Cover image for Intermountain Healthcare
Logo
See All Photos

Intermountain Healthcare

Engaged Employer

Intermountain Healthcare

Add a Review

Intermountain Healthcare Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 2,061 of over 2K reviews
3.6
72% Recommend to a Friend
Intermountain Healthcare President and CEO A. Marc Harrison
53% Approve of CEO

Found 2,062 of over 2K reviews

3.6
72%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Intermountain Healthcare President and CEO A. Marc Harrison
A. Marc Harrison
810 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

84.3K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Intermountain Healthcare~2842
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "So they are basically able to keep pay low and artificially deflate the average that they aim to match.(in 174 reviews)
  • "Poor management, not open to new ideas or opinions that differ from their own.(in 88 reviews)
  • "Upper Management is bad at listening to lower level employees(in 40 reviews)
  • "Too many managers promoted above their abilities.(in 35 reviews)
  • "Leadership has no clue as to what the rank and file actually do.(in 28 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Intermountain Healthcare and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year
    Featured Review

    I hope I’m here until I retire!

    Sep 22, 2022 - Executive Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits, pay, & people!

    Cons

    I can’t think of any cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We are happy to hear about your time at Intermountain Healthcare and that you enjoy our team-focused work culture. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company to work for

    Nov 3, 2022 - Certified Phlebotomist in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of different locations where you could work

    Cons

    Experience can vary greatly depending on your manager.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We strive to provide opportunities that allow our caregivers and leaders to engage in open and accessible forms of communication. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  3. Join the Intermountain Healthcare team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good ratios, respect for license

    Nov 25, 2022 - Registered Nurse in Provo, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great at keeping supplies stocked for nurses and hasn't ever forced me above sensible ratios. 5 patient teams on medical floors and 2 patient teams in ICU. Raises have been 10+% for last two years.

    Cons

    Low salary for cost of living, Utah is an expensive area. Benefits worsen each year I have been here (PTO accrual rates, monthly medical insurance payments doubling this year).

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We strive to provide opportunities that allow our caregivers and leaders to engage in open and accessible forms of communication. Additionally, at Intermountain Healthcare, we continuously adjust pay. We assess pay on an annual basis, to reflect geography, and as the market changes. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    .

    Dec 5, 2022 - Transplant Assistant in Murray, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote options available for workers.

    Cons

    Poor management, favoritism within departments, not a lot of opportunities to advance and grow, no appreciation towards hard work unless you are one of managements favorites. Employees feel like they're "replaceable" and not valued. Benefit premiums have spiked.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your experience at Intermountain Healthcare. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve. We encourage our caregivers and leaders to engage in open and accessible forms of communication. Programmatically, we build deliberate opportunities to be collaborative and share feedback. Additionally, Intermountain Healthcare is committed to life-long learning and providing professional development opportunities for all our caregivers. Upward mobility is a key focus for us. We implement educational resources that empower caregivers to gain new skills that drive personal and professional growth. Some of these resources include access to an online digital learning library and partial tuition coverage for a number of accredited programs. We take all feedback seriously and will share your review with our teams as we continue to move foward.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great manager

    Dec 1, 2022 - Nurse 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great manager, makes it flexible to work with kids

    Cons

    Average base salary, but does have incentive shifts

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We strive to provide opportunities that allow our caregivers and leaders to engage in open and accessible forms of communication, and we're happy to hear that you've had such a positive experience with your leader. At Intermountain Healthcare, we continuously adjust pay. We assess pay on an annual basis, to reflect geography, and as the market changes. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Corporation not healthcare

    Nov 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Recently provided wage adjustments, making them more competitive with other healthcare positions. 12 hour shifts for most staff, benefits for employees - such as discounts on various activities, events, etc.

    Cons

    Healthcare is just another business and Intermountain is clearly run as such. Profit over people. Employees are not valued, there was no hazard pay during COVID, and Administration is unaware of the overwhelming burnout that's occurring due to the fact they are permitted to work from home. There's more traveler's than permanent staff due to the fact that you can get paid double or triple as a traveler to do the same job.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. First and foremost, we are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your experience at Intermountain Healthcare. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve. We encourage our caregivers and leaders to engage in open and accessible forms of communication. Programmatically, we build deliberate opportunities to be collaborative and share feedback. We take all feedback seriously and will share your review with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Experience

    Nov 25, 2022 - Rehab Aide in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good experience in physical therapy

    Cons

    Very physically and emotionally demanding setting.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Intermountain is an organization with big ambitions and good people.

    Nov 19, 2022 - Executive 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Stable, good benefits, good talent base.

