Intuitive Surgical Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.5
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "The work life balance is excellent(in 23 reviews)

  • "Innovative company that is pushing the bounds of surgery(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be challenging(in 35 reviews)

  • "Fast-paced environment can be overwhelming but leadership is cognizant of that and willing to help(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (24)

    "Best company I've worked for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Innovative technology that is having a true impact on patients -Continuous investment into R&D and growth for a very promising future -A lot of room for personal/professional growth, development and opportunity for movement -Challenging and fast-paced work environment for those who thrive in that type of culture -Clear vision for the future, short-and long-term -Inviting and inclusive leadership team with high expectations

    Cons

    -Fast-paced environment can be overwhelming but leadership is cognizant of that and willing to help -Org is frequently changing - lots of movement across teams but most with the intent of personal/professional growth

    Continue reading
    Intuitive Surgical2019-06-20
  2. "Great Interview Experience"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Director in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to work with through interview process; great people on their teams; Excellent follow-through and communications; overall extremely satisfied with my experience

    Cons

    I have no cons for my experience.

    Intuitive Surgical2020-05-27
  3. "Good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good resources for representatives to utilize

    Cons

    Tough sales but rewarding when they come

    Intuitive Surgical2020-05-19
  4. "Intuitive & our CEO Gary Guthart are AWESOME!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Recruiter in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I am so proud to work at Intuitive! The manner in which our leadership team and company has responded to COVID makes me so proud to be an employee of this amazing company. They are paying out bonuses early, expanded benefits to those in need, through our Intuitive Foundation have donated help to our customers and the hospitals they serve. I have never been a part of such a company that cares for its' employees needs in such a special way. People first stands out.

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons in working here.

    Intuitive Surgical2020-05-01
  5. "Amazing Employee Centric Environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Service Desk Technician in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive work environment Employees treated excellently Amazing Benefits

    Cons

    To this date I have non

    Intuitive Surgical2020-04-30
  6. "A decent company with great CEO and good perks"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programming in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay and work and life balance

    Cons

    Unless you are in core engineering team there is little scope to get to work on advanced technologies.

    Continue reading
    Intuitive Surgical2020-05-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, awesome people, still having some growing pains"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The leadership is extremely inspiring. Almost everyone here is invested and believes in our mission. The majority of the people match the culture leadership describes (with exceptions here and there). People who don't match the culture often get weeded out eventually. The benefits are great, pay is competitive, and the opportunities for advancement are plentiful. The company is financially responsible, and even as individual contributors, we have faith that we can weather storms and economic crises.

    Cons

    Being financially responsible sometimes means being too frugal. The IT infrastructure that employees use to work is severely convoluted, with programs upon programs layering on top of one another. When everyone went remote because of the COVID-19 pandemic, our holes in IT infrastructure and remote policies became exposed. Depending on your team, you can experience incredible teamwork and collaboration, or a "good-ol' boys' club" that is all about favoritism and politics.

    Continue reading
    Intuitive Surgical2020-04-16
  8. "Great Mission and Vision but employees need motivation"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company definitely knows how to take care of their customers. On boarding was great and some departments have great leaders.

    Cons

    Growth within the company is very difficult. Mainly if your manager doesn't believe in you, you're not going anywhere anytime soon. Majority of employees quit because management doesn't spend the time to help with the employees career path.

    Continue reading
    Intuitive Surgical2020-04-02
  9. "Good company to work for if you can deal with fast pace environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supply Demand Planner in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical

    Pros

    Company industry to help people with ongoing innovations, good career enhancement environment, good benefit, the management cares for the employees

    Cons

    Work life balance can be challenging

    Continue reading
    Intuitive Surgical2020-03-25
  10. "No work life balance, No rewards for extra effort, Politics"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Intuitive Surgical full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Comparable compensation in Bay Area with the stock options, RSU, etc

    Cons

    No work life balance. Politics. Rigid hierarchy. Uncooperative coworkers. Slow promotions despite the performance. If you want to work with competent collaborative people who are interested in growing and committed to doing things right, go elsewhere.

    Intuitive Surgical2020-04-26
Found 418 reviews