Intrado Reviews | Glassdoor

Intrado Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1920 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Intrado CEO John Shlonsky
John Shlonsky
198 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Endless possibilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Manager in Islandia, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    In my time at West/Intrado, I have experienced a lot of change. We are on a journey and evolving as an organization. What shouldn’t be missed are the real opportunities to put your personal stamp on our products and services, how we get work done, and our relationships with customers. This is absolutely the right place for prospective team members interested in rolling up their sleeves and digging in. The possibilities are endless. Competitive pay and benefits. Renewed focus on professional development at all levels.

    Cons

    In a dynamic and rapidly changing environment like ours, it can sometimes feel like it’s hard to keep up.

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-09-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Invest in a company that is willing to invest in you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Designer/Developer in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and work from home option once a week. Great team and manager. The company has spent time and money creating developU, the company's online university that encourages employees to improve their knowledge. Employees are encouraged to share new and innovative ideas with the company. CEO is transparent at a very high level.

    Cons

    Since the last time I've posted a review, not much has changed with West Corp (now known as Intrado). Intrado does not offer bonuses below a Director level but has created a Pay for Performance system, a merit system that offers an average annual wage increase of 2%. Merit/pay increases and title changes are still not based on experience or success like most companies and little to no new career paths are offered. Through DevelopU it’s clear that Intrado wants employees to complete courses and promote career growth without offering new positions and wages to match the new role. The joke around the office is that through Intrado's DevelopU, the company wants to educate you for a higher paying role and better position at another company. Without real merit outside the dismal pay for performance system, what’s the point of taking these courses? Employees are encouraged to share new and innovative ideas with the company. Essentially Intrado wants to own and further develop your ideas without involving you in legal ownership of the idea/innovation. Anyone that has knowledge of modern start-up models knows that there are better and easier ways to own your ideas with 50% to 100% legal ownership. Over the past year random employees have been terminated without our manager or director's involvement, and senior leadership seems to have a totally different standard than most modern IT companies. It seems as if VPs and SVPs that have been with West/Intrado for many years obviously don't understand how modern leadership, career growth, and team morale influence overall great winning behaviors and innovation. If you're a student out of school or a senior level employee that is joining Intrado and doesn't need much in wage growth, trust me, Intrado is perfect for you. If you want to grow or excel beyond 1-2 years of experience, Intrado isn't for you at all. Invest in a company that is willing to invest in you and reward reasonably for your great collaboration, innovation, and execution.

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-10-14
  3. "Good place if you join with right figures"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Analyst in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Professional teams, latest stack of tech, most of the teams follow agile.

    Cons

    Avg in benefits. Lots of layoffs off late.

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-10-10
  4. "I just recently started working for Intrado!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Islandia, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely welcoming and friendly environment, great on-boarding experience, helpful transition!

    Cons

    Do not have anything negative to say!

    Intrado2019-10-10
  5. "not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Intrado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Set your own hours, take breaks when you needed.

    Cons

    Higher ups think they can do whatever they wanted

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-10-10
  6. "Great if you like being an unimportant cog in upper management's money making machine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time

    Pros

    My immediate coworkers are fantastic and I'm proud to consider a number of them good friends.

    Cons

    Multiple departments are hemorrhaging employees due to how poorly upper management treats people -- I've personally witnessed at least three people who had been trying for months to negotiate with management finally get fed up and walk out in the middle of their shift. Management regularly fires good workers with solid work records and will feed you lines about positions being "reorganized" -- don't be fooled! If a good worker gets fired, they probably have one of the highest non-management salaries! Company is incredibly anti-union, though that's hardly a surprise. Wouldn't want your money printing machines (sorry, "employees") to know there are better things out there! Opportunities for advancement are basically non-existent. Yearly reviews regularly knowingly rate employees a point or two low because employees (and their immediate supervisors) will get in trouble if employees don't show "improvement." In other words: even if you're fantastic, your supervisor can't call you fantastic, because there's no room for improvement in fantastic. You have to be rated mediocre so you can "improve" or you're risking your job. How demoralizing is that? Speaking of mediocre, your salary will be mediocre, too. Which sucks because healthcare is horrifically expensive and management is openly proud of how mediocre the care is. Company didn't provide parental leave until it was essentially bullied into it within the last year. PTO is average, and better than it was now that sick time has been split out of regular PTO. Still, try not to get sick if you can help it, though good luck with that considering how much overtime happens. In short: if you're desperate for work, by all means, work here. But get out of Dodge at your first opportunity. I certainly plan to.

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-10-07
  7. Helpful (2)

    "meh..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Even Specialist Operator in West Point, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Get to work with top company CEOs and also celebrities.

    Cons

    No recognition for your work, no more bonuses, no room to grow, raises are unfair-(those who do less work get bigger raises), health insurance is TOO expensive, PTO has to be accrued, can be fired for looking sleepy, cannot have personal conversations when there is nothing to do, can not snack on healthy snacks as they are too "sticky" or "make too much noise", constant changes in rules\procedures without us being notified until weeks later-but you still get written up for not following the procedure you had no idea existed. We are told to lie to customers so that mgmt can out a spin on what they want the client to know so they can avoid refunds and getting yelled at. Sales reps lie to customers and trick them into getting features they don't need so that they can make their quota. Honesty from us is frowned upon.

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-10-02
  8. "new name less benes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Psap Technician in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    flexible hours most of the time

    Cons

    worked to death most of the time

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-09-29
  9. "Its like high school but everyone is the kid who wishes they were cool so they treat you like crap."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Appleton, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Intrado full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good if you aren't completely incompetent, and live a sad lonely life in an apartment in Appleton.

    Cons

    If you aren't completely incompetent everyone will treat you like you are because they are jealous that you can sit on your rear for 8 hours a day and make phones calls better. They will ostracize you for being different and act like you are the weird one, while they sit there talking about their esoteric workplace jokes that involve stuff, like being transphobic, calling old people crazy, pretending like everyone is worse at their job than you, and bragging about how many absolutely pointless phone calls you have made.

    Continue reading
    Intrado2019-09-28
  10. "Intrado Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intrado full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They have a good vision for future business/products

    Cons

    They often lack agility and need to streamline processes

    Intrado2019-09-27
Found 1920 reviews