Cover image for International Baccalaureate
Logo

International Baccalaureate

Engaged Employer

International Baccalaureate

Add a Review

International Baccalaureate Examiner Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 20 of over 220 reviews
3.6
83% Recommend to a Friend
International Baccalaureate Director General Olli-Pekka Heinonen
66% Approve of CEO

Found 20 of over 220 reviews

3.6
83%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
International Baccalaureate Director General Olli-Pekka Heinonen
Olli-Pekka Heinonen
4 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,937

976 Comments

Join the conversation on
  1. 4.0
    Current Contractor

    Good seasonal contract work

    Sep 16, 2022 - IB Examiner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Marking the exams is a good way to make a little extra income once a year. Marking is remote and flexible. Paid per exam. They give very specific criteria for the marking which is both a plus (keeps it fair, makes it clear exactly what you are assessing) and a con (some criteria could be at least somewhat subjective, but official marks are treated as though they are objective).

    Cons

    Not sure if it is this way for all subjects, but you have to "qualify" for marking by marking a number of exams "correctly," and you are not paid for these. Work is seasonal.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Improper Treatment and Pay

    Jun 8, 2022 - Examiner in Nowhere, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are very few pros to working for this company.

    Cons

    Their training program is nonexistent, the leadership is particularly ineffective, providing little feedback on the training or expectations of the position. The work environment is quite hostile, with an atmosphere that feels like they are trying to trick you at every turn. There is virtually no support system, and when you ultimately don't meet the expectations of the position (since you will have no idea what they are), they will let you go without properly compensating you for your time. There is no recourse for disputing their refusal to pay you unless you can hire a Swiss lawyer. Avoid at all costs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the International Baccalaureate team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Is there any work?

    Oct 21, 2019 - Examiner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can work from home

    Cons

    Constant emails telling you to be ready, then there is no work. I have been waiting for training, and there is none.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Prepare for Confusion

    Mar 21, 2019 - Examiner in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home, on-line systems; students and their ideas about the world

    Cons

    On-line systems are complicated; multiple sites for training, information sharing, reading, and scoring scripts; Harmonizing process is ineffective for first-time examiners; Must train and score initial scripts for free--not paid

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    I don't know what I'm getting myself into

    May 7, 2018 - Examiner in Lake Charles, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The mission of IB seems lofty enough.

    Cons

    As a newbie, I'm utterly confused and have reached out to people for help. One key person who needs to be there is out of the office until tomorrow, with a deadline of today. I'm ignoring whatever that is because the training and the websites are all very confusing to me. And don't even ask me about marking.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Freelancer

    IBEN Roles Provide Great Experience

    Aug 14, 2022 - Examiner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Applying for and taking on additional roles with IB comes with a lot of growth. There is always high quality training provided. These roles are fantastic for IB teachers or administrators who hope to gain even more insight into the programs. In addition, as these roles are seasonal and temporary, it can be more easily managed within a regular teaching schedule. The team leaders I have worked with have always been very patient, communicative, supportive, and constructive.

    Cons

    Specifically for being a BQC reviewer, the pay is not a lot for the amount of time it takes to complete the reviews as they are very detailed. That being said, there is a learning curve and over time they become easier to manage. For being an examiner, it's important to have stamina and to be patient when learning to apply the mark scheme. Each round is a learning experience.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good employer

    Jun 23, 2022 - Examiner in Broadstairs, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible so that you can structure work to your own schedule.

    Cons

    This is seasonal work as opposed to all year round.

    1 person found this review helpful

    International Baccalaureate Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. At the IB, we pride ourselves on our mission which has been built on a cornerstone of creating a better world through education. While this account is designed to gather feedback from staff employed at one of our five International Baccalaureate offices worldwide, we welcome feedback from our global team of 35,000 contractors acting as IB Educators.

  9. 3.0
    Current Contractor

    Lots of work, mainly for the experience

    May 28, 2022 - Assistant Examiner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    insight into the process of marking improves teaching

    Cons

    lots of work during a limited time; process of ensuring quality can frustrate (random seeds, inaccuracies can mean immediate suspension)

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 3 years

    Okay if you can crack the code

    Apr 28, 2022 - IB Examiner in Warsaw, Masovia
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote, good pay if you are an efficient examiner

    Cons

    Not easy to meet the standards for assessments at first, especially if you are working in a rather subjective area

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Examiner

    May 2, 2022 - Examiner in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    examiner job is part time at IB

    Cons

    there is not feedback is the examiner position has challenges. only bots

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    International Baccalaureate Response

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. At the IB, we pride ourselves on our mission which has been built on a cornerstone of creating a better world through education. While this account is designed to gather feedback from staff employed at one of our five International Baccalaureate offices worldwide, we welcome feedback from our global team of 35,000 contractors acting as IB Educators.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with International Baccalaureate Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at International Baccalaureate? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

International Baccalaureate Photos

+ Add Photo
International Baccalaureate photo of: IB Global Centre City Ridge sign
International Baccalaureate photo of: Hybrid Town Hall
International Baccalaureate photo of: IB Global Centre
International Baccalaureate photo of: Foundation office
International Baccalaureate photo of: IB Global Centre hallway
International Baccalaureate photo of: IB Global Centre City Ridge
International Baccalaureate photo of: IB Global Centre breakroom
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

International Baccalaureate Job Seekers Also Viewed

Ballast Nedam Logo
Ballast Nedam

2.8

28 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 220 International Baccalaureate reviews submitted anonymously by International Baccalaureate employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if International Baccalaureate is right for you.