Cover image for International Rescue Committee
Logo

International Rescue Committee

Is this your company?

International Rescue Committee

Add a Review

International Rescue Committee Employee Reviews about "learned a lot"

Updated Nov 8, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,556 of over 2K reviews
4.0
80% Recommend to a Friend
International Rescue Committee President and CEO David Miliband
85% Approve of CEO

Found 93 of over 2K reviews

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
International Rescue Committee President and CEO David Miliband
David Miliband
586 Ratings

What people are saying about International Rescue Committee

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about International Rescue Committee? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with International Rescue Committee employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

What are your colleagues talking about?

Find your private company bowl on Fishbowl, join the hottest conversation with your colleagues anonymously.
Join the Conversation

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay offered and few benefits(in 57 reviews)
  • "Poor management, overworked caseworkers do not have time to properly train their interns(in 42 reviews)
  • "Salary is low but encouraging(in 34 reviews)
  • "The only downside is that it's an unpaid internship and it caters more to privileged individuals who can afford an unpaid internship.(in 32 reviews)
  • "long hours even though it is an internship (depending on office and who you are working for)(in 18 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of International Rescue Committee and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "learned a lot"

Return to all Reviews
93
  1. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Case Work intern review

    May 16, 2016 - Case Work in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Lots of opportunities to interact with clients and develop language skills Case workers are wonderful people Reimburse you for transporting clients Get outside of the office fairly often

    Cons

    Very stressful but that is the nature of the work Most positions are unpaid Very understaffed High turnover rate Upper management might as well be nonexistent

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    great experience

    Aug 13, 2020 - Safety and Wellness Unit in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This organization does amazing work, and I loved everyone that I directly worked with. I learned a lot about the asylum process and the social/legal needs of those navigating it.

    Cons

    It was kind of disorganized, there were many days when I wasn't given an assignment and didn't know what I should be doing.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the International Rescue Committee team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee

    great organization , very kind full , professional staff

    Dec 14, 2017 - Interpreter in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    be part of this great team and be able to help refugees and meet a lot of cultures

    Cons

    there is really nothing to say

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Former Intern

    Intern Refugee Resettlement

    Nov 23, 2015 - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -learn a lot about the process refugees have to go through upon arrival to the US -exposed to many cultures and practices -help those who have no idea how to navigate the US bureaucratic system

    Cons

    -long hours even though it is an internship (depending on office and who you are working for) -a lot of driving around and waiting (at Social Security, DHS , Health Clinic, and other places)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Intern

    n/a

    Jan 25, 2021 - Economic Empowerment Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to gain a lot of hands on experience and was given valuable responsibilities as an intern.

    Cons

    COVID made the experience slightly different being completely online.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Nice organization to work at; has a purpose and a vision

    May 6, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Irbid
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can learn a lot by working here; and you would get to serve those in most need. I have enjoyed my 8 years working here

    Cons

    The organization grew a lot in the past years but its systems has not kept up with the growth scale. This is felt by the workload there, as systems are not yet fit for purpose

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing work experience. Poor management and work/life balance.

    Oct 11, 2019 - Caseworker in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great population to work with. Most of the employees are highly dedicated. You are given a lot of opportunities to create programming to address needs of the clients as they arise. If you can be a caseworker here you will be able to do any job in the social service industry.

    Cons

    High turnover due to poor management causes them to lose their best employees. It is an attractive place to work so they attract talented workers, however they burnout rate is high and they move on quickly. You are only allowed to work 37.5 hours, and that is not enough time to complete all your work. Overtime pay is rarely given. The culture that has been created by management is you are expected to work overtime to complete all your work without receiving pay.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Intern

    Internship Experience

    Mar 5, 2014 - Intern in Baltimore, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I really enjoyed my coworkers and was immediately getting hands on experience. I learned a lot and was able to see many different aspects of the domestic resettlement program. Within a week I felt like I was a contributing member of the team.

    Cons

    There was no structure to the internship, no beginning, middle and end and no clear expectations of what I, as the intern, was supposed to get out of the experience. It was also clear to me that the organization would be unable to function without interns and I found that morally questionable. By the end of my time at the IRC I was functioning at the level of a part-time staff member, without getting paid. While I didn't mind because at the time I felt I was getting such valuable experience and also really enjoyed what I was doing, looking back I wonder if I was being taken advantage of.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Intern

    Apr 1, 2015 - Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great organization, that really has an impact on refugees lives. As an intern, I learned a lot. I was really challenged and my supervisor gave me a lot of responsibilities (which I appreciated). Met some great people and really enjoyed working with refugees.

    Cons

    I wish interns were reimbursed, especially when diving clients.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Coworkers, Okay Benefits, Average Turnover 2 years

    Jun 27, 2022 - Employment Specialist in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Committed, dedicated people compared to other resettlement organizations. Upper manager is available, but your experience depends a lot on your immediate supervisor. Made a lot of friends with dedicated people who are talented and want to help people

    Cons

    Low starting pay ($17), benefits okay for new graduates but insufficient for those with families. Some people may experience conflict with coworkers. Can be gossipy or distracting depending on who is currently working on your team. Entry level workers on average stay about 2 years.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 93 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with International Rescue Committee Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at International Rescue Committee? Share Your Experiences

International Rescue Committee logo

International Rescue Committee

or

Get Community Insights About International Rescue Committee

Candid workplace conversations with real professionals.

Job Referrals!
169.3K

Job Referrals!

Best way to get your foot in the door with your favorite company! Plus employees won’t mind getting that referral money!

Interview Tips
164.7K

Interview Tips

Feel free to post any interview questions you might be asked and I’ll help you compose an effective response :)

Salary Negotiations
173.1K

Salary Negotiations

A community to ask questions and seek advice on negotiating your salary, compensation, etc.

Reviews by Job Title

International Rescue Committee Photos

+ Add Photo
International Rescue Committee photo of: PBC visit
International Rescue Committee photo of: Thailand
International Rescue Committee photo of: Myanmar
International Rescue Committee photo of: Syria
International Rescue Committee photo of: Refugee
International Rescue Committee photo of: Syria
International Rescue Committee photo of: Malualkon
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

International Rescue Committee Job Seekers Also Viewed

Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation Logo
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

4

571 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,558 International Rescue Committee reviews submitted anonymously by International Rescue Committee employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if International Rescue Committee is right for you.