It's Just Lunch Reviews | Glassdoor

It's Just Lunch Reviews

Updated October 29, 2017
210 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch President Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
113 Ratings

210 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The work environment, the success stories and the hard work put in (in 17 reviews)

  • Work life balance is important to my success and I have that working here (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • Old leads, terrible pay, it's more like debt collection than actual sales (in 14 reviews)

  • Unless you're okay with just making minimum wage this position will not be your ideal source of income (in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Dating Specialists"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dating Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Dating Specialist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and good training

    Cons

    Treated like you are a number, HIGH turnover, unrealistic goals, got yelled at if your co-workers helped you. You have to do it all yourself.

    Advice to Management

    Quit treating people like they are replaceable. Invest in your employees. Make them feel valuable.


  2. "Dating Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fantastic company focusing on helping single professionals seeking real relationships go out on great first dates! The team support with this international company is phenomenal. As a part of a team that makes a difference in our clients personalized dating experience makes this a great company to work for. At of the end of the day you want to come to work everyday...priceless.

    Cons

    Continually changing environment...I see as a positive as I am always learning and growing...others can see this as a con.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Oct 18, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are always looking for ways to grow and provide a fun working environment for our employees. We have a team atmosphere that provides multiple... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Matchmaker/Dating Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Matchmaker/Dating Coordinator in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Current Employee - Matchmaker/Dating Coordinator in Vancouver, BC (Canada)
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love working for It's Just Lunch Vancouver! The owner of the company is an incredible business woman and role model, who is very accommodating and supportive of a positive work life balance. Management are all very approachable and solution focused, so I feel much more supported here than I have in previous work environments. I appreciate the care and attention that's given to each employee as a unique individual. Help and training is always available when needed if you ask. I also love the ethics of the company and feel very confident in the service we provide to our clients. The team is close knit and very supportive -
     lots of my colleagues have been working here between 7-15 years so there is lots of advice to draw upon when needed. This is the highest work satisfaction I've had in 7 years since I started my career.

    Cons

    Nope, no cons for me.

    Advice to Management

    You're honestly doing an amazing job. Thank you for the opportunity to work here! I'm really happy.


  4. Helpful (5)

    "It's Just Lunch burns through sales people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Former Employee - Sales Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The other sales reps are really nice.

    Cons

    It is like a mill there the way they run through sales reps. They literally have to hold training classes every few weeks. As a sales rep you have to be supper aggressive and very pushed with potential clients. You are expected to get people to join on the first phone call. You have to get them to put $4800 down on a membership in one hour or less.

    Advice to Management

    They need to be way more up front during the interview process on how aggressive and pushy you will need to be as a sales rep.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – CEO

    Our matchmakers are passionate about what they do. I am sorry if you feel their passion seems like pushiness. People contact IJL when they are interested in dating and we train our matchmakers to... More


  5. "It's the passion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    The Passion and integrity of the individuals take on such a private personal experience for the clients .So many great people who at the end of the day Care guide and match Some of the most amazing single professionals .Its a team environment a team culture and always focused on being better .

    Cons

    Personally I don't have any .

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for such great motivating people

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for providing your feedback. We always strive to foster a fun culture for our team members as well as our clients.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "ijl review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good hours, decent pay, flexibility with personal needs

    Cons

    management favoritism, work load, quota driven,

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – CEO

    Thank you for posting your review. We greatly appreciate your honest and thoughtful opinion.


  7. "Dating Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Optimistic positive vibe company wide which daily motivates me to be the best that I can be & make every minute count. True sense of helping singles especially recently widowed. Weekly training led by VP Sale & often CEO. Support by all management throughout the day which high motivates me to succeed. I actually get excited in the morning on the subway when the conductor announces my stop!

    Cons

    The maximum hours are 40 hours so initially it was a challenge for me to be meticulous with my time management as previous jobs I worked until the day was done however I am now more focused on my time management skills. I plan my day the night before & review EOD to see areas that will allow me more time.

    Advice to Management

    I love the weekly company wide webinars however I'd love an opportunity to hopefully meet in person.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – CEO

    It brings great joy to hear that you love coming to work every day. I personally love what I do, so to know you feel the same way is very comforting. We are always looking for ways to motivate our... More

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Dont waste your time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    I honestly don't think there are any pros

    Cons

    Hostile work environment
    Unrealistic sales goals
    They want you to manipulate people into their service
    No one makes 115K a year here
    Long hours and salary sucks
    Interview process makes it sound like a great position
    Don't hire men? Discrimination

    Advice to Management

    The management here lakes in support. Very harsh and not professional. Snotty and think they are above everything and everyone. Quick to pass judgement and not there to teach


  9. Helpful (4)

    "Dating Direcrir"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dating Director in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Former Employee - Dating Director in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - opportunities for bonuses and extras by just doing your job well
    - culture among fellow dating directors is fun, humerous

    Cons

    - culture of management is fake: they act happy but it's just a tactic to push you
    - you're in a customer service roll that runs like a sales role: you have to hit your numbers for dates to be set even when it encroaches on customer service
    - you set dates under less than ideal conditions: you may get a 5 foot guy, an obese person with nothing else going for them, an age that has no age matched in that city, or a person who lives an hour plus from a central hub - and you have to be conniving and clever to work through their contract
    - sales people lie and mislead people and then you're left to pick up the pieces
    - grown adults (customers) cry and scream if their ridiculous expectations aren't met
    - you're treated like a child at the office: don't get out of your seat, don't have your cell out

    Advice to Management

    Be more honest with your employees. The ability to be authentic internally, solve problems creatively, and laugh about the reality is a relief. Employees do it among each other but then have to listen to you pretend and be super high energy sales-y toward them in meetings every week. These are not sales people - they are customer service!

    Also, tell people in interviews what the job can really be like.

    Let Dating directors use pseudonyms so their name doesn't end up all over the internet!

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Oct 10, 2017 – CEO

    We foster a positive, upbeat, and energetic culture. We have the potential to change lives and we thrive on that. We are sorry to hear that it was not a good fit for you. We offer fun first dates... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Dating Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Portland, OR
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hands down most rewarding career ever! It's Just Lunch has been a game changer for myself and my career path as it has for our clients and their single life.

    Cons

    The only Con to working with It's Just Lunch is that I am only one person. I would love to be able to help more people find the quality partner they are looking for.

    Advice to Management

    Allow feed back from your front line.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Oct 11, 2017 – CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I agree, this career is very rewarding, especially when you can change someone’s life forever while earning a nice paycheck. It is also... More


Showing 210 of 211 reviews
Reset Filters