It's Just Lunch Employee Reviews about "dating"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
It's Just Lunch CEO Melissa Brown
Melissa Brown
180 Ratings
Pros
  • "Can work from home, flexible hours, excellent training program(in 34 reviews)

  • "This is dating, and can be a little bit of a roller coaster, but when you hear your clients success story it makes coming to work worth it(in 26 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Tough to hit commission with selling dating during covid(in 35 reviews)

  • "Most of the old leads have bad numbers and emails but they keep rotating them around to different reps so it looks like you have more leads then you do(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "dating"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      IJL IS MY DREAM JOB!!!!!!!!

      Dec 9, 2020 - Dating Specialist in Palm Desert, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Literally every single thing about working for IJL is amazing. The work-life balance, the incredible bonus opportunities and just changing people's dating lives makes me wake up happy and truly excited to go to work each and every single day. I am truly blessed and so grateful for my opportunity to work at It's Just Lunch.

      Cons

      There is not a single thing I would change about working at It's Just Lunch except I would add more hours in the day so we could help more people find love and their special someone!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      Wow, we so appreciate this feedback! Our team truly is amazing and we love hearing from Matchmakers that are driven by what we do. It’s Just Lunch has been changing lives for over 29 years and it’s because of team members like you that we are able to make such an impact for our clients. Thank you!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work but you have to have a passion for matchmaking

      Oct 27, 2020 - Matchmaker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing team members and managers. Everyone supports one another. This is dating, and can be a little bit of a roller coaster, but when you hear your clients success story it makes coming to work worth it. The training really helped prepare me to be a Matchmaker. I love what I do.

      Cons

      This is a fast pace environment, and you are dealing with clients dating life. You are only as good as your last date so that can be somewhat overwhelming. This industry is not for everyone!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good starting pay and potential

      Jan 13, 2021 - Sales in Tempe, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      5k bonus at 6mo and 12mo of employment Commission plan with big pay out

      Cons

      Tough to hit commission with selling dating during covid

      2 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      Thank you for the sharing your honest opinion.

    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Bonuses, Fun Work, Prepare to be a Therapist

      May 21, 2020 - Client Advisor in Independence, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great bonus structure, fun work incentives, helping others find love

      Cons

      Getting client's feedback becomes their opportunity to use you as a punching bag. Clients never want to think they are the problem with their dating life. It is always the other person. Prepare to be a therapist in giving advice and making them see the light.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      Thanks for your honest and candid review. Dating is fun, but can be emotional too, which is why our Matchmakers have to be compassionate and understanding. It sounds like you enjoyed your time at IJL and we truly appreciate your review.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Fantastic Company Culture, Supportive and Fun Work Environment

      May 16, 2019 - Dating Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      We get to play a part in changing people's lives, the entire company feels like one big happy, supportive family and it's easy to come into the office every single day. Management is extremely knowledgeable and they thrive on helping each Dating Specialist succeed. The salary is great as is the commission and the additional contests are so much fun! Honestly, I have been in the work force for 25 years and this is far and away the best job I've ever had.

      Cons

      The process doesn't allow for a lot of communication between Dating Specialists and the rest of the matchmaking team which can sometimes cause issues with clients.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      Thank you for this feedback! We are always looking for new ways to enhance the client experience and have in-fact made some new and exciting changes to our Client Service processes. We’re so glad to hear that our Dating Specialists can feel the change. Continuous progress comes from the hard work that all of our team members put into providing a fun and exciting dating experience for our clients. Keep up the great work!

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Genuine Energy!

      Jan 23, 2020 - Executive Match Maker in Miramar, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is very supportive, great teamwork, great camaraderie! We all strive to help each other achieve great dates!

      Cons

      None, management and staff leave us to do your job because they trust us, they are there to help when needed.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Professional Matchmaking Service

      Mar 7, 2019 - Dating Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's Just Lunch has such a professional environment and they have a rigorous training process that really prepares you to be a successful in Matchmaking! I've worked in the Dating Industry prior and IJL, not only has a great compensation structure, but the on-going support and coaching you receive is a huge benefit, as well!

      Cons

      The only downside for me in particular, is that hubs have limited positions for you to advance to. So, if you want to move up, in some cases, you have to relocate. I plan on growing within the company when the time is right, but I would need to be prepared to relocate- which I'd be open to! I just wished their were more opportunities locally for growth. Other than that, I love everything about IJL!

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Think twice before accepting an offer

      Apr 22, 2019 - Dating Specialist/Inside Sales in Baltimore, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's fun to talk to people about their dating lives.

      Cons

      New people are given leads as old as 2007 so it's very unusual to reach them and/or that they are still single. Fresh leads are only given to seasoned reps. There is VERY high turnover with this company. The expectation of 100 calls a day is doable, but with such outdated leads it means 98% of one's time is spent leaving voicemails and all good salespeople know that it's impossible to sell to a voicemail. I gave the sales presentation to only 6 people in 4 weeks. When I was let go, 3 of those were still pending but since I hadn't closed a lead yet, they didn't count. Also, new hires are on a training hourly wage - not the salary advertised - until they sell their first deal.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      We appreciate your feedback and would like to clarify some of the observations made. Our Inside Sales role recruits for Sales Reps with outbound calling experience to ensure they have the background for the requirements of the position, which includes connecting with potential clients via telephone, and per the clients request, conducting follow ups on a regular basis. Additionally, our new hires are informed of the training period during the interview process. The training program is multi-faceted and extends well beyond the initial employment period. Training is ongoing and provides our reps with support and resources needed to ensure they are prepared for success.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fun Experience!

      Apr 14, 2019 - Dating Specialist in White Marsh, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Hiring process was a pleasure. Excellent support for training. Great leadership. Positive environment. Helps to be proactive and ask many questions.

      Cons

      Price is an issue with many potential clients. However, what they're doing hasn't worked. This is not casual dating, it's productive dating... The service is invaluable. Helping people become more productive in dating is

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      It's Just Lunch Response

      CEO

      Thank you for your feedback. Your definition of Productive Dating is SPOT ON. Our many success stories via new marriages, long term relationships, and blended families originate from great first dates. We provide an invaluable service to our clients and we appreciate the effort you put into helping us reach these goals!

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      This is a scam.

      Dec 31, 2018 -  in Palm Desert, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None. This is a scam.and there's nothing good about that.

      Cons

      They seem to have had bad reviews cleared. Please check other sources and also read customer reviews on Yelp. Almost nobody lasts longer than a month. This company has been sued numerous times for various types fraud. It's around they're still around, but it won't be for long. As was mentioned they give you one leads to dial for a dating service that costs thousands in an age when dating services are free or inexpensive.

      Continue reading
      14 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 58 Reviews

    Popular Careers with It's Just Lunch Job Seekers

    Inside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    CUSTOMER SERVICE/DATING COORDINATOR
    Learn About the Job
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at It's Just Lunch? Share Your Experiences

    It's Just Lunch logo
    or