Intertape Reviews | Glassdoor

Intertape Reviews

Updated Nov 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
86%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Intertape CEO    Greg Yull
Greg Yull
9 Ratings
  1. "Good Paying Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Coordinator in Marysville, MI
    Recommends

    I worked at Intertape full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Good benefits Long term employees

    Cons

    Working conditions were dirty and old

    Intertape2019-11-10
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Consultant in Sarasota, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intertape for less than a year

    Pros

    Professional and yet very nice people, very easy to work with. Working there is a pleasure.

    Cons

    I don't have a negative to add.

    Intertape2019-09-18
  3. "Good place to work and develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chemist in Marysville, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intertape full-time

    Pros

    Some good leaders here, with solid plans on future development. Taking some moderate steps to improve the business and capabilities.

    Cons

    Could have more vision, take larger risks to really establish the company.

    Intertape2018-06-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Solid company - but know what you're getting into"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intertape full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Hard working team members. - Pleasant office space - Good employee benefits - Fair & Reasonable salaries

    Cons

    - Unrealistic expectations. Often mgmt puts unrealistic expectations on employees. This could be because there are unrealistic expectations placed upon mgmt. If you don't meet these expectations (requiring late hours, weekend work, excessive travel) you will be "coached" on how your employment should take top priority. - Discourage collaboration - don't ask for help & don't make any suggestions. They aren't interested in process improvement, communication and interdepartmental collaboration. There are a lot of egos at work - any suggestion of change is met with resentment - almost considered a personal attack by some members of senior mgmt. The result is an unwashable black mark on you. - Employee shelf life. If you make it past 2 years, you'll probably be there forever. Initially, another employee told me this within my first month of employment. Of course, I refused to believe it. It did appear to be true time and time again. At around the 2-year mark, even if you do everything to meet their expectations if you have irritated mgmt (even unintentionally, through suggested change), you will be "laid off". The handwriting is often on the wall, so be cautious at all times. It's often better to choose to leave, then be asked. - Personal Time - Don't ever have a family issue and don't try to take your vacation. With family issues (divorce, child care or illness, serious family illness) Management will say they will support you - even with full disclosure. Ultimately, they will not support you. Again, this is a repetitive pattern, not an isolated incident. HR is great and does everything possible to support the employees. Unfortunately, HR is not supported by senior mgmt. Family issues are seen as a sign of weakness and those employees are "let go" - IPG exercising their right to term at will. One day someone's desk is full - the next they are gone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It never looks good to terminate multiple employees going through family or personal issues, especially when those issues have been disclosed to HR & mgmt. Telling someone "take all the time you need" and then terminating them for taking that time just isn't right. Like I mentioned, this was not my experience, but definitely influenced my decision to leave the company. After seeing how employees going through personal trauma were treated, even after decades of loyal service, it became clear that mgmt has the company interests at heart - not the welfare of employees. While I understand this mentality and rationale, it wasn't the right fit for me. I'm fairly sure this will fall on deaf ears, but professionalism in the workplace is important. There have been multiple occasions where a less than professional or HR approved behavior is tolerated (even encouraged and demonstrated) by senior mgmt. It definitely created an atmosphere of discomfort for female and homosexual employees.

    Show More
    Intertape2018-01-22
  5. "Can be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertape full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Schedule Good Benefits Travel Continued education benefits

    Cons

    Poor communication from above Poor leadership - not interested in developing leaders from within Constantly shifting priorities - fighting fires instead of preventing them

    Advice to Management

    Communicate better with each other instead of pitting the non management against each other.

    Intertape2017-10-04
  6. "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Intertape full-time

    Pros

    Good working environment even with the fast pace

    Cons

    Funding for projects is hap-hazard

    Intertape2017-09-22
  7. "Inventory Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intertape

    Pros

    Good culture friendly work force

    Cons

    Unreasonable Expectations far too often

    Intertape2017-03-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Unstable Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Production Worker in Columbia, SC

    I worked at Intertape

    Pros

    - Some nice people work at Intertape - They tend to pay well - They are in growth mode

    Cons

    - Senior management does not focus and tends to take :"flavor of the day" approach - Senior management promotes an adversarial management style

    Intertape2016-08-22
  9. "Interesting products to sell"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Golden, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intertape for more than a year

    Pros

    Great variety of products to offer.

    Cons

    Poor management decisions, and slow to react to problems and issues at hand

    Advice to Management

    Invest more in your people who are on the front lines selling for you.

    Intertape2016-08-14
  10. "Strong growing international company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Truro, NS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intertape full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growth, flexibility, innovative, safe, high standards

    Cons

    salaried positions not compensated for often expected overtime.

    Intertape2019-10-15
Found 13 reviews