It's Just Lunch Membership Coordinator/Dating Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

It's Just Lunch Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 262 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch CEO Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
147 Ratings
  1. "High Volume of Calls"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Extensive Training, Nice office, Lots of coaching.

    Cons

    Ownership changed and Commission percentages reduced.

    It's Just Lunch2018-04-13

    It's Just Lunch Response

    May 10, 2018CEO

    Thank you for the review. I am not sure what location you worked at, but all IJL offices are very competitive in their compensation plans.

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Client advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, nice office, working with people from different backgrounds. Interesting job, something you wouldn’t think of doing. Could have potential to help change someone’s life.

    Cons

    A scam. A literal scam. Over priced. Employees are told to lie to customers. Terrible customer service tactics, told to tell clients they aren’t invested in themselves when they want to cancel memberships. Matchmakers make intentionally bad matches just to get to a quota. Matchmakers call old leads and try and con them into joining just to meet a sales goal. Management refuses to talk to unhappy clients and address... their concerns. No refunds to clients even when they do not receive even close to the services they are promised. Morally unethical.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Close down.

    It's Just Lunch2018-04-10

    It's Just Lunch Response

    April 26, 2018CEO

    It seems as though you did not work for us for very long, which may explain the numerous inaccuracies regarding our customer service, clients, and integrity as a company. IJL Midwest values a positive work environment, where employees invest themselves in the success of our clients ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Excited to get started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Consultant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No evenings, No weekends and No Travel. The commission structure is amazing a real opportunity to make six figures. The understanding of the type of career your entering and not a job is imporrtant to success. Understand when a type of sales is not for you which is why the training $$$ is so low. That is smart not to invest all your resources not knowing if they are going to work out! Its the best incentive to push... yourself

    Show More

    Cons

    As a person just starting with the company I have no cons. The only thing I couldnt decipher was if an office was corporate or franchise. The other part was seeing all the different job titles was a bit confusing.

    It's Just Lunch2018-02-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "IJL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Director in Hallandale Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, plenty of incentives and bonus opportunities, you reap what you sow

    Cons

    can be mentally/emotionally stressful, it is a dating service after all

    Advice to Management

    the workload is a bit much and very stressful; overall it's a rewarding job for those who can handle it

    It's Just Lunch2018-01-30

    It's Just Lunch Response

    February 1, 2018CEO

    Thank you for sharing your valuable comments about your experience. We appreciate your dedication to IJL clients.

  5. Helpful (3)

    "The Best Place to work in Cleveland!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Advisor in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I work for It's Just Lunch in the Cleveland office. I have been here for going on 4 years! I work with the most amazing group of women! It's such a fun place to work! The company really cares about their employees. Everyone here is very supportive! It's really the place to work to make a lot of money and have fun doing it! I love coming into work everyday knowing that I am going to make a positive impact in our... clients lives! If you are looking for a great place to work, I highly recommend joining us here in the Cleveland office!

    Show More

    Cons

    I have no cons to report

    It's Just Lunch2018-01-25

    It's Just Lunch Response

    February 1, 2018CEO

    You are right! IJL is a fun place to work and the Cleveland office is a GREAT office! We strive to support our employees and want our team to be happy and earning a good living while having fun! Thank you for your years of service!

  6. Helpful (27)

    "First and Foremost"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dating Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's Just Lunch strategically pays their Inside Sales Representatives $50K/year as a base so that they could hire quality people to fill the position. Also, the branch managers are hard workers and care about their employees.

