Investigo Reviews | Glassdoor

Investigo Reviews

Updated January 16, 2019
154 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Nick Baxter
73 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Senior management are very approachable for all types of day to day recruitment advice" (in 17 reviews)

  • "Along with very generous commission structures, there are some great incentives such as quarterly high achievers trips, annual away conference, etc" (in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work-life balance could be better" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Some attitudes across the business I don't agree with" (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    -High growth
    -Great people which create a fantastic culture
    -Leadership that listen and action feedback
    -Strong emphasis on D&I

    Cons

    -Different teams can sometimes promote their people faster than others, (depending on team requirements) meaning that higher performers are not necessarily as recognised as they should be

    Advice to Management

    -Continue listening to the feedback of employees


  2. "You can see why Investigo wins so many awards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Feeling part of a really ambitious, high performing business
    - Strong compensation, decent commission schemes for all sales staff, and industry leading Long Term Incentive Plans (LTIP's) at Director level
    - Mature environment
    - Very high caliber recruiters, demonstrated by strong average billings across the business
    - Strong vision set from above for the future direction of the business
    - Great focus on CSR, Diversity and Inclusion, Charity events
    - Fun culture; flexible working; great incentives eg. skiing holidays
    - Business focuses on supporting the right drivers, behaviours and performance metrics for the team and for the individual, but not is not KPI-driven
    - Good blend between management and support, and autonomy
    - International opportunities eg. New York

    Cons

    - Teams and Practices within the business are run quite independently so one's experience can vary a lot from one business unit to another
    - Most Consultants have prior experience, and have worked at at least one other recruitment business before - as such, somebody with this profile may be best suited

    Advice to Management

    There are big plans to grow over the next few years - ensure to keep the same rigour, and the same focus on culture, and quality of personnel as the business evolves

  3. "The best is yet to come!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I personally have loved working at Investigo and would recommend joining our business to anyone that is looking for a fun, inclusive, high performing environment with a real appetite to be the best in the market. We opened our doors in the US in January 2018 and I couldn't be more proud of the success we've achieved to date.

    Pros-

    -With Investigo already being a highly successful international recruitment business, our US office feels like a cool VC backed start up.
    -The people! our biggest factor in hiring has been with the company culture in mind. We get flexible hours and I feel like the company works hard to make sure we're reminded that we "work to live not live to work".
    - The future! As I said we've achieved a lot in our first 10 months but there is so far to go to get to the top. We have an amazing opportunity for people to accelerate their careers while helping to build Investigo US.
    -The Fun! We are the main priority for Investigo's leadership, the people make the culture and the culture creates success. Plus we have cool team nights out and incentives.

    Cons

    Our UK business has been voted recruitment company of the year for the last two years and it's tough to miss out on that environment and all the fun events because we're in the US. Saying that I love being part of building our US business and we're working on being just as good (if not better)

    Advice to Management

    More of the same and lets go back to Batsu!


  4. "Senior Principal Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Saint Albans, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Consultant in Saint Albans, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Investigo is a highly enjoyable business to work for which is unrecognisable from the company I joined 8 years ago. Our growth is nothing short of exceptional. The working environment is second to non - Inclusive, passionate, supportive and incredibly fun. All my colleagues, from the Admin team to the Senior Directors are a breath of fresh air - Incredibly supportive, professional and approachable. Investigo offers flexibility and unrivalled commission and there is nowhere I would rather work. Massively looking forward to the next 8 years!

    Cons

    In recruitment you don't stay for 8 years if you're not entirely happy........

    Investigo Response

    Jan 22, 2019 – Senior Marketing Executive

    You don't stay for 8 years in you're not entirely happy and we are delighted to hear that you are so and looking forward to your next 8 years! It is always so interesting to get insights from those... More


  5. "Superb Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Guildford, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Guildford, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Having been a long term employee, I'm leaving the with the utmost respect for the business and with only positive experiences from my time here. The Managers and Directors are supportive, accessible and can invariably impart useful knowledge to ensure you can perform to your full potential. I have seen a certain amount of change over the years, but the business has always managed to stay true to it's values, evolve, and manage to retain and attract the better people this industry has to offer.

    On that note, this is Investigo's out and out strength. Recruitment is full of "big personalities" yet Investigo have always managed to attract the more down to earth, authentic and amiable individuals. As us recruiters tend to do - i've kept my options open over the years and taken the odd opportunity to network with competitors. Having done so, I can truly say I've not come across any other businesses who have more to offer than Investigo.

    It's also worth noting the businesses ever growing commitment to CSR. It's fantastic to work for a forward thinking company who want to make a genuine difference in this area. I've personally been involved in cycling around Europe and Sky Diving all in the name of charity. The opportunity is there for everyone to support and contribute in any way which suits them.

