Iowa State University "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Iowa State University Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Iowa State University CEO Wendy Wintersteen (no image)
Wendy Wintersteen
100 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Honestly no cons, it's a perfect job for a student(in 23 reviews)

  • "Positions were not guaranteed each semester (although the college department worked to ensure as many graduate students received funding as possible)(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great School"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Student Intern 

    I worked at Iowa State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Good resources, tools/supplies, pretty good work environment

    Cons

    Nothing really to complain about except sometimes coworkers start to have cliques

    Iowa State University2019-03-30
  2. "Friendly Environment, Knowledgeable Employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iowa State University for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is very friendly and welcoming, employers are very understanding of mistakes and eager to teach.

    Cons

    Work is somewhat menial (but to be expected as a lab intern), there is not very good overview of what research is on a higher level (how publishing papers works, how experiment design works, etc.)

    Iowa State University2019-12-26
  3. "Sloss Center is An Amazing Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Communications and PR in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iowa State University for less than a year

    Pros

    New leadership comes with great new changes for work environment and programming schedule. Best people to work with while combining a passion of gender equity.

    Cons

    Wish it was in the budget to work more hours.

    Continue reading
    Iowa State University2019-09-19
  4. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Journalism and Communications in Ames, IA

    I have been working at Iowa State University for less than a year

    Pros

    Positice work experience, good work environment, paid fairly and on-time, flexible schedule

    Cons

    No major cons come to mind

    Continue reading
    Iowa State University2019-06-10
  5. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Game Operations Intern 

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time

    Pros

    Fun work environment, Great sports based experiences

    Cons

    Busy during fall, low hours during springs

    Iowa State University2019-03-28
  6. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ames, IA
    Recommends

    I worked at Iowa State University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay; Beautiful campus and work environment; Good culture; Good benefits; Professional development opportunities; Good benefits; Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Rural and remote location; Cold climate;

    Iowa State University2019-03-12
  7. "Solution Center Team Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solution Center Analyst in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and work environment

    Cons

    Some people from other departments don't understand we are on the same team

    Continue reading
    Iowa State University2019-02-28
  8. "graduate research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in Ames, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very nice working environment for students

    Cons

    no cons that i can think of except low pay

    Continue reading
    Iowa State University2018-04-09
  9. "Graduate teaching assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. Good pay 2. Nice working environment

    Cons

    1. Things can get a bit boring in Ames

    Iowa State University2018-03-19
  10. "Work as web developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Iowa State University part-time

    Pros

    Nice work environment in ISU

    Cons

    no cons, the campus is pretty

    Iowa State University2018-02-11
Found 43 reviews