    Cons

    I have similar complaints as other former inside sales representatives. For one, while IJL has commented on Glassdoor that they do not call clients that ask to not be called, that is untrue. We were trained by more than one manager to ignore the request and still call everyday at least three days in a row. The phone number and information is still in the database for the reps to call, so the comment that employees... do not have access is also untrue. This goes back to another comment that the CRM is faulty and mistake prone. Granted, the computers they provide are about 10 years old or more so it should not be a surprise that their systems are out of date. Hot leads are distributed according to performance. That is a good policy in theory but when a sales rep starts to have a bad spell with no sales, they also lose opportunities to improve their situation since they cease to gain good leads. Unfortunately this policy applies to sales reps who do everything right (makes the minimum calls, works with their manager to improve, comes in on the weekends, etc.) and reps that are just not good at sales. Of course, IJL then has to terminate reps that do not produce and they lose really good employees this way. There are other comments about management having the "rah rah"/cheerleader/upbeat attitude which rubs some former employees the wrong way. I won't argue against the positives of having an energetic, passionate environment. But, that's not what it is. Some managers and a few of the long-time sales reps from all over the country all sound the same. The same inflections, the same turn of phrases, the same pitch in sound. In conference call, you never know who is speaking. Women from New York, Florida, Dallas and the West Coast all sounding alike. It sounds robotic, so in turn, it sounds insincere. It's not passion if it's fake. While this type of speaking works to sell memberships, it falls flat with many sales reps. It's Just Lunch trains about 20 new reps every month all over the United States. In my round of training, after 4 months only 2 remain. If you are thinking of accepting a job with It's Just Lunch keep that in mind. They're hiring high-quality, successful sales people so even though you are also at the top of your game, know that this is a different kind of sell that great sales people struggle with. Branch managers are overworked and underpaid. First, they are all training a new crop of sales reps for a full week every month. They also need to support their current staff and sell memberships themselves (that's a full time job by itself). I've seen managers work 45 days in a row. I've heard of them working overtime and off the clock just to keep up with the work load. They recently lost two branch managers within a month. It's unfortunate because all the managers are really good, friendly and helpful. When the managers are stressed, it creates tension in the office. Everything about what you're selling is a mystery. We say that the matchmakers interview your matches before presenting a date. We say that the matchmakers have a huge database of men and women all serious about dating. We say that you're getting personalized service from your matchmaker. Every sales rep I've talked to about this doesn't know for sure if this is actually all true. The matchmaking process is told to us, but when we look at the history of clients, things don't line up with the dialogue we use to sell the product. This lack of confirmed information on what we are selling is the number one reason so many very good sales reps do not do well with this job.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    At most professional offices, "reply all" isn't used to acknowledge someone in Rock Star emails. You can forward your message to the actual Rock Star. You can combine "Clients Ready For Dating" and "Please call your clients before 6pm" email. Just suggestions. It will give your reps extra time to make calls if things were streamlined.

    It's Just Lunch2018-02-17
  7. Helpful (6)

    "The company is unethical"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    The hours are flexible because it’s just a call center.

    Cons

    I don’t know how the employees sleep at night knowing that they scam people

    Advice to Management

    Close this business, what you are doing is so wrong

    It's Just Lunch2018-02-19
  8. Helpful (29)

    "Read the reviews & take them seriously"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time

    Pros

    -You're not micromanaged -Offices are nice - Make your own schedule around the 9-6 office hours - Paid holidays - Positive Environment -Nice co-workers

