International Medical Corps Reviews | Glassdoor

International Medical Corps Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
International Medical Corps CEO Nancy Aossey (no image)
Nancy Aossey
61 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good experience and learnt a lot(in 5 reviews)

  • "Some really great field staff who uphold humanitarian principles(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Communications from senior management are non-existent, there are a high percentage of staff wondering if they have a job each morning(in 12 reviews)

  • "Becoming increasingly risk adverse and losing sight of the humanitarian imperative(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Office Environment with Best Group of Co-Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International Medical Corps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Diverse group of caring, hard working people who believe in a mission that benefits communities in need of help. The people here, of past and present, are amazing to each other and create a great office environment that I feel happy to come into every day.

    Cons

    After 15 years of working here, I don't have any negative comments about this organization.

    Advice to Management

    I appreciate your hard work and leadership - let's keep this momentum going strong.

    International Medical Corps2019-08-30
  2. "Needs improvement and change in leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International Medical Corps full-time

    Pros

    Dedicated and passionate field-based staff Good benefits, HQ and field based Competitive salaries for field based staff

    Cons

    Limited investment in staff growth and retention Bureaucratic systems which impede quality and timely service delivery to beneficiaries Finance driven organization focused too much on chasing funding over ensuring quality services Senior leadership has remained the same for over two decades, no innovation or willingness to make necessary changes to systems at senior levels Top down management No strategic... vision for the overall organization

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Develop systems which are realistic given the contexts you are working in require flexibility and speed, current systems only create extra work for the already overstretched field based staff Decentralize programming and give more autonomy to country offices. Country Directors are your senior representatives, trust them to make decisions on your behalf

    International Medical Corps2019-09-11
  3. "Administrative Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at International Medical Corps part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly environment, good mission, opportunity for growth.

    Cons

    The company is going through changes so it is not very organized.

    International Medical Corps2019-08-03
  4. "It's more important who you know than what you know."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NONE 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at International Medical Corps full-time

    Pros

    The organization has a great mission and lots of room to improve. Joining IMC you feel there is so much opportunity to play a part in making it a better organization.

    Cons

    People get burned out and leave without making a dent in those opportunities. Those who advance are close to the C-Suite and those who stand on the shoulders of their colleagues claiming the work of others as their own. It's toxic.

    Advice to Management

    None. They wouldn't listen anyway.

    International Medical Corps2019-09-05
  5. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International Medical Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good to get exposure to global health

    Cons

    No social activities. Can improve this area.

    International Medical Corps2019-05-10
  6. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - International Recruiter in Washington, DC

    I worked at International Medical Corps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The work of the organization.

    Cons

    Senior management is not as transparent or strategy driven

    International Medical Corps2018-10-15
  7. "Logistics officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International Medical Corps full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    through this i believe i could earn me learning more and get more knowledge with international figures

    Cons

    i pretty sure there would be any disadvantages specially for a more bright minded person like me

    Advice to Management

    Hard working tolerance and advices

    International Medical Corps2018-08-13
  8. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at International Medical Corps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work with knowledgeable hardworking people.

    Cons

    I only worked there for a short amount of time so I cannot speak to the cons.

    International Medical Corps2018-06-18
  9. "Program Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International Medical Corps

    Pros

    Very Good Place Good Place

    Cons

    Can't travel business class travel

    International Medical Corps2018-04-06
  10. "Going through a rough patch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International Medical Corps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great staff in the field; exceptional emergency response capacity

    Cons

    Becoming increasingly risk adverse and losing sight of the humanitarian imperative

    Advice to Management

    Keep the mission at core of all decision making: saving lives and relieving suffering

    International Medical Corps2018-03-22
Found 107 reviews