It's Just Lunch Reviews | Glassdoor

It's Just Lunch Reviews

Updated April 7, 2017
191 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch President Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
99 Ratings

191 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Can work from home, flexible hours, excellent training program (in 34 reviews)

  • The work environment, the success stories and the hard work put in (in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • Old leads, terrible pay, it's more like debt collection than actual sales (in 14 reviews)

  • Also, the commission structure was terrible (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sales Support/Dating Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support in Hallandale, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Support in Hallandale, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    It is great to work for IJL because it is a fun but professional atmosphere. There are always extra activities and team building events that you can participate in and coworkers are friendly.

    Cons

    More paid vacation time off

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We’re glad to hear that you find the atmosphere fun; we are definitely in an exciting industry which makes for an enjoyable environment!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dating Director"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Director in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Dating Director in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The work environment, the success stories and the hard work put in

    Cons

    Dealing with Emotional High expectation clients

    Advice to Management

    increase the incentives

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 25, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Hearing the success stories of our clients and knowing that we played a part in them finding love is definitely one of the perks that makes It’s Just Lunch such a unique and incredible place to work ... More


  3. Helpful (1)

    "Disposable Employees"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dating Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Dating Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great learning experience in a unique industry

    Cons

    - Owner doesn't care about employees (no benefits were provided)
    - "Directors" (sales) were cutthroat and came off as extremely fake
    - Clients were spoiled and rude and would blame dating coordinators for their inability to be successful
    - Directors would bring on just about any client to hit quota, regardless of whether or not we had appropriate matches for them in our active client files

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing. We manage our clients’ expectations to be realistic, however, there is emotion that goes into any dating process. The ability to work with a prospective client is based on ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    Trains and provides the employees with the tools they need to succeed in their job. Experienced and involved management team. Training on an ongoing basis to enhance employees performance.

    Cons

    our dating specialists positions are performance based, however an increase in the base pay for them is needed.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very proud of our amazing management team and the ongoing training and support they provide. And you will be happy to learn that we have recently updated ... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Dating Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great money- flexible hours- Great management and leadership- Ability to move up in company-

    Cons

    No cons if you like to work hard and aren't afraid of closing

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your review. We know how important management and leadership is to the success of our staff and we greatly appreciate the hard work of all of our employees.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Competetive and Friendly"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great commission structure, compassionate management who drives you to succeed. Quality training. Fantastic Benefits

    Cons

    Low base salary -- you get what you put into this job. Not for someone looking to coast.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Our managers are pretty amazing, aren't they! And you're right - our compensation is largely commission based, which means you really get what ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Dating Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Personal Dating Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    Great Staff. Great commission structure.The entire company(including upper management) is very supportive and focused on helping you succeed. If you are coach-able and open, you can do very well. I love the positive, can-do attitude that is present on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Not a con really but this job isn't for everyone. If you do not like making numerous phone calls a day or are not open to being coached and learning new things, this isn't the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review IJL. You are so right, if you are open to coaching and learning new things and have a positive attitude you can do very well.


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Dating Specialist Money Makers"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Love the opportunity to make up to 22% percent commission and have large two week paychecks. Very organized training curriculum to prepare you to be successful. The management and training support is always there and you have a lot of people to reach out to. YOU CAN MAKE A LOT OF MONEY IF YOU ARE MOTIVATED!

    Cons

    Employees don't give themselves enough time to learn the industry and build up their craft of being successful. I see so much potential walk in the doors and they either aren't motivated or they don't believe in what we do. Other con, I didn't start here sooner!!!

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for your post. I love that you pointed out that there is some serious earning potential!


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Carnage- not even worth the star I was required to click"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    there are no pros. If you have an ounce of dignity or respect for humans you will NOT attempt to sell them the lies that IJL has to offer.

    Cons

    The entire company sets you up to fail as an employee and as a client. The bottom line is always about money. The company will lie, cheat, and steal to get ahead. This means to the clients directly and to the employees directly.

    Advice to Management

    Micro-managing gets no one anywhere. Each of you say something completely different each time you speak. None of you follow the actual procedures because you say it depends on the client...no, it depends on how much money you can get from them. It's awful. I really don't know how you sleep at night.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry that you do not feel your experience was positive. It’s Just lunch has over 25 years of successfully matching clients and ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "Dating Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great teamwork, help from managers across the country even after training, constant motivation to achieve success, plenty of leads (new and older)

    Cons

    compensation ability is high, however is really dependent on getting someone to join. dependent on someone else saying yes.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the teamwork and motivation to new DS

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    We are so happy to have you here at IJL! Our trainers and managers will continue to help motivate new Dating Specialists - thanks so much for the feedback!


Showing 191 of 192 reviews
Reset Filters