    All in all, great culture, talented people, amazing incentives, generous commission scheme and strong leadership.

    Cons

    The business is growing fast, so as can be the case when companies expand at a fast rate, some people are being elevated quickly. I've no doubt these people will succeed as Investigo have numerous examples of successful rapid career trajectories - but this is something which needs to be carefully monitored if Investigo are to keep their reputation for strong leadership and management staff you can learn from.

    Investigo has an industry leading commission scheme above a certain level. This can make it difficult to attract/retain junior recruiters who occasionally have to wait for some time before they can see the spoils of agency recruitment. This is of course an age old issue of agency recruitment and sales generally, but something to be aware of if the business is going to continue to attract the next generation of talent.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    Investigo Response

    Jan 22, 2019 – Senior Marketing Executive

    We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to leave us such a considered review. As someone who has or is about the leave the business it is fantastic to hear you talk about your time with... More


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Fantastic culture however KPI‘s for the sake of KPI’s as opposed to top echelon recruitment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Investigo full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic company benefits.

    To name a few :

    - Ride to work scheme + an annual charity cycle to a European destination
    - Buddy lunch for your first 6 months paid for by the business.
    - Accessible marketing team for your digital paraphernalia that’s turned around quickly by reading in-between the lines and understanding what the area you recruit for.
    - A consistent flow of exciting events throughout the year for everyone to join in and contribute ideas towards.
    - Training at lunchtime to develop skill sets and learn from high billing individuals.

    Cons

    - The “Agile” working environment is totally different across the business. A grey area. Dependant on Managers mood on the day as opposed to something that’s rolled out across the business.

    - Very corporate and no feel of genuine care for employees.

    Advice to Management

    Speak to employees directly via best practice which is open blend as opposed to assumptions and involvement of other employees.

    Egotistical and awkward management styles will tamper with the commitment of passionate staff.

    Investigo Response

    Feb 11, 2019 – Senior Marketing Executive

    Thank you for leaving us your feedback from your time working at Investigo. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know what worked for you and what didn't. You list a great set of pros which... More


  7. Helpful (4)

    "Pros & Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Investigo full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Business built upon expertise with market-leading consultants
    - Good work/life balance for those that (can) adhere to flexible working
    - Fairly strong brand in the market
    - Largely inclusive environment
    - Good commission scheme (in certain instances)

    Cons

    - Growing more 'corporate' by the day and forgetting the core values of yesteryear
    - Exodus of strong experienced consultants being replaced by trainees
    - Limited appreciation of achievement; only the very best (or worst) are acknowledged (either financially or nominally)
    - Commission Scheme; structured in such a way that leaving the business will cost dearly (if you are due 'platinum bonus')
    - No commission received upon resignation (even if notice period is worked and recent billings are strong)

    Advice to Management

    - Speak to your employees (face-to-face); using 3rd party applications, online surveys and other indirect means of communication are not effective in either conflict resolution or positive appraisals

    - Value your current employees; an annual pay review wouldn't go amiss for most staff - stop relying on the 'market leading' commission scheme as an excuse

    - Be wary of growth and how it is approached:
    i) Financial: Directors' LTIPs cause unnecessary pressure on staff at certain points of the year; stop focusing on hitting momentary financial targets and focus on long-term sustainable growth
    ii) Headcount: there has been a shift away from hiring experienced staff to a 'graduate model'; this has (naturally) instilled a more KPI-driven environment which is innately contradictory to Investigo's founding values

  8. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Very good training and help throughout the business

    Cons

    Some attitudes across the business I don't agree with

    Investigo Response

    Jan 22, 2019 – Senior Marketing Executive

    As an Associate Consultant we know that training and support can be key to you finding your feet at Investigo (and in Recruitment). We are delighted to see you list it here as a pro.
    There are some... More


  9. "Principle Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo part-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Company really cares about people and after having my child five years ago I have been working on a part time basis which works really well for my work and family life.

    Cons

    Nothing to report - pretty happy

    Investigo Response

    Jan 17, 2019 – Senior Marketing Executive

    We are always pleased to hear good feedback surrounding work life balance and flexibility. It is great to see that you feel supported by Investigo and have found a balance that works well for you and... More


  10. "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in London, England (UK)
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Recruiter in London, England (UK)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Investigo full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Best company I've ever worked for

    Cons

    They gave us microwaves, soo nothing else to add.

    Advice to Management

    Don't ever change

    Investigo Response

    Jan 7, 2019 – Senior Marketing Executive

    Short but AMAZING!! I think it is safe to say your experience at investigo has been a positive one so far. Best company you have worked for is praise indeed and we now have microwaves! Thanks for... More