KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Isle of Capri Casinos

Is this your company?

Isle of Capri Casinos

Add a Review

Isle of Capri Casinos Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 of over 244 reviews

3.5
63%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Isle of Capri Casinos CEO Virginia McDowell
Virginia McDowell
64 Ratings
Pros
  • "When it was Lady Luck and then Isle Casino it was great(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good benefits for full timers Free lunch(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management did not listen well to what others at lower positions had to say(in 14 reviews)

  • "Long hours, but that's the nature of the business(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Marketing Coordinator

      Apr 16, 2018 - Marketing Coordinator in Black Hawk, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The Isle & Lady Luck were very much like a large family. Worked hard together. Looked out for one another. Benefits were great and use of public transportation to get to Black Hawk made it easy to get to work

      Cons

      Upper management did not listen well to what others at lower positions had to say. Difficult for new ideas and lack of better opportunities.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Used to be good.

      Dec 24, 2019 - Security Officer in Bettendorf, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy paycheck, easy to connect with other staff, Day Shift and Grave Shift people were great.

      Cons

      Upper management, lower management attempting to bully others into different departments, over priced food in the breakroom, constantly lied to by supervisors, point system isn't fair and based on who you have/haven't pissed off. Swing shift Security supervisors are arrogant, toxic, transphobic and won't hesitate to bad talk you. Hard to tell if this place will be around for much longer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Isle of Capri

      Sep 28, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for. Fellow employees are amazing. Work stays pretty busy, which leads to more tips. Customers are also great and once a relationship was established, repeat business was a guarantee.

      Cons

      As the bartender, I was given way too much responsibilities, which isn't an issue for me, but I wasn't paid enough for the work I had to do. I pretty much ran the restaurant. After working there for 4 years, I was overlooked for promotion to manager, even though I already was doing the managers work, along with bartender duties and server duties. I am also a disabled veteran. I NEVER abused that, but there were certain things I needed to do to complete the day that management was well aware of before hiring me. After going through some upper management changes, the new (still employed at the Isle) management didn't care and when I asked for a break to rest my knees, with zero customers in the restaurant, I was denied and because I couldn't complete my duties I should just go home.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      No longer a company that cares for its employees

      Feb 18, 2017 -  in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had a supervisor role on the casino floor for 3 years in Blackhawk, CO. This allowed for much freedom to move around, thus I saw and interacted with lots of fellow employees and guests alike. Most casino floor co-workers were awesome. They were down-to-earth and we had real interactions and conversations. During promotions and giveaways, we had so much fun. The only way I can describe it is, it was getting paid to party with the guests.

      Cons

      The corporate culture at this property was very stiff and rigid, meaning that they were selective on the employees that they would greet and talk with. Casino employees were lucky if we saw upper management on the casino floor during the week. There was no incentive to work on holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years Eve, etc.), it was just expected. There was no holiday party. I mean, at least give out something to thank the employees for their dedication, devotion, and time away from family for the holidays.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      F&B Manager, Steakhouse G.M.

      Jul 31, 2016 - Steakhouse G M in Lake Charles, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, a good company with good management. The company has forward looking goals with a an accurate vision of how the" Isle" figures in the future of the gaming/resort industry.

      Cons

      There are certain departments that function below expectations and slow the overall progress of the operation as a whole. This was due to upper management turnover when I worked there.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee

      No loyalty from the company

      Dec 14, 2011 - Many Positions in Bettendorf, IA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits were decent, but in general the job sucks.

      Cons

      Upper management does everything they can do to kill business. They have no idea how to "build" loyal guests or maintain good help. The company is a joke. They have short term vision only. Their abilities to manage a company is very apparent in their stock price. Most of the problems could be solved if you just cut the top level management and let the place run itself. Upper management looks out for number one and as long as they are getting paid, they could care less about the front line staff. Then they wonder why they can't find good help. YOU CAN"T TEACH COMMON SENSE!!!!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work for with numerous opportunities for growth

      Oct 14, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Constant training in a wide range of areas Ability to easily transfer between departments/locations Upper management's willingness to develop and train Strong guest experience culture

      Cons

      24/7 business with a requirement to work odd hours Upper management makes some decisions to achieve short term profits, rather than long term sustainability

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Depends on the Director of the Department

      Oct 5, 2017 - Surveillance Operator in Pompano Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Adequate insurance, multiple shifts to choose from, many different departments to work from

      Cons

      all departments understaffed so employees are overworked. Unrealistic goals demanded by upper management. Issues with HR. Fast turn-over of employees

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The worst

      Aug 30, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Pompano Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nothing to say about this place, if you enjoy been a nice person walk away now. If not dive at your own risk

      Cons

      The most unorganized place I've ever worked at, a lot of management members fighting to see who lands the top position, lack of knowledge and the director landed the position by sucking up to upper management, I am glad I quit because never in the world a business can be run like a small grocery store, their outlets are disgusting, their sanitation requirements none, overwork you doing multiple outlets until you can physically do nothing else . Expect to work 60+ hours, do your bosses job for less than 40k a year if your lucky.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Okay place for entry level word

      Nov 7, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Benefits. -bonus program -people -middle management good place for starting position, but does not pay well.

      Cons

      -weekend/holiday hours -pto -upper management management treats people as numbers, not actual people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 14 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Isle of Capri Casinos Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Isle of Capri Casinos? Share Your Experiences

    Isle of Capri Casinos logo
    or