It's Just Lunch Reviews | Glassdoor

It's Just Lunch Reviews

Updated September 20, 2017
210 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

210 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The work environment, the success stories and the hard work put in (in 17 reviews)

  • Managers are understanding of family work life balance and are flexible with that (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Old leads, terrible pay, it's more like debt collection than actual sales (in 14 reviews)

  • Also, the commission structure was terrible (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Dating Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great money- flexible hours- Great management and leadership- Ability to move up in company-

    Cons

    No cons if you like to work hard and aren't afraid of closing

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your review. We know how important management and leadership is to the success of our staff and we greatly appreciate the hard work of all of our employees.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Disposable Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dating Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Former Employee - Dating Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Great learning experience in a unique industry

    Cons

    - Owner doesn't care about employees (no benefits were provided)
    - "Directors" (sales) were cutthroat and came off as extremely fake
    - Clients were spoiled and rude and would blame dating coordinators for their inability to be successful
    - Directors would bring on just about any client to hit quota, regardless of whether or not we had appropriate matches for them in our active client files

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your employees

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Mar 16, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing. We manage our clients’ expectations to be realistic, however, there is emotion that goes into any dating process. The ability to work with a prospective client is based on... More

  3. Helpful (4)

    "Dating Specialist Money Makers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Love the opportunity to make up to 22% percent commission and have large two week paychecks. Very organized training curriculum to prepare you to be successful. The management and training support is always there and you have a lot of people to reach out to. YOU CAN MAKE A LOT OF MONEY IF YOU ARE MOTIVATED!

    Cons

    Employees don't give themselves enough time to learn the industry and build up their craft of being successful. I see so much potential walk in the doors and they either aren't motivated or they don't believe in what we do. Other con, I didn't start here sooner!!!

    Advice to Management

    keep doing what you're doing.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thanks for your post. I love that you pointed out that there is some serious earning potential!


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Dating Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Personal Dating Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    Great Staff. Great commission structure.The entire company(including upper management) is very supportive and focused on helping you succeed. If you are coach-able and open, you can do very well. I love the positive, can-do attitude that is present on a daily basis.

    Cons

    Not a con really but this job isn't for everyone. If you do not like making numerous phone calls a day or are not open to being coached and learning new things, this isn't the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Feb 7, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to review IJL. You are so right, if you are open to coaching and learning new things and have a positive attitude you can do very well.


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Competetive and Friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great commission structure, compassionate management who drives you to succeed. Quality training. Fantastic Benefits

    Cons

    Low base salary -- you get what you put into this job. Not for someone looking to coast.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Our managers are pretty amazing, aren't they! And you're right - our compensation is largely commission based, which means you really get what... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Dating Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great teamwork, help from managers across the country even after training, constant motivation to achieve success, plenty of leads (new and older)

    Cons

    compensation ability is high, however is really dependent on getting someone to join. dependent on someone else saying yes.

    Advice to Management

    keep up the teamwork and motivation to new DS

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    We are so happy to have you here at IJL! Our trainers and managers will continue to help motivate new Dating Specialists - thanks so much for the feedback!


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Dating Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Coordinator in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Current Employee - Dating Coordinator in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    I really enjoy with working with IJL! Its a positive work environment with amazing co workers. Every one here takes pride in what they do. Management is the best ! They are understanding and motivating.

    Cons

    Just like anywhere else it gets overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! You guys make it so much easier to come to work..

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 24, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you so much for your post and sharing your positive experiences with IJL!

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Love "working" here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I've been with It's Just Lunch over six years and nothing is better than knowing you're helping to change lives . Hearing success stories, meeting success stories, and knowing that you're a part of something so important it's the best feeling to have in any career! It's Just Lunch has also change my life giving me the opportunity to excel at something I believe in and focus on my own personal success . It doesn't feel like a "job" even when it's a lot of work its fun, rewarding, and interesting everyday.

    Cons

    Sales can be difficult ,this particular sale can be emotional and tough to conquer right away. It takes work and patience just like any other job when you're just getting started. So many times in the sales position you have to constantly motivate and remind yourself of why you're passionate and why you're here. I don't see this as a con.

    Advice to Management

    I am lucky to work with the best CEO who has more experience and passion to trickle down to the entire company. She and the managers in the sales department all have the strongest belief and passion for their team and clients I can't think of any advice to give other than to stay focused on that!

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 19, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you so much for sharing your story; it's amazing to hear that you find working for IJL so rewarding. You're right, sales can be difficult and it certainly takes the right kind of person. We'll... More


  9. Helpful (5)

    "Carnage- not even worth the star I was required to click"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Sales in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    there are no pros. If you have an ounce of dignity or respect for humans you will NOT attempt to sell them the lies that IJL has to offer.

    Cons

    The entire company sets you up to fail as an employee and as a client. The bottom line is always about money. The company will lie, cheat, and steal to get ahead. This means to the clients directly and to the employees directly.

    Advice to Management

    Micro-managing gets no one anywhere. Each of you say something completely different each time you speak. None of you follow the actual procedures because you say it depends on the client...no, it depends on how much money you can get from them. It's awful. I really don't know how you sleep at night.

    It's Just Lunch Response

    Jan 25, 2017 – Corporate Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We are sorry that you do not feel your experience was positive. It’s Just lunch has over 25 years of successfully matching clients and... More


  10. Helpful (6)

    "A lot of work for little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Director in Chicago, IL

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great company, great way of helping people find one another. great co workers

    Cons

    I ended up giving more of my time then I was hired for. suppose to work 9-6pm, I understand its sales and you will have to work later. It got to the point where I worked 60-70hours a week and barely making enough to pay bills.

    Advice to Management

    raise base salary


Showing 210 of 211 reviews
Reset Filters