Iris Data Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Iris Data Services Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2015

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Iris Data Services CEO Major Baisden (no image)
Major Baisden
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Iris Data Services

    Pros

    Room for advancement in the company

    Cons

    Long work hours and some weekends

    Iris Data Services2015-08-18
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Looking back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Merriam, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time with Iris. I've been separated for the company for a while now and feel that I've allowed enough time to give a thoughtful and fair review. First off, I would like to thank Iris for giving me the opportunity to get my feet wet in the litigation support field. I was hired with no experience or formal education in ediscovery. Iris is a great entry level company in the field. When I started, it... seemed like the advancement options were limitless. There wasn't really any job that was unobtainable, provided that you had the work ethic and showed the ability to pickup new skills. It was nice seeing the hard work that I put into the company help build it to be one of the leading vendors in the industry. I really felt a sense of accomplishment when I was working.

    Show More

    Cons

    When I left, there was little upside to Iris. After multiple changes in management structure (on paper only), the culture only got worse. I do not fault the mid-level (department) management. They worked harder than any other employees. It's my honest opinion that if these guys wised up enough to see the other opportunities and left, the entire company would collapse. The main issue was the senior management. They... were so disconnected with what was actually happening in day to day operations that it was sickening. Almost every day we would see senior management show up, typically 1-2 hours after our shift started, and watch them leave, at least an hour, before we did. It was incredibly demoralizing. The entire culture of the "New" Iris was toxic. Turn over was worse than any job that I had ever held. The worse part was that when someone left, no one was hired to replace them. The burden was shifted to the leads and the department managers. Shifts were 10 hours (1 hour lunch break) for salaried leadership and 9 hours for hourly employees. Not only were the scheduled hours long, I always felt that it was mandatory to stay at least another 1-2 hours past my shift. This was described as "Typical" in the industry. Since I've moved on to another company, I can see that this was clearly false. Granted, this could just be the company that I work for now, but they've found a way to be successful without working their salaried employees to death. Compensation was clearly below industry standards as well. I will say that it was very good when compared to other jobs available with no experience. Holidays were typically full staffed. Again, another "industry standard". FTO was nearly impossible to get approved. There were several times when I put in for FTO to be denied it because I had already taken a vacation that year. When I left the company, I had over 100 hours of FTO that I was unable to use. This leads back to the understaffed issues. No properly managed company should be crippled because someone is taking time off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    All in all, I can say that I am thankful for the opportunities that I had when working with at Iris. My main advice to upper management: Treat your employees like human beings. Every single one of them has a life outside of work, or they did until they started at Iris. Management needs to do everything in their power to retain the mid level management. They are the back bone to the company and I can guarantee that... it will fail if they decide to jump ship.

    Show More
    Iris Data Services2015-12-04
  3. Helpful (15)

    "A mess all around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Manager in Olathe, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services

    Pros

    Iris somehow continues to attract bright, driven, and dedicated employees. The people I worked with made the days barely bearable.

