Iowa State University Undergraduate Research Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Iowa State University Undergraduate Research Assistant Reviews

Updated Feb 1, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
100%
Recommend to a Friend
Iowa State University CEO Wendy Wintersteen (no image)
Wendy Wintersteen
0 Rating
  1. "Industrial Design Undergraduate Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Talented, friendly, and hardworking staff - Ames is a wonderful place to live

    Cons

    - Budget cuts - Winter isn't pleasant

    Iowa State University2018-02-02
  2. "Great University"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The researchers here are well-driven and passionate about their jobs and helping undergraduates learn.

    Cons

    Research is not for everybody, but those who enjoy it will love working for Iowa State University.

    Iowa State University2017-05-04
  3. "Research Opportunities Galore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a student, it's fairly easy to get involved in research on campus. Professors are often willing to give you a shot if you're interested and even somewhat qualified.

    Cons

    Often it can be hard to balance research with a full course load depending on your activities and social life.

    Continue reading
    Iowa State University2016-07-30
  4. "Undergrad Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Undergraduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Iowa State University

    Pros

    they pay very well and the hours are never long. You can do work from home depending on who you work with and it is a good resume booster.

    Cons

    The work may be boring depending on who you work for.

    Iowa State University2016-05-11
  5. "Undergraduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Undergraduate Research Assistant in Stillwater, OK
    Recommends

    I worked at Iowa State University for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Loved working with graduate students and professors and get a taste of the research they're doing. I had a flexible schedule that allowed me to attend class and work without sacrificing my social life.

    Cons

    None. Loved my time working there.

    Iowa State University2016-03-07
  6. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA
    Recommends

    I worked at Iowa State University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The team is super friendly and helpful. Also the graduate students are always around for any concern or doubt one may have.

    Cons

    I didn't face any problems working with the team however sometimes it wasn't easy for me to analyze the data and explain it to my peers as I was working with another dept. for the same assignment.

    Continue reading
    Iowa State University2016-02-10
  7. "Undergraduate Lab Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours - worked around my class schedule Understanding graduate students and professor - understood that classes come before work

    Cons

    Not much. Depending on the lab you end up working at the grad students could be very understanding and helpful or very demanding and not give much guidance.

    Iowa State University2014-10-20
  8. "Good student work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive working environment, individualized training for my specific position but experience is very dependent upon the Principal Investigator

    Cons

    Payroll at ISU can be dicey to begin, but overall the job was a positive experience

    Continue reading
    Iowa State University2014-08-21
  9. "Good research opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive mentors, easy hours, good pay for part time student work

    Cons

    Not much. Just is important to be able to maintain a good school/research balance

    Iowa State University2014-07-16
  10. "Challenging yet rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undergraduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can choose your own hours as long as you get the tasks done. Professors are really helpful and are concerned with your learning and improvment.

    Cons

    There is little room for growth after the research position. You generally do not work for your professor after you graduate. Many people go onto graduate school or research in companies.

    Iowa State University2014-03-28

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews