiter said that will never happen. After being at the organization for several years I found out that this same recruiter went above and beyond my ask for another analyst that had less experience and education.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to work

      May 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management. good working culture. good quality facilities. overall good place to work. Business fundamentals are good

      Cons

      Utah is a bit of a question mark for most, but I had no problems

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Salary for clinical lab assistant

      May 5, 2021 - Clinical Laboratory Assistant in Riverton, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great facility and management in the lab

      Cons

      Management with other departments wasn't the greatest but still very good

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company

      May 4, 2021 - CNA/HUC in Murray, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Awesome learning experience Great team for the most part

      Cons

      Low pay A little bureaucratic sometimes

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Pros

      Historically Pay and benefits were good. Very nice clinics and hospitals. Nice Communities

      Cons

      -punch in punch out. Don't say anything. -Moving to salary model for most physicians. Some pay dependent on odd and arbitrary benchmarks. -Very top-down leadership model, that over the last two years has put the non-medical administrators in charge exclusively. The physician administrators are now mostly figureheads. Multiple past Medical Directors have quit in the past year because of this. Lack of respect towards the physicians in general. -Midlevel Managers and Clinic Managers do not answer to the physicians in the clinic and are only marginally helpful. It is not your clinic, you just work there. -Lack of diversity (almost zero). Made a big show about diversity programs in the press, but behind the scenes have done very little.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,473 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Intermountain Healthcare Job Seekers

    Registered Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Intermountain Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

    or