    Cons

    This was my experience as of early 2014. I started in 2011. Some of the positive reviews on here would have you believe that the negative reviews are because the reviewer wasn't enough of a self starter or a hard enough worker to succeed at Iris. That is simply not true. I inserted myself into every training opportunity available, worked my way up through the company into a management position, and was still... miserable. Here's why: -No formal training. Employees hoard information, so some end up sitting idle while others are overworked. The process in production for working with the data involves following hundreds of checklists. Since employees are taught which buttons to press instead of the context of what they are doing, they can't anticipate problems that fall outside of the normal process. Then, when mistakes are made, management berates the employees. -Speaking of the process, it is entirely "Iris-ized." The way the tools are used, the many proprietary tools, the Iris buzz words, and the lack of education about the larger e-discovery context means that someone who works only in production will not be able to take the skills learned and apply them to another e-discovery company. This is only getting worse as the process becomes more automated (though automation is great for speed and lowering mistakes.) -No respect for work/life balance. Worked many holidays- not just labor day, etc, but Christmas and Thanksgiving. Frequently worked 9-10 hour days, drove home, and got online to work some more. Those who stick to their schedule (often parents) are looked down upon and made fun of by management. I know, because I was in management meetings. Managers, most of whom were men making 6 figures with stay at home wives, couldn't seem to understand why a mother in production making $14 an hour would need to leave on time to pick up her children from day care. Iris is a terrible place for families! -Environment. Most of the people I worked with were fantastic. However, especially in my early days when I was still learning, more seasoned employees were allowed to berate and humiliate me when mistakes were made. Mistakes are recorded as "errors" and picked over in front of the entire production department weekly. Employees with a lot of knowledge are put up on a pedestal and treated like they can do no wrong, so others are subject to their tantrums, which often included yelling, stomping, cursing, and throwing things. Managers are no better. In fact, their entitlement to behave however they please is much worse. The entire time you work there, you are in a state of panic. Every job is a priority. Every mistake is a tragedy. -Lack of planning. Departments, structure, and management are always changing. No clear vision. The goal was to sell the company. Now it's sold. Congrats. That's not something the employees can mobilize behind. The solution to all problems is to hire more people, but the client demands grow quicker than the work force, and as mentioned above, more people with no training is little help. In fact, it's a hindrance. -Competition between departments. Poor communication. Lots of blaming between departments for mistakes. No sense of solidarity, even though each department relies on the others for a successful product. -Yes sir environment. Whatever the client wants, the client is promised. Our tools don't do that? No problem, send it to tech services, they'll write a tool that will. But we need it in 2 hours because the job is due in 8. Only one person knows that process? No problem, they can just work overtime. Oh, they had a commitment? Well, obviously not to Iris! The sales people don't understand the process production has to go through to accomplish things, and so promises things that are just not realistic. -Bad place for women. I'm not scared of being identified. I was the first person to go on maternity leave in the company's history. Their solution to my absence was to dissolve the department I headed. When I returned, I was left to my own devices to find a place to pump breast milk. It was suggested that I go across the hall to another company. The "project coordinator" group, which is touted as a gateway to being a project manager, is staffed entirely by women. They are offered measly hourly rates or salaries that are shameful- in the 20ks. This group monitors emails and phone calls, sends scripted responses to inquiries, crafts reports, and stays on the project managers about unaddressed problems and upcoming deadlines. They are VITAL to the process, but they are paid terribly. And since they start so low, even if they do advance to a project manager, they are making pennies. Meanwhile, men are hired in straight to project management positions and paid in the upper 80s and triple digits. All the execs are men despite many qualified and talented women. -Pay and benefits. Many people who have never had a serious office job before are hired into production and are thrilled with the $14 a hour. it seems astronomical. But as you get more knowledgeable, you realize that data analysts at other companies using the same tools (though in different ways) are salaried. As you work your way up, the pay again seems decent, until you realize that there are several large handfuls of people are making six digits while everyone else scrounges for the remains. As the company brags about its profits, employees are working overtime to complete too much work for too little money. Those salaries that seem generous are piddly when you break them down hourly after all the overtime. Meanwhile, the benefits are only okay, there's no paid FMLA leave, and people are working holidays left and right.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hopefully Epiq, which recently acquired Iris, takes it's employees more seriously. Taking a true interest in the people, putting in the time to truly train them and invest in them, and treating them with respect and dignity, would make a big impact for this company. Put a real emphasis on changing the culture to one that trusts and respects its employees and that sees mistakes as learning opportunities instead of an... opportunity to berate and scapegoat. Unite the employees around a vision. Treat communication as more than lip service.

    Show More
    Iris Data Services2015-09-06
  4. Helpful (11)

    "Beware..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services

    Pros

    My co-workers were the only thing that made life bearable at Iris. There are a few bad apples but generally speaking, the people throughout the company are hard-working and smart and will go the extra mile to get the job done. Iris does Relativity very well. I’ve worked at law firms and service providers and have yet to see a company invest as much time and money in the platform. Without doubt, the company is... very innovative. Service offerings like Iris ARC have helped to push Iris to the next level and this is evidenced by the company’s acquisition by Epiq Systems.

    Show More

    Cons

    As other Glassdoor reviews have mentioned, Iris prefers to work its employees until they are burned out. The company expects its Client Services staff to proactively communicate with clients and offer the best customer service in the industry. However, the amount of email that CS teams have to contend with on a daily basis is mind-boggling. I worked on a team that was responsible for monitoring 10+ client-facing... email aliases and it’s not uncommon to get hundreds of emails per day from clients and internal teams. If you can consistently handle 80-90 hour work weeks and can openly articulate your accomplishments to management, you will be very successful at Iris. Do not expect that same success if you are type of employee that gets the job done in half the time with little to no fanfare. It’s no secret that the turnover rate at Iris is very high. Instead of hiring enough people to handle the work, management seems to accept the turnover as the price of doing business in eDiscovery. If someone leaves, they will hire a cheaper replacement or better yet, dangle the “promotion carrot” in the face of a junior employee and dump the responsibility in their laps without increasing their pay. Adding to the stress of the workload is the fact that the company does not have a formal onboarding or training program, at least not for Client Services staff. The average CS employee is hired and is interacting with clients within a day or two of starting. Employees learn internal processes and procedures while fulfilling client requests.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You can’t expect to make raving fans out of your clients if your employees are miserable and overworked. Management should work to make raving fans out of the company’s employees. There are too many reviews on this site that are essentially saying the same thing.

    Iris Data Services2015-08-03
  5. Helpful (7)

    "So so"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Litigation Support Data Analyst in Brooklyn, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services for more than a year

    Pros

    Only good to start a job, do not stay in the company for more than 6 months.

    Cons

    Pay little - too little - barely increase pay, poor working condition, poor management, labor UNFRIENDLY global wide.

