International Student Exchange Reviews | Glassdoor

International Student Exchange Reviews

Updated 7 de Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
International Student Exchange CEO Wayne Brewer (no image)
Wayne Brewer
11 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International Student Exchange full-time

    Pros

    I came to ISE from another placement organization, where I had been for 7 years. In a rewarding but tough industry, ISE is truly outstanding. They're well planned, well executed, and listen to their staff. There's loyalty and respect among the team, and far below average turnover of staff and contract workers.

    Cons

    Busy summers, but that's industry wide.

    Continue reading
    International Student Exchange2018-08-24
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Never Again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International Student Exchange part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The data base they worked with was easy and user friendly.

    Cons

    All about the money. It was alarming how many students were placed in non compliant homes. Transparency is definitely not a top priority. And they practice bully type behavior to get families and employees to do what they want instead of what’s right.

    Continue reading
    International Student Exchange2019-01-11
  3. Helpful (13)

    "Do not get involved with this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at International Student Exchange full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get to do a lot of personal things for manager on ise time.

    Cons

    Managers make you lie on reports, put kids with disgusting families. Punish kids if they complain. The way they talk about the kids is absolutely disgusting. Manager scams company weekly. Buys food and items from staples on corporate card for personal use. Will also buy item then return for cash. Forges signatures on forms. Puts family on payroll but they really don't work for company. Lies and says they do home visits but do not.

    Continue reading
    International Student Exchange2017-04-29

    International Student Exchange Response

    May 12, 2017Marketing Coordinator

    Hello and thank you for your review. We find the details of your experience very concerning and would greatly appreciate you sending us a message at contact@iseusa.org so that we can investigate this issue. Student safety and success is our top priority, as is the integrity of our field staff.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting multicultural environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at International Student Exchange full-time

    Pros

    Frequent travel, good cause, decent pay, plenty of resources

    Cons

    Long hours, stressful summer months,

    International Student Exchange2016-08-30
  5. Helpful (4)

    "none"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Babylon, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International Student Exchange full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    co-workers are nice. Town is nice

    Cons

    too many to say. too much micro managing

    Continue reading
    International Student Exchange2016-07-20
  6. Helpful (3)

    "They just care about money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Babylon, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at International Student Exchange

    Pros

    I didn't see any pros

    Cons

    A lot of cons, I think there are just them!

    Continue reading
    International Student Exchange2016-07-16

    International Student Exchange Response

    May 12, 2017Marketing Coordinator

    Hello and thank you for your feedback, The safety, well-being, and success of our students is our top priority. Every host family that is accepted into our program, as well as every student, must pass a rigorous screening that abides and exceeds the official D.O.S. guidelines by which we are regulated. Our host family screening includes a criminal background check, in-person home inspection with photos, in-person meetings with each member of the household, and a comprehensive application. We also employ a staff of dedicated guidance and student services staff to address any and all student concerns from our home office as well as assign each student their own local representative who is their personal point of contact for any issues throughout their stay. We require representatives to contact us directly if they believe a student is in an unsuitable home so that me may resolve the issue or relocate the student as necessary. This is one of the main and most important functions of our Area Representative role. A student would never be dismissed from our program simply for raising an issue with their living arrangements. We believe in open and frequent communication and have an official process to resolve these issues in a manner that still promotes a successful program. Dismissal is always a last resort that we will avoid if at all possible

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Regional Advisor in California, MD

    I have been working at International Student Exchange

    Pros

    If you know marketing or are eager to learn 50% of it on your own, this is a great opportunity. This is a very self motivated job. Fortunately the product that you are marketing is excellent and very interesting. You are working to place excellent students, (which an overwhelmingly majority of them are), in volunteer host families. It's a wonderful way to get to know your community and learn from the international students. You get to work at home on your own schedule. You get to travel the world on vacation once a year if you meet your quota.

    Cons

    I learned how to do this very quickly with no marketing background but it is not meant for someone who is not willing to put forth a good bit of effort. It may take a couple of years to set up a base for advertising so that it is easier to do the job.

    Continue reading
    International Student Exchange2015-10-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Student Facilitator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at International Student Exchange

    Pros

    Good environment, relatively small, great location

    Cons

    No room to grow, it is kind of a dead end job, gets really busy in August

    International Student Exchange2015-09-24
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Fun work for a good cause"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Corporate HQ 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International Student Exchange

    Pros

    - Family-oriented company dynamic. Majority of employees are very friendly and dedicated to the cause. - Ability to experiment with different marketing strategies with creative freedom. - Ability to learn about new cultures. - Fun interactions with students and families, most of whom have great experiences with the program and are very excited about our cause. - Opportunity for domestic and international travel! Frequent trips throughout the US and yearly incentive trips to great international locations such as England, Ireland, and Brazil. - Dynamic and ever-improving environment, HQ is willing to experiment with new ideas and platforms and is open to advice from employees.

    Cons

    - Not necessarily a con, but employees must be self-motivated. Tasks are not always passed down for each stage in the program...it's up to you to stay on top of your progress. - Offices located all over the country, so communication between regions can be difficult at times.

    Continue reading
    International Student Exchange2014-12-05
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Creative and for a good cause, Perfect for Motivated Self-Starters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at International Student Exchange full-time

    Pros

    Creative environment that allows you to take on as many projects are you are willing to seek out. The office culture is very family-oriented an warm, and there is a dedicated compliance department that helps make sure that all state department regulations are followed. I've heard the most heart-warming stories from some of the host families and students involved in the program, and employees can go home knowing that they are working towards a good cause in their communities. The international and domestic travel opportunities are also a great perk!

    Cons

    Working with teenagers can be difficult at times, particularly when they are missing home and in an unfamiliar place. Also, there could be more communication between regions to keep everyone informed of what's going on.

    International Student Exchange2014-10-21
Found 17 reviews