International Paper "good pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

International Paper Employee Reviews about "good pay"

Updated Oct 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
79%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
International Paper CEO Mark S. Sutton
Mark S. Sutton
243 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours required especially on outages(in 51 reviews)

  • "Depending on the department you are in there are times where it seems like the superiors do not care about your work life balance(in 48 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Paper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International Paper full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. You can move up fast

    Cons

    Shift work and fast pace environment.

    International Paper2019-08-27
  2. "Utility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Utility 

    I worked at International Paper full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and good coworkers

    Cons

    Dangerous wo St k and swing shift

    International Paper2019-10-18
  3. "Great company, very safety conscious"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Mansfield, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International Paper full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very good pay, especially for entry level employees. Very safety focused. Good time off and benefits

    Cons

    Harsh work environment, long hours

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    International Paper2019-08-20
  4. Helpful (2)

    "One of the Worst Companies I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Help in Eighty Four, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International Paper full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay and Decent Benefits

    Cons

    Machines are outdated and constantly breaking down. Once hired your told you only have to occasionally work Saturday... that is a lie. You can expect to almost never get a Saturday off and your working 60+ hours a week because of their poorly maintained equipment. Also, if you have any questions for the HR department you may as well forget about it... as you most likely never hear back about your inquiry.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees a little more time off and use that time to properly fix some things. Remember that happy and well rested employees will provide you with a better quantity and a better quality product.

    International Paper2019-08-22
  5. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at International Paper full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and gre as t culture

    Cons

    No family time.. benefits and more

    International Paper2019-07-31
  6. "Your experience is very dependent on your manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Value Added Services 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International Paper full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed my first position with IP, good pay and low stress and a great boss. However I had issues when I moved out of Memphis for a new position. I had a difficult position but I believe it would have been easier and less stressful if I had support from my manager. I ended up leaving because I felt the "ok" salary wasn't worth the stress and disrespect from my manager.

    Cons

    Allows poor performers, bullies, and non-cooperative people stay in the company. Company loyalty wins out over performance.

    Advice to Management

    In order to attract and keep young talent (outside of Memphis headquarters) culture and management need to be rethought. Managers are acting with little supervision on performance.

    International Paper2019-07-30
  7. "Could Be Much Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Manager in Memphis, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International Paper full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Started innovation which is slowly making headway. Started Diversity and Inclusion - Good Pay for the job

    Cons

    Bad benefits Company cares more about Core employees than long term employees Promotions to senior level - not going to happen. The only way this will happen is if you are on a managed move list or have a mentor in director or above level (or you are Core). Promotion into senior manager roles is not based on experience and performance.

    Advice to Management

    Stop focusing on Core and specialized groups of people. Start realizing you have long term employees who have helped build this company and reward them.

    International Paper2019-07-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "NO LIFE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Master Mechanic/E1 in Eaton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International Paper full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I cannot think of anything good, pay and benefits suck for what you give up no work life balance, work atmosphere is next level hell

    Cons

    seven days a week 8 to 12 hours per day mandatory, not knowing if you will have to come in early or stay late to cover someone shift, all equipment run down broke or rigged to run, no PM in years, completely a reactive approach to maintenance, have to call in sick on a Sundays for kids and grand kids birthdays, point system, management sucks, two faced coworkers, lie to you about what needs finished or do not... report downed equipment or calls so they can leave go home, no tools - tools ordered are put on hold and they expect you to work on the broken equipment with worn out tools,

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shut it down and go home you already have system so messed up you can never repair it, no hope

    International Paper2019-08-15
  9. "Good work environment long hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - REACH Engineer in Selma, AL

    I have been working at International Paper full-time

    Pros

    Good pay nice people everybody works hard

    Cons

    Long hours required especially on outages

    International Paper2019-06-26
  10. "Challenging and rewarding place to co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reliability Engineering Co-op in Prattville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International Paper full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, available housing or stipend, paid OT

    Cons

    Must initiate projects a lot of the time.

    International Paper2019-05-18
Found 90 reviews