Iowa Pacific Holdings Reviews | Glassdoor

Iowa Pacific Holdings Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
34%
Recommend to a Friend
Iowa Pacific Holdings CEO  Ed Ellis
Ed Ellis
0 Ratings
  1. "Steward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Once in a lifetime opportunity. Loved the travel and the people I worked with. Pay and benefits where the best I've had so far.

    Cons

    Contract ended. Company in a transition closing a handful of there private and excursion train routes.

    Iowa Pacific Holdings2017-10-13
  2. "The ship is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    it teaches you how NOT to run a business, great place to work if you want to see what it's like working for a failing company.

    Cons

    upper management is in denial about the state of the company, paychecks never arrive on time, the company actually bounced one of my employee's paychecks, no contractors will talk to IPH anymore because they are all owed money. In short they earned their nickname " I owe you Pacific" for a reason.

    Advice to Management

    stop being in denial about the state of the company! accept reality, file for bankruptcy, bury the dead horse and move on!

    Iowa Pacific Holdings2018-09-10
  3. "Great Experience Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time

    Pros

    You are exposed to wearing "multiple hats" where you can gain a lot of knowledge with how small staff is throughout locations.

    Cons

    Terrible and poor communication between management and their employees. Managers love to pile on work to employees without gratitude and treat them as if they are disposable. (You will basically be working for free.) Trust me when I say you will be belittled and talked down upon pending on whom is your manager. There are select managers who love to brag about employee mistakes and enjoy playing the blame game, they never...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and show some respect, maybe then you wouldn't lose as many. Stop blaming employees for your lack of communication.

    Iowa Pacific Holdings2018-08-01
  4. "Locomotive engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Locomotive Engineer in Grenada, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None no job security. I can not even think of a single good reason

    Cons

    Paychecks late by several days all the time, equipment is unsafe and not repaired. Insurance benifits are awful. This company operates like its about to go under at any time

    Advice to Management

    Should all be fired for incompentcy and unprofessionalism

    Iowa Pacific Holdings2018-06-04
  5. "Don't count on being around for more than a couple years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time

    Pros

    The people are great. Helpful, friendly, and care about their work.

    Cons

    Do yourself a favor and read some articles about IPH on google news. Financially this company is a complete mess.The president has this magical idea that running luxury dinner, adventure, and passenger trains in the current year is a great one and will do anything to make it happen, which includes massive layoffs. They had no capital and no idea how to generate revenue outside of their christmas trains.

    Advice to Management

    Take a good hard look at the calendar.

    Iowa Pacific Holdings2017-03-22
  6. "Terrible, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sound Technician in Saratoga Springs, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I did have some fun

      Cons

      I worked seasonally at the Polar Express on the Saratoga and North Creek. Management does not communicate, or plan ahead, or care about anything besides money. They don't have any money, and it shows-equipment is old, or cheap, and in generally poor quality. They also tried to to weasel out of paying us seasonal employees our last paychecks. In fact, as of this writing it's been three months since the event ended...

      Show More
      Iowa Pacific Holdings2017-03-26
    • "Great experience for a sinking ship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings

      Pros

      You have the opportunity to get a lot of experience that you might not otherwise get at a larger company

      Cons

      Lack of direction and "mission"

      Advice to Management

      Focus on one thing, and that should not be passenger lines.

      Iowa Pacific Holdings2016-08-13
    • "it was okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time

      Pros

      Fun place to work with trains. Good pay

      Cons

      Some lack of communication. No benefits if temporary employee.

      Advice to Management

      Better communication all around. Have more permanent positions available

      Iowa Pacific Holdings2016-05-14
    • "Not a bad place to gain experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time

      Pros

      Lots of freedom, flex time, not a traditional corporate structure

      Cons

      Bad financial management overall, no enforcement of HR policies, zeo communication skills from top management

      Iowa Pacific Holdings2015-11-22
    • "Great learning experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Iowa Pacific Holdings full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      A lot of opportunity to learn the ins-and-outs

      Cons

      sometimes long hours and unclear policies

      Iowa Pacific Holdings2014-05-01
    Found 10 reviews