Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum Reviews | Glassdoor

Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum Reviews

Updated Mar 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum CEO Anne Hawley (no image)
Anne Hawley
12 Ratings
  1. "Visitor Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visitor Services Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work hours Professional development opportunities Dedicated management team

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for advancement in the museum

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2017-09-21
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Incompetent upper management who see no issue with taking money out of your 403B a year and a half later. ridiculous!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Beautiful building and grounds. A lot of really nice people.

    Cons

    Upper management is terrible. Very unimpressive hacks who appear to not be able to land a job else wear. Managment is very caddy and and insecure. This is written on 3/11/19 and all the staff was just notified that the museum completed an audit of employee contributions from 2017 (yes that’s right 2017) and found that they over payed into our 403B so with out even a letter or any kind of warning they debit our... retirement accounts (me personally over $600) the amount that they over payed in 2017, not my fault and nothing I could have done. I understand they over payed but this is to my point, there is nothing the managment really do right, they are a bunch of hacks who some how found their way here and now they sit on the ISGM welfare system and accomplish nothing of any importance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourselves, get real talent in there and let the museum breath.

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2019-03-11
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Boston, MA

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful coworkers and good job environment

    Cons

    Pay and annual raises were inadequate. Virtually no opportunities for advancement.

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2017-10-10
  4. "Positive experience from a former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum part-time

    Pros

    The staff at the Museum are some of the most passionate, creative, driven individuals in the Museum world. The Museum itself is a stunning space to work and it's easy to feel like you're making a real impact as a member of its family.

    Cons

    No cons, only positive experiences.

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2017-09-10
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum full-time

    Pros

    no pros in this company

    Cons

    everybody sucks there they don t pay good. the worst place to work

    Advice to Management

    need to pay the employees more...

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2017-09-10
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Not Recommended"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Greenhouse Assistant in Hingham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly nice people but not enough of them.

    Cons

    Low pay, work weekends, little room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Clear out all the old farts who have been sitting on a position for over 40 years. Let new growth come in.

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2017-04-21
  7. "Gallery Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum part-time

    Pros

    Beautiful place to work and some of the happiest, most courteous people I've met in Boston. Also, amazing perks to other art museums in the US.

    Cons

    Sometimes can be a little unorganized when it comes to new hires.

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2017-01-10
  8. "Volunteer Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing group of people to work for: everybody has a positive attitude, are grateful to be there, and kind.

    Cons

    No cons, it was a great experience.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing to add.

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2016-08-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Fair but dull"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

    Pros

    Beautiful architecture, engaging work, good cause in a reputable Boston institution

    Cons

    People kept to themselves and their departments, the split within buildings created a sense of isolation for those on the historic museum offices

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2016-04-18
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Nice but..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum

    Pros

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum is a fascinating place with one of the most unusual collections anywhere in the world. The environment is generally upbeat among the staff with a few very knowledgeable people in the education and conservation department.

    Cons

    There's a level of inflexibility and personal intrigue among the management which can be very toxic. ISGM has a revolving door personnel problem as a result. One result is that the guards who work there don't stay or get fired because of a hyper-personal approach to management.

    Advice to Management

    Show a little flexibility and try to take advantage of the talent within your staff. If someone isn't working out, say, as a security guard but has developed an incredible knowledge of the institution allow him or her to find something more suited to what can be offered. You might be surprised with how much more pleasant your place will be.

    Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum2015-10-24
Found 25 reviews