    Advice to Management

    Respect employees

    Iris Data Services2015-06-24
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Yeah, Iris is pretty terrible..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services full-time

    Pros

    I was lucky enough to get out of there before hitting year 3.

    Cons

    Iris is just awful. The growing number of Iris defectors heading for the hills says it better than I ever could. What's funny is they certainly have the nerve to fire people just as frequently as people quit, that's the arrogance of dense intellectually-vacant managers, can't hang onto anyone, yet they have a hair-trigger to get rid of everyone. Between the 20-30 extra work hours, having to work holidays, ever... failing workflows, regional directards who get off on power, and the blatant sense of being constantly devalued ...Iris ranks #1 worst place I've ever worked. A previous reviewer said it right "Toxic" culture. You constantly work on edge, in a profoundly sexist, managerially unavailable, ethically inappropriate, blame passing environment. You are a step stool, either you're making someone look very good who absorbs all the glory, or you're timid enough to say nothing when they unjustly nail you to a board, to cover themselves or a buddy. You shall be called to task, no matter how illogical, unfair, or underhanded, and serve with a toothy-grin, ol'chap, because in Kansas when they're not sucking cigarettes or BBQ they're making their list of intelligent malcontents who could prove problematic. When the bartender turned regional director hasn't kept up with night school as well as he ought, and falls behind in better business practices, and you call him on it, you become a target, simple as that. If you're not on someones good side, there are mentions being made about your future at Iris right now. Take control, get outta there, they pay no OT, bonuses are hysterical, everyone is embittered and overworked so the atmosphere is miserable, and they will put you against a wall and threaten you the second you have a question or concern about unfair/illegal treatment of employees. Its a clandestine smelly diaper of a company, Epiq spent $134m on a diaper. *Epiq Systems Recent Transactions*: Starbucks gift card (25.00), Big League Chew (1.97), and 1 loaded diaper! (134,000,000)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe your goals for next review period could use some tweaking lol

    Iris Data Services2015-06-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Heavy workload but good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Support 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services

    Pros

    -Competitive pay after you get experience (or if you're hired with industry experience) -Lots of opportunity for advancement (that can't fill management positions fast enough) -Flexible but professional work enviro

    Cons

    -Expect heavy hours -Leaders need more support -Benefits aren't the best

    Advice to Management

    Spend more on the bonuses

    Iris Data Services2015-05-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Enjoyed the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kansas in Olathe, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Iris Data Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people there are friendly and fun to work with. The environment is very open and they set high standards.

    Cons

    There could be more support and follow through on department development

    Iris Data Services2015-04-14
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Do not care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services full-time

    Pros

    - Get free lunch every once in awhile - Solid benefits - Get paid on time

    Cons

    - They will decrease your pay without reason and increase your work load - You will work 50-60 hours a week in an entry level position, guaranteed - Executives are far removed from the day to day operations - No training will be administered, they will feed you to the wolves - Upper management will agree with your advice and do nothing to address it - Do not make the slightest mistake or you will get fired -... Sales will push Client Services to complete a job with unrealistic expectations because they do not know how to reason with the client - There is zero communication with upper management and other teams - There is zero work/life balance - Employee frustrations are not addressed at the slightest bit - Management do not look at you as a person but rather a pawn in their plan to get rich quick - The 'Wal-Mart' of eDiscovery services

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Learn to follow through on promises - Create a three-month training module to teach entry level employees what to do. - Hire a full team with a bench so we can balance the workload on more than five people managing twenty different clients at one time - Create an atmosphere where work/life balance is practiced religiously - Understand respect within the workplace and the use of foul language - Get to know... who works for the company that puts food on your table instead of sending a 'church newsletter' once a month - Create more of a team atmosphere among the employees - Micro management is a terrible way to expect a person to put forth their best in providing for the clients - Food does not equate to appreciation - Mandate that the review period stated in the manual actually happens

    Show More
    Iris Data Services2015-05-01
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Good place, but needs SERIOUS improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Iris Data Services

    Pros

    -Growing company, so plenty of room for growth -Great opportunity to learn a lot of very useful knowledge in a budding industry

    Cons

    -Hours - while you have a chance to grow, you will only do so if you are ready and willing to put in 80 hours a week while sacrificing weekends and holidays. People joke around here all the time that we don't get personal lives at Iris, but it is a serious concern and is the reason Iris encounters a good amount of turnover -Ethics - The company seems to prefer to push out as much work as possible with as few people... as possible. I am not sure if this is due to $$ or the lack of properly trained people, but I feel like it may be the former. There needs to be a lot more people working in this company in order to keep its current employees happy and fresh. They seem to have a lot of burned out people on their hands

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire more people in an effort to keep everyone fresh and interested. It is very easy to get burned out and become careless when you put in the hours that we put in

    Iris Data Services2015-04-03
Found 46 reviews