Interstate Hotels & Resorts Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Interstate Hotels & Resorts President and CEO Michael J. Deitemeyer
Michael J. Deitemeyer
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes there is a struggle for work-life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Upper management does not appreciate you and treat you as you are expendable(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love the company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent 

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts part-time

    Pros

    great benefits for the employees

    Cons

    don't think i have any

    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-01-17
  2. "Great Potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Fort Meade, FL

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, People, Learn, Relationships

    Cons

    Normal job cons Here , can’t complain

    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-05-29
  3. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Housekeeper in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and fantastic home/work balance

    Cons

    Hidden agendas from some managers as usual.

    Continue reading
    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-05-05
  4. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Revenue Management in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits including healthcare and 401-k

    Cons

    Company seems to be going through buy outs and change in senior leadership every 2-3 years and has been for the past 10 years. No opportunity for promotion above the hotel level since they bring in corporate level people from the sale.

    Continue reading
    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-05-01
  5. "Solid company with excellent tool set for all levels of management"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Sales and Marketing 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    Excellent online resources for all departments. Regular communication with staff. Large portfolio which affords a lot of opportunities.

    Cons

    GMs, in some cases, need additional training and experience. Communication above property is discouraged even on major issues with the messenger feeling penalized. Benefits are below average to other industries across the Board which has been a trend over many years. Hospitality is NOT an industry leader when it comes to overall benefits.

    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-04-28
  6. "20+ years & treated like a number when laid off"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, discounts, some staff is nice

    Cons

    Communication is bad, company only cares about themselves

    Continue reading
    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-05-08
  7. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Assistant in Anchorage, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company treats their employees fair and great benefits

    Cons

    Need more incentives or perks; i.e. use of excerise room or swimming pool

    Continue reading
    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-03-04
  8. "Good company as far as hospitality goes"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Guest Service Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people I interacted with directly were very kind.

    Cons

    PTO does not roll over at the end of the year

    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-03-03
  9. "Review"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    team is great, really hardworking

    Cons

    None, there is alway room for improvement but leadership does well

    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-03-02
  10. "Below Average"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sous Chef 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Interstate Hotels & Resorts full-time

    Pros

    flexible hours, understand when you are ill, but this only applies to your immediate supervisor.

    Cons

    Interruption when working. Too many pop up banquet events. Higher management not supporting the Food and Beverage Department.

    Continue reading
    Interstate Hotels & Resorts2020-04-04
Found 401 reviews