    Cons

    Want to be everything to everyone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We strive to provide opportunities that allow our caregivers and leaders to engage in open and accessible forms of communication. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Love this job

    Nov 2, 2022 - Critical Care Tech in Ogden, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love Intermountain. It is the best organization to be involved in medical wise in the Wasatch front after comparing the employee care with my friends who work with others. I love the pay, benefits for just being part time. I never feel less than a nurse and I feel very equal with everyone.

    Cons

    With any healthcare job, burnout is a real thing.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We are happy to hear about your time at Intermountain Healthcare and that you enjoy our team-focused work culture. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

  11. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Hopefully getting better

    Dec 2, 2022 - Registered Nurse, BSN 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers, meaningful work, great physicians

    Cons

    Poor board decisions based on what used to be core values of the company. More business than patient oriented

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Intermountain Healthcare Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, both positive and constructive. We value all our current and former caregivers’ feedback, as our focus is to continually improve our practices. We encourage our caregivers and leaders to engage in open and accessible forms of communication. Programmatically, we build deliberate opportunities to be collaborative and share feedback. We appreciate your review and will share it with our teams as we continue to move forward.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 2,062 Reviews
</>Embed

Intermountain Healthcare Reviews FAQs

Intermountain Healthcare has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 2,190 reviews left anonymously by employees. 72% of employees would recommend working at Intermountain Healthcare to a friend and 62% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Intermountain Healthcare employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Intermountain Healthcare. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

72% of Intermountain Healthcare employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Intermountain Healthcare 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Intermountain Healthcare to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with Intermountain Healthcare Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Intermountain Healthcare? Share Your Experiences

Intermountain Healthcare logo
or

Affiliated Companies

Intermountain Healthcare Careers

Cover image for Intermountain Healthcare

We are Intermountain Healthcare. We're looking for talented and passionate individuals to join our team and help us fulfill our mission:...More

  • Mission, Vision & Values
  • Advantages of Intermountain
  • Benefits
  • Diversity and Inclusion
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Intermountain Healthcare

0 days ago

Company News
You’re live…with Primary Children’s! Intermountain Primary Children’s Hospital has been selected by the Ryan Seacrest Foundation as the next site for a Seacrest Studio, a state-of-the-art broadcast media center that will allow kids to explore the wonders of radio, television, and new media while receiving treatment. “Providing safe and engaging experiences to patients during their hospital stay is a critical part of their healing, wellbeing, and continued development as kids,” said Katy Welkie, chief executive officer of Primary Children’s Hospital and vice president of Intermountain Children’s Health. We can’t wait to share even more about this interactive experience for patients and families. Coming to Primary Children’s next year!
Shared image - Ryan Seacrest Foundation Selects Intermountain Primary Childrens Hospital as Newest Site for a Seacrest Studio | Intermountain Healthcare
Ryan Seacrest Foundation Selects Intermountain Primary Childrens Hospital as Newest Site for a Seacrest Studio | Intermountain Healthcare
intermountainhealthcare.org
Logo

Intermountain Healthcare

1 days ago

Community
When a surgery in early 2020 went unexpectedly wrong, Shawn Sorenson’s heart stopped. Thanks to the extraordinary efforts of a remarkable group of Intermountain caregivers, his life was saved, and he went home in less than a week. Shawn and his wife, Daun, set a goal to personally thank all the caregivers involved in his miraculous recovery. A global pandemic slowed them down, but they were recently able to connect with the last physician on their list. Both say they want all Intermountain caregivers to know your efforts are noticed and appreciated. “The way they made us feel when we were there was so great,” Shawn says. “Honestly, they made me want to get better, and not just physically. They made me want to be a better person. To care like some of them care. They were huge examples to us. What they do makes a difference.”
Shared image - Patient finally completes two-year effort to thank all caregivers involved in saving his life
Patient finally completes two-year effort to thank all caregivers involved in saving his life
intermountainhealthcare.org
See all

Intermountain Healthcare Photos

+ Add Photo
Intermountain Healthcare photo of: LDS hospital
Intermountain Healthcare photo of: Nurse
Intermountain Healthcare photo of: Intermountain Medical Center
Intermountain Healthcare photo of: First COVID-19 vaccines administered.
Intermountain Healthcare photo of: Budge Clinic
Intermountain Healthcare photo of: Helping people live the healthiest lives possible
Intermountain Healthcare photo of: Life Flight
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Intermountain Healthcare Job Seekers Also Viewed

Overstock.com Logo
Overstock.com

3.2

1,067 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,190 Intermountain Healthcare reviews submitted anonymously by Intermountain Healthcare employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Intermountain Healthcare is right for you.