It's Just Lunch Reviews | Glassdoor

It's Just Lunch Reviews

Updated July 21, 2017
203 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch President Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
108 Ratings

203 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work from Home Office, you get to speak to and help all different types of people (in 35 reviews)

  • The work environment, the success stories and the hard work put in (in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • Old leads, terrible pay, it's more like debt collection than actual sales (in 14 reviews)

  • Also, the commission structure was terrible (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "It's about time."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    When I decided to brave the job market and search for a new career, I had a very specific list of things that I sought in my new career.
    1.) I wanted weekends free.
    2.) I wanted to feel challenged in my new field.
    3.) I wanted to know that I could grow within the company and be better compensated for my efforts.
    4.) I wanted to enjoy working with the people around me.
    5.) I wanted to enjoy working with my clients.
    6.) I wanted to be able to go home at the end of my day and say “I like what I do for a living.”
    Simply stated…. Done.

    Cons

    My commute is about 45 minutes.

    Advice to Management

    None. I've been impressed with how IJL treats their people.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – CEO

    We appreciate you sharing your experience. Our environment and culture is what makes our company unique and fun. I am happy to hear you have found a career that fits all things you were looking for!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dating Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Love the ability to change peoples lives daily, Excellent support from management, ongoing training, I am able to make a 6 figure income and it is like running my own business within a huge supportive environment everyday.

    Cons

    There are none its a great place to work if you love helping people and you love to make money

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great positive motivating environment.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jul 13, 2017 – CEO

    We not only want to insure our clients have a great experience with IJL but our employees as well!! We believe that by supporting and providing our employees with encouragement and ongoing resources... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mrs Erin Thomas in Palm Desert, CA
    Current Employee - Mrs Erin Thomas in Palm Desert, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for! Has great work/life balance. Accommodating regarding schedule and very flexible. Very upbeat work environment! Always striving to help as many people as possible. Ongoing training and support is received DAILY from this company. Also promotes from within! Is been a pleasure working for It's Just Lunch!!!

    Cons

    None that I have seen to date.

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you so much for taking the time to outline what’s so rewarding about working at It’s Just Lunch. It is definitely an upbeat environment and there is never a dull moment, but hearing those... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "DATING SPECIALIST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DatngSpecilst in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - DatngSpecilst in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good work life balance
    Work from Home Office, you get to speak to and help all different types of people. I was shocked when I first started working here and found myself speaking to popular News Anchors and Football and Baseball stars..
    No weekends
    9-6 schedule
    Its like running your own business
    You control our paycheck

    Cons

    It is remote and working from home sometimes can be hard.
    Money could be better
    a little unorganized at times because of so many people that do not really communicate with each other.
    Big Turnover

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jun 8, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Like you, controlling their own paycheck and the earning potential It represents is something that our Dating Specialists love about working at It’s Just Lunch. Indeed we do have a very diverse... More


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Dating Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Director in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Dating Director in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work environment, the success stories and the hard work put in

    Cons

    Dealing with Emotional High expectation clients

    Advice to Management

    increase the incentives

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Hearing the success stories of our clients and knowing that we played a part in them finding love is definitely one of the perks that makes It’s Just Lunch such a unique and incredible place to work... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Sales Support/Dating Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support in Hallandale, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Support in Hallandale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    It is great to work for IJL because it is a fun but professional atmosphere. There are always extra activities and team building events that you can participate in and coworkers are friendly.

    Cons

    More paid vacation time off

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re glad to hear that you find the atmosphere fun; we are definitely in an exciting industry which makes for an enjoyable environment!


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    Trains and provides the employees with the tools they need to succeed in their job. Experienced and involved management team. Training on an ongoing basis to enhance employees performance.

    Cons

    our dating specialists positions are performance based, however an increase in the base pay for them is needed.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very proud of our amazing management team and the ongoing training and support they provide. And you will be happy to learn that we have recently updated... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Disposable Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dating Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Dating Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great learning experience in a unique industry

    Cons

    - Owner doesn't care about employees (no benefits were provided)
    - "Directors" (sales) were cutthroat and came off as extremely fake
    - Clients were spoiled and rude and would blame dating coordinators for their inability to be successful
    - Directors would bring on just about any client to hit quota, regardless of whether or not we had appropriate matches for them in our active client files

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing. We manage our clients’ expectations to be realistic, however, there is emotion that goes into any dating process. The ability to work with a prospective client is based on... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Dating Specialist Money Makers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Love the opportunity to make up to 22% percent commission and have large two week paychecks. Very organized training curriculum to prepare you to be successful. The management and training support is always there and you have a lot of people to reach out to. YOU CAN MAKE A LOT OF MONEY IF YOU ARE MOTIVATED!

    Cons

    Employees don't give themselves enough time to learn the industry and build up their craft of being successful. I see so much potential walk in the doors and they either aren't motivated or they don't believe in what we do. Other con, I didn't start here sooner!!!

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for your post. I love that you pointed out that there is some serious earning potential!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Dating Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Personal Dating Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    Great Staff. Great commission structure.The entire company(including upper management) is very supportive and focused on helping you succeed. If you are coach-able and open, you can do very well. I love the positive, can-do attitude that is present on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Not a con really but this job isn't for everyone. If you do not like making numerous phone calls a day or are not open to being coached and learning new things, this isn't the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review IJL. You are so right, if you are open to coaching and learning new things and have a positive attitude you can do very well.


Showing 203 of 203 reviews
Reset Filters