Interstate Bakeries Reviews | Glassdoor

Interstate Bakeries Reviews

Updated Jul 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
25%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Interstate Bakeries CEO Brian J. Driscoll (no image)
Brian J. Driscoll
10 Ratings
  1. "District Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hostess Brands was a good company, with committed employees. The company was making positive changes to advance positive future growth.

    Cons

    The company shut down; due to unresolved issues from strike,that the Bakers Union issued. The company rights was sold, in 2013. No field managers.

    Interstate Bakeries2015-05-20
  2. "Wonder Why"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries full-time

    Pros

    Very nice work environment and compensation was great. Would recommend this job to anyone especially because of the union benefits.

    Cons

    Very early start times. Also would be delays in trucks be loaded because of production back ups. Also some of the equipment needed to be updated.

    Advice to Management

    There’s nothing that I can say about management. I think they did a fair job and you could bring problems and concerns to them without any fear of repercussions.

    Interstate Bakeries2018-07-19
  3. "Route sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RSR Route Sales Representative in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries full-time

    Pros

    Descent money and good benefits

    Cons

    No more work . Went out business

    Advice to Management

    Na

    Interstate Bakeries2018-01-24
  4. "ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Worker in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries for more than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, good work environment

    Cons

    shift work, long hours overtime

    Advice to Management

    keep up goodwork

    Interstate Bakeries2017-10-09
  5. "Route Salesman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Pedro, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay for the work that you did, when you were done with your route you could get off early.

    Cons

    Have to work on rainy days and in the bad weather.

    Advice to Management

    Need to train the new works better, so they stay on and do not quit.

    Interstate Bakeries2017-01-01
  6. "Bakery outlet Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Bakery Outlet Clerk 

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay rate.

    Cons

    No longer under the same name due to bankruptcy.

    Interstate Bakeries2016-09-05
  7. "shipping dock operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good environment to work in

    Cons

    It was really hot in the summers and cold in the winters

    Interstate Bakeries2016-06-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a job when I needed one, but I didn't like it. Going to some Wal Marts was a big pain as the person who ran the back door could be really creepy and make you wait outside even though it was raining.

    Cons

    Had to be at work at 2 AM and didn't leave until 5 PM . Management tried to tell us when we had to be at each store - even though some of the stores weren't open when we were supposed to be there.

    Advice to Management

    Glad you went broke, because you guys were just dumb as rocks.Just because you paid some guy who was supposed to fix everything, because you didn't ask or listen to the people who did the work, you went bankrupt.

    Interstate Bakeries2015-06-29
  9. "Fleet manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Manager in Nlr, AR

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work with, not standing over you. Allowed you to make decisions without lots of red tape, causing a better flow of work turned out. Great snacks always available too. lol

    Cons

    Top was to greedy and flow of money to workers dried up.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your workers as an asset instead of a monthly bill you need to cut down. Invest in them and you will get better workers.

    Interstate Bakeries2015-04-28
  10. "It was just ok."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Bakeries

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits with excellent opportunity to move up. With mandatory overtime and weekly payment.

    Cons

    Bad upper management and lazy Co workers. And the strike was really dumb omg.

    Advice to Management

    Get smarter please.

    Interstate Bakeries2015-02-20
Found 26 reviews