    Cons

    Ok, so I have been doing sales for years. I've been around the block a few times and I know a good company from a bad one. I've been here for two weeks and something about IJL is really fishy. 1) During training (which lasts from day 1 till you make your first sale in typically weeks 2-4) you are ONLY paid the state minimum wage. Yes, that $40k on your contract doesn't kick in until after you've made your first... sale. Are you a rock star sales person and think you'll get it on day 1? Well, our current (Nationwide) training class has 20+ people and thus far, two weeks in, only three people have made a single sale. And 6 people have quit already and there is another training class in two weeks... So yeah, it's a revolving door. 2) They are not up to date. There is no autodialer, you must manually punch in phone numbers to reach your call quota of 100 dials a day. The CRM is disorganized, messy, uncooperative and mistake prone. Oh, you have to manually keep your time via a time sheet and email is to corporate once a week, despite the fact that many time keeping softwares exist at no cost. 3) They are violating federal laws and have pending litigation against them. The law states that when someone asks to be removed from the call list, you must immediately delete their information and cease any and all communication. Here at IJL, they instruct you to do the following: 'If someone requests a DNC or there is a lead in your system that says it requested DNC in the past, call them back and ask why. Try to open them up and get them into a pitch. If we DNC them we can never call them again.' ok.... So someone asks to be DNC and we call them back? Makes a lot of sense... I guess if they want to break the law dozens of times a day that's their choice. Regarding the litigation, all the information is available via a simple browser search. 4) Your manager will have a sales quota... A personal sales quota... And gets to distribute leads at their leisure. Yes, your manager gets all the leads, gets to attempt to close the leads FIRST and then gets to hand over the scraps... Who you will then have in your system for up to 10 years. And yes, these people will get called daily for ten years, even if they are not interested, in a serious relationship or married. That's right, at IJL we believe that people break up and/or get divorced everyday... So let's keep calling! 5) You will take ANY AND EVERY client who can pay the membership fees... Regardless of the companies ability to find them a match. Yes, if the person can put $4500 on a credit card (that's only for 7 dates btw) you will accept them, even if a match for them does not exist. 6) Astronomical membership fees $4500 for 7 dates, $2800 for 4 dates and if the person resides in NY State, $850 for a single date. 6) The company is so mass marketed that you will literally call/pitch people who think the service costs $29.99/mo. (Like most sites). 7) The presentation takes 45-60 minutes. So yeah, you make 100 calls a day and have to waste an hour of your time Everytime the person your presenting to can't afford $4500 because they aren't a high rolling professional and would never waste almost $5k for 7 dates LOL 8) THE YELP REVIEWS! Read them, believe them... It's real. We set up our voicemails today and got to listen to all the voicemails that we're left for the previous dating specialists. DOZENS of voicemails from people who paid their hard earned money and haven't received anything in return! People calling for weeks and furious that they can't get ahold of anyone and have not yet been set up on a date. It's like the company gets their money and ghosts them. I know this first hand because I received a call the other day from an irate client who never received services - at all. My managers response was to sell her another membership. 9) You will dial the phone all day, get voicemails every time and then have the manager come in and tell you to get a sale today. Umm...yes let me get the answering machine's credit card. 10) Was the phone number blocked by the lead? Just block your number and call them? God... These people are annoying. 11) You have to sell $20k in services every two weeks to get any commission. Yeah, that's like 5 $4500 memberships.... Totally doable! 12) Managers and trainers are SUPER PEPPY AND POSITIVE... which is great at first but super annoying if you're struggling. Well, that's all I got for now (I think). Everyone in my office is already looking for other jobs. This place looks super pretty and positive and perfect during training but the minute you pick up that phone you'll know you made a mistake.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get ethical, market to your TARGET audiences, stop being slimy.

    It's Just Lunch2017-12-23

    It's Just Lunch Response

    January 31, 2018CEO

    Thank you for the detailed review. You clearly have not been with us very long, which may explain the numerous inaccuracies regarding our hiring, training, compensation and technology. While we would like to take the time to correct all of your incorrect statements, we feel it is ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (8)

    "You have to be awesome at sales right off the bat."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dating Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at It's Just Lunch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great income if you can stay consistent with a lot of sales! Little supervision if your a top performer!

    Cons

    Customer Support Department needs a lot of improvement. Clients are upset and the company seems to ignore them. Do the right things for the clients!

    Advice to Management

    Clean up the customer support / Dating director department Do the right thing for your clients. Distribute leads evenly/fairly and not just to favorites. Fix your commission structure to how it used to be when people could actually make a living there.

    It's Just Lunch2018-01-15

    It's Just Lunch Response

    January 31, 2018CEO

    Thank you for your review as we always welcome feedback. All of our employees are treated equally. We utilize several processes and systems to make certain our employees are treated fairly and that they have the same opportunities for success. Our employees have a very competitive ...

    Show More
  10. "Dating Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dating Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at It's Just Lunch full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's Just Lunch really appreciates their employees and offers an excellent work environment. Great people at all levels of the company- joining IJL is like joining a family and everyone is very supportive. Management is committed to helping each employee do their absolute best.

    Cons

    No cons to report

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work! Thank you for showing how much you value your employees and clients.

    It's Just Lunch2018-01-02

    It's Just Lunch Response

    January 31, 2018CEO

    We are so happy to know that you feel like you have joined a “family!” We love knowing how passionately our employees feel about the company and their roles. Thank you for posting a review.

Found 262 reviews