Internet Brands "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Internet Brands Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
66%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Internet Brands CEO Bob Brisco
Bob Brisco
282 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, work-life balance, standing desks(in 37 reviews)

  • "Lovely people to work with, 401(k) match as of January 2019 , exciting work environment, and challenging projects that move the needle(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very low pay compared to the market(in 52 reviews)

  • "Because of the high turnover rate(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company to grow with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Recruiter in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Internet Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, work-life balance, standing desks

    Cons

    The free coffee they have to offer isn't the best

    Internet Brands2019-11-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Very, very low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in El Segundo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Internet Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - low effort - work/life balance

    Cons

    - incredibly low pay and poor benefits - the DMV of tech

    Internet Brands2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Where to work while looking for something else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Internet Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You very rarely will have to work late and you can create work life balance.

    Cons

    Terrible management. I mean terrible. The people that are the Directors and VPs of the teams there are some of the worst I have experienced in my career. Very high turnover and the pay is much lower than industry standard, which could help to explain why they don't get the best candidates for Director and higher roles.

    Continue reading
    Internet Brands2019-07-11
  4. "Great stepping stone for those starting, not a lot of growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software QA Engineering 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Internet Brands for more than a year

    Pros

    - Was thoroughly trained in manual and automated QA testing methodologies - Company events were fun - Work/life balance was good

    Cons

    - Low pay - Little to no room for growth

    Internet Brands2019-07-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place if you’re out of college or high school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Recruiter in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Internet Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - relaxed environment - work life balance - coworkers are great

    Cons

    - pay! They don’t pay close to market level. They purposely hire entry level people to pay them close to minimum wage. - the CEO. He’s horrible, not friendly, does not engage with anyone. - some directors/managers are bullies and have no previous experience to the industry their in. - benefits are pretty bad for a so called “tech company”. - strict 9-6 schedule - outdated benefits/perks Point being, if this is your first job out of college, why not join, you’ll get experience and take that and go somewhere else. But if you have experience, please don’t bother here. You’ll hate it! You’ll never learn/grow and will immediately start your job search again.

    Continue reading
    Internet Brands2019-06-27
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Internet Brands full-time

    Pros

    Casual dress code, fun people, casual environment, amazing work-life balance

    Cons

    Poor communication and transparency at times

    Internet Brands2019-05-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Internet Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company if you want to grow. Freedom to do your job. The office is great, view of the ocean, LAX. Good work life balance. No office politics. Decent benefits, 401k match.

    Cons

    No pets at work. No real training program Communication across verticals is lacking.

    Internet Brands2019-04-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Internet brands"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Internet Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Fun place to work - Manager encourages team to come up with solutions and acts upon them - Work life balance - 401k match - Snacks

    Cons

    - Sometimes it can be almost too casual - pay

    Internet Brands2019-04-22
  9. "Its fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in El Segundo, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Internet Brands full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment good culture work life balance

    Cons

    not enough pay no direction no parties

    Internet Brands2019-04-12
  10. "Friendly people, good place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Interaction Designer in El Segundo, CA
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Internet Brands full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly people and I was fortunate to have a very good team. Work life balance is good as the company don't have high expectations. As long as you do your work and come to work everyday with less demands of promotion etc.. then they are happy. Though they don't pay very well, I still enjoyed my time working at IB because of my team and the friends that I made there. If you are good at what you do and don't care much about money, growth etc... and simply wish for a relaxed and less stressful day to day job then this is a great place for you. However, it may depend on the team that you are working with.

    Cons

    Management don't care much about people. They don't appreciate quality work. There is not much scope for promotions or bonus or even a growing path for professionals. Salary increase may or may not happen. There is no clear vision on the growth of the products they work upon. Good people leave the company not because they don't like to work, but mainly because their boss is/was not good. The company simply don't recognize talented people.

    Continue reading
    Internet Brands2019-03-07
Found